Research Guides: Education (Graduate): Find Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles

Education Journal Databases

The following subject-specific Education databases will help you find journal articles in journals specific to Education. You have access to additional databases on all other topics on the Databases AtoZ page.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source includes the full text for more than 1,900 English language journals and provides indexing for nearly 3,500 journals with coverage dating back to 1929. Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Information on all educational specialties is included as well as all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Education Source also includes access to books and education conference proceedings.

CBCA Complete (Canadian Business & Current Affairs - via ProQuest)
Includes Canadian full text and indexed content from the "CBCA Education" database as well as from the Business, Current Affairs and Reference CBCA databases. Coverage goes back to 1971 with fulltext content from 1985.

ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A major resource for North American research in the field of education and education-related topics from the United States Department of Education. Coverage back to 1966. This link offers ERIC via the ProQuest search platform.

ERIC (via the Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education)
The ERIC database is also available for searching on this website by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. Some fulltext of journal articles may not be available through this ERIC search.

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators
Canadian Major Dailies (formerly Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of 15 major Canadian daily newspapers
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect to Google Scholar! Connecting to Google Scholar through the library website (either on or off campus) will ensure that you are also linked to the library's fulltext in your Google Scholar search results.
To access Google Scholar from off-campus please do the following:

1)Go to the menu item (top left of the screen) and select Settings
2)Click on Library Links
3)Search for Lakehead in the search box
4)Select " GetIt@Lakehead" by checking off the box
5)Click on Save

Tips and Tutorials

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides an excellent alternative for locating journal articles. Be sure to use the link on this page or any Lakehead University Library website page so that you will be automatically linked to Lakehead University Library's fulltext holdings whenever the results say "View it at Lakehead"