- Library
- Research Guides
- Education (K-12)
- Find Journal Articles
Education (K-12)
Your guide to locating Education resources at Lakehead University.
Education Journal Databases
The following subject-specific Education databases will help you find journal articles in journals specific to Education. You have
access to additional databases on all other topics on the Databases AtoZ page.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source includes the full text for more than 1,900 English language journals and provides indexing for nearly 3,500 journals with coverage dating back to 1929. Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Information on all educational specialties is included as well as all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Education Source also includes access to books and education conference proceedings.
-
CBCA Complete (Canadian Business & Current Affairs - via ProQuest)Includes Canadian full text and indexed content from the "CBCA Education" database as well as from the Business, Current Affairs and Reference CBCA databases. Coverage goes back to 1971 with fulltext content from 1985.
-
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA major resource for North American research in the field of education and education-related topics from the United States Department of Education. Coverage back to 1966. This link offers ERIC via the ProQuest search platform.
-
ERIC (via the Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education)The ERIC database is also available for searching on this website by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. Some fulltext of journal articles may not be available through this ERIC search.
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators
-
Canadian Newsstream Collection (formerly Canadian Major Dailies) This link opens in a new windowThis database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a way to search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
K-12 Lesson Planning Databases
-
AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
-
Canadian Encyclopedia OnlineThis freely accessible version contains the complete text of the acclaimed Canadian Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities, feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive timeline of Canadian and world events.
-
Curriculum Resource Center This link opens in a new window
An electronic library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle, high school, and junior college curriculum.
-
FNMIEAO (First Nations, Metis & Inuit Education Association of Ontario) This link opens in a new window
The First Nations, Métis & Inuit Education Association of Ontario is a subject association for educators teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit Studies, and Native Languages in Ontario, Canada.
Access to the "Members Only" section of this site is available for all current Lakehead University students, staff and faculty. A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login.
For username and password information send an email to edlib@lakeheadu.ca (Current Faculty of Education students, staff and faculty can also check the "Education Passwords" course site).
-
MusicplayOnlineMusicplayOnline is a resource for elementary music teachers which includes new activities, printables and teacher resources. This is a wonderful teaching tool, enhancing and making it easier to model for the students how to label beat/rhythm, how to name solfa notes, and to teach the elements of music. The new online resource includes all the materials in the Musicplay Digital Resources, plus adds thousands of interactive activities. The interactive activities can be used by the teacher with a computer/projector or IWB to teach or model. Students can do the activities on devices using a student login. (no extra charge) The 800+ songs in Musicplay are available in one site. A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login. Please check Education Passwords for more information.
-
NFB.ca Education (formerly NFB Campus) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 6,000 films in English and in French.
-
Open Culture: The best free cultural & educational media on the webThis collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students (kindergarten through high school students) and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing. This newly-released list is a work in progress.
-
OPHEA (Ontario Physical and Health Education Association) Elementary Curriculum Online Resources This link opens in a new windowThese online resources support the implementation of Ontario’s H&PE Curriculum for Grades 1-8. Each university student and employee is required to create a new, free account on the new site in order to access the Ophea Health & Physical Education (H&PE) Curriculum Resources (Elementary/Grades 1-8 and Secondary/Grades 9-12). To create an account, go to www.ophea.net and click on "Login" then Click on “Create Account” and complete the required fields.
-
OPHEA (Ontario Physical and Health Education Association) Secondary Curriculum Online Resources This link opens in a new windowThese online resources support the implementation of Ontario’s H&PE Curriculum for Grades 9-12. Each university student and employee is required to create a new, free account on the new site in order to access the Ophea Health & Physical Education (H&PE) Curriculum Resources (Elementary/Grades 1-8 and Secondary/Grades 9-12). To create an account, go to www.ophea.net and click on "Login" then Click on “Create Account” and complete the required fields.
-
OPHEA Safety Standards in EducationLink directly to the Ontario Physical Education Safety Guidelines. No password required
-
Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) : OntarioThe VLE contains instructional resources for Ontario teachers. As a Lakehead Education student, you must access password information via the Education Passwords site, which you should see as one of your courses in MyCourseLink / D2L.
EBook Collections K-12
- Britannica Ebook K-12 CollectionThis K-12 ebook database provides access to Britannica ebook titles. It covers specific subjects that are included in Kindergarten to Grade 12 curriculum from the areas of science, social studies, and language arts.
- Crabtree DigitalAccess Crabtree ebooks through this online portal. A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login. Please check Education Passwords for more information.
- International Children's Digital Library (Children's Ebooks)Provides free access to high-quality children’s books from around the world in different languages, including Arabic, Afrikaans, Danish, English, Farsi and beyond.
- TeenBookCloud (Ebooks for Middle & High School)TeenBookCloud is an online database of eBooks and educator resources perfect for middle school, high school, or public library. Offers a selection of Graphic Novels, Enhanced Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audiobooks. The collection is available online around the clock. No downloads, no waiting.
- Tumblebook Library (Children's Ebooks)A collection of electronic animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles for children. The Tumblebook collection includes read alongs (chapter books) ebooks, puzzles and games and TumbleResources for teachers and students.
- TumbleMath This link opens in a new windowTumbleMath is a comprehensive collection of math picture books, all in the amazing TumbleBook format complete with animation and narration. The books are accompanied by supplementary materials such as lesson plans and quizzes. Click on Quiz Portal and you will find a Portal containing thousands of quizzes created by math teachers specifically for your state/provincial standards.