How to Locate Dissertations and Theses
There are many resources which will help you identify and access graduate level theses originating from Lakehead University, elsewhere in Canada, or internationally. This is a list of resources available to help you locate theses and dissertations:
- Lakehead University Knowledge CommonsIncludes Lakehead University dissertations and theses, research and scholarly works and university publications.
- Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new windowFull-text versions of Canadian theses and dissertations published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002. Also contains bibliographic records of all theses in the National Library of Canada theses collection, which was established in 1965.
- British Library Research RepositoryThe British Library Research Repository is an open access repository for the research produced by staff and research associates of the British Library.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) - Can be requested through Interlibrary loanInternational theses can be found by searching their catalogue.
- EBSCO Open DissertationsSearch thousands of open dissertations.
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Waterloo)This collection includes a subset of theses submitted by graduates of the University of Waterloo as a partial requirement of a degree program at the Master's or PhD level. It includes all electronically submitted theses. (Electronic submission was optional from 1996 through 2006. Electronic submission became the default submission format in October 2006.) This collection also includes a subset of UW theses that were scanned through the Theses Canada program. (The subset includes UW PhD theses from 1998 - 2002.)
- National Library of Australia Trove ServiceResources relating to Australia - including theses.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)This site provides links and information to several electronic and dissertation databases
- OATD - Open Access Theses and DissertationsResource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
- PhdData.orgHolds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world
- PQDT Open (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses)Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. As of 2012, the database contains 13,000 publications and continues to grow.
- ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories)The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.
- TEL (thèses-EN-ligne)The purpose of TEL (thèses-EN-ligne) is to facilitate the self archiving of thesis manuscripts, which are important documents for direct scientific communication between scientists.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowTip: Use the Advanced Search and limit your search to "thesis/dissertations" in the Content field
How to Find Lakehead University Faculty of Education Theses, Dissertations & Portfolios
Most Lakehead University Faculty of Education theses, portfolios, and dissertations are available in print in the Education Library and/or on the Lakehead University Knowledge Commons.
In the Knowledge Commons (pictured below), you can search with information such as student name, advisor and title keyword.
To search for Faculty of Education theses in print at the Education Library (Thunder Bay) in Omni:
- Select ADVANCED SEARCH
- Enter lakehead university faculty of education theses as a Subject
- Your search can be narrowed further by including keywords relating to your topic on the second and third lines (i.e. author name, subject area, title words)
To search for a project or portfolio, follow the steps provided above, use either "Lakehead university faculty of education projects" or "lakehead university faculty of education portfolios" as a Subject
To search for a doctoral dissertation, follow the steps provided above, use lakehead university faculty of education PhD as a subject keyword.
How to Search for Theses/Dissertations in ERIC
It is possible to find theses and disserations by searching ERIC. Here are some tips for searching:
- ERIC via Proquest - select as document type "Dissertations/theses"
- ERIC via U.S. Department of Education website - enter your search term and narrow your search by publication type "Disserations/Theses" on the left side of results page