Skip to main content
 

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
This K-12 ebook database provides access to 1,400 Britannica ebook titles from 40 popular Britannica series/collections. This database can be searched by keyword, grade and reading levels. It covers 39 specific subjects that are included in Kindergarten to Grade 12 curriculum from the areas of science, social studies, and language arts.
New
Cabell's is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size.
New
Canadiana Online identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials.

Monographs - spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. With a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of Canada.

Serials - includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines

Government Publications - includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.

Canadiana Online is projected to digitalize the entire CIHM collection by the end of 2018.
New
Erudit is the digital gateway to North American French-language
research outputs in Social Sciences and Humanities. Erudit explores more than 200,000 scholarly and cultural publications in the social sciences and humanities in French and English. it includes journals, theses, books, proceedings and research reports.

Erudit includes the full-text of the Journal of the Canadian Historical Association and Ontario History.
New
WWW.FPIC.INFO is a free resource that aims to promote good knowledge of Indigenous Rights, especially the right to Free, Prior and Informed Consent, into the hands of researchers, Indigenous communities, and other indigenous allies. This includes articles, toolkits, videos, voice messages, and community stories about FPIC and Consultation.
New
New
The Hill Times is an Ottawa-based newspaper which offers extensive coverage of Canadian federal politics and global affairs, first rolled off the presses on Oct. 5, 1989
New
Access to over 2,000 open content e-books and all journal content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere is freely available
New
Lynda.com has been made available for faculty, staff and students at publicly funded colleges and universities throughout Ontario.
eCampusOntario, a not-for-profit organization funded by the Government of Ontario, started this initiative as a part of their Career Kick-Start Strategy.

Lynda.com is a leading provider of online training with a focus on technology, software, and business skills. Currently, the site has over 3,500 courses and over 140,000 individual videos and continues to grow.

Once you click on the link to Lynda.Com, you will be prompted to login to your Lakehead University email and password.
New
OpenDissertations.org, the project from EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) and BiblioLabs, includes more than 800,000 Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD).
Trial
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
New
PsycCRITIQUES, a database of the American Psychological Association, ended publication in Fall 2017. The critiques are made available here in partnership with the APA.

PsycCRITIQUES contains 43,056 full-text reviews of books in psychology and the social sciences, as well as professional videos and popular films from a psychological perspective. Reviews occasionally include comparative or retrospective book reviews.

The database also includes all reviews published in the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books between 1956 (Volume 1, Issue 1) and 2004.
New
Statista features:
-Over 1.5 million statistics (400-500 new statistics added each day)
-Covering more than 80,000 topics of information
-Over 1,500 Infographics
-Over 18,000 sources of information
New
Chicago Manual of Style: provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices. Chicago NB system is often used in the humanities and provides writers with a system for referencing their sources. Includes the 16th and 17th edition (as of June 2017).

Scientific Style and Format: the indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing. Includes the 8th edition (as of June 2017)
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...