Skip to main content

Education (Graduate)

Library Information for Master of Education & Joint PhD in Educational Studies Students

While the Lakehead libraries are currently closed, access to the physical collections is currently not possible.  Please check the COVID-19: Updates on Library Services and Operations guide for updates. 

Library Information:

Lakehead University Library includes, on the Thunder Bay campus, The Chancellor Paterson Library and the Thunder Bay Education LibraryOrillia Campus libraries include the Harvie Legacy Library and the Orillia Education Library (Heritage Place Building).  Its collections are selected to support the teaching and research programs of the university, both graduate and undergraduate.

Finding Books  Access to both print and e- books is available through the library at Lakehead University.   To locate a specific title use Omni, the Library's Catalogue.

Borrowing and Renewals  Information about loan periods and fines is available here.  It is possible to request delivery of most library materials between libraries, campuses and to your location, outside of Orillia or Thunder Bay.   Find your title using Omni, and place a request.  You can also send an email to docdelivery@lakeheadu.ca

It is also possible to renew library material through Omni.  Click "Sign in" from the top right corner of the Omni screen and login with your Lakehead University credentials.  

Finding Journal Articles The Library’s collection of indexes and databases provides the most efficient access to scholarly journal articles.  For indexes/databases specific to education select Journal Databases on the Education Library website.

Search Databases and Access Fulltext from Off-Campus Access to online library resources is available 24/7.  When you click on an item that is restricted, you will be prompted for a username and password.  Enter your LU username and password to access that resource from off campus. 

Interlibrary Loan/RACER:  For items not available at Lakehead University, it is possible to request  items through our Interlibrary Loan system, RACER. 

If you do not have a RACER account  please check  the Interlibrary Loan/RACER link on the Lakehead University Library website to register.

For Joint PhD students, If you already have a RACER account from your home institution you can continue to use this account.  If you are at Lakehead University for your Doctoral Seminar courses and require an Interlibrary Loan please contact Gisella Scalese to arrange for this service. 

Arrange a Library Research Consultation with the Education Librarian in Thunder Bay online or by email or phone:  gscalese@lakeheadu.ca  807.343.8719

If you are on the Orillia Campus, contact the Orillia Campus Librarian for assistance: Chris Tomasini, ctomasin@lakeheadu.ca or call 705.330.4008 ext. 2260

If you have any questions or if you are having difficulties using the Library’s resources, you may contact the Circulation Desk of the Education Library (807-343-8718) or the Chancellor Paterson Library (807-343-8225).

Ask A Librarian Research Help Service This online chat reference service provides online research support to university students from your desktop.  Click the Ask icon found on both library websites. 

If you are outside of Thunder Bay...

While you are enrolled at Lakehead University as a graduate student and you are not physically present on Thunder Bay or Orillia campuses, you can request materials be sent to your location. 

For additional information contact the Education Library at edlib@lakeheadu.ca or call 807-343-8718.

Borrowing from Other Universities

You can use your current Lakehead University Identification card to borrow items directly, in person,  from other Ontario university libraries, as well as other participating university libraries in Canada. These items may be returned to the lending library OR to any other university library. 

Please note that all reciprocal borrowers are required to adhere to the policies in place at the lending library, including some application of fees.

If you do not have a current Lakehead University Identification card, you can request one online.  

Participating University Libraries in Canada