Omni Search Tips
All books (print or ebook), can be found by searching Omni (Advanced Search). A complete search guide for using Omni is available here.
Enter your search words in the main search box. You can put quotation marks around a phrase and enter different concepts in different search boxes.
Results are displayed using a relevancy ranking, but you can change this to display your results by newest date first. Change the “Sort By” option to “Date - Newest”
To limit your search results you can use the limiters on the left side of your search results screen.
A few tips to filter your results:
- To limit your search to online, under “Availability” select the “Available Online” filter.
- You can limit these results further by selecting a “Resource Type”. For example, if you are interested in an ebook, you can select the “books and ebooks” filter.
- To find print books available in the Education Library (Thunder Bay Campus) only, select “Thunder Bay Education Library” under the “Library Locations” filter
- To find books available in the Education Library (Orillia Campus) only, select “Orillia Education Library” under the “Library Locations” filter
You can find books using information from the title, author name or subject keywords:
- Enter one word or multiple words from title (put quotation marks to enclose phrases; use * for alternate word endings)
- For author, enter last name followed by first name or initial
- Use "Advanced Search" for combining search words and for searching with specific information (ie title, author, subject, ISBN etc)
To find books on teaching a subject:
- Click on Advanced Search, on the right of the Search box
- In the “Any Field” drop down box, select “Subject” and Enter a subject word (ie mathematics). Follow your subject word with keywords study teaching (ie mathematics study teaching ; magnetism study teaching)
- You can also enter a grade level (ie mathematics study teaching elementary; mathematics study teaching middle school; mathematics study teaching secondary)
- When you find a book that is suitable for your topic, examine the subject headings, find one that best suits your topic and click for more titles.
Newly Added Education Research Titles
Analyzing and Interpreting Qualitative Research by This text provides comprehensive coverage of the key methods for analyzing, interpreting, and writing up qualitative research in a single volume, and drawing on the expertise of major names in the field. Covering all the steps in the process of analyzing, interpreting, and presenting findings in qualitative research, the authors utilize a consistent chapter structure that provides novice and seasoned researchers with pragmatic, "how-to" strategies. Each chapter introduces the method; uses one of the authors′ own research projects as a case study of the method described; shows how the specific analytic method can be used in other types of studies; and concludes with questions and activities to prompt class discussion or personal study.
Case Study Research and Applications by Recognized as one of the most cited methodology books in the social sciences, the Sixth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text provides a complete portal to the world of case study research. With the integration of 11 applications in this edition, the book gives readers access to exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic and applied fields. Ultimately, Case Study Research and Applications will guide students in the successful use and application of the case study research method.
A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research (Print & Online) by "For students and researchers new to mixed methods, A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research 2e by renowned author John W. Creswell provides a brief and practical introduction to mixed methods. Many graduate students and researchers in the social, behavioral and health sciences may not have the time or resources to read long treatises or stacks of journal articles on mixed methods research. This text quickly describes the basics of setting up and conducting a study using this methodology. Chapters are short and follow the process of research, from ensuring skills for conducting research, acknowledging the steps in planning a study, designing studies with increasing complexity, planning sampling strategies and integration, and writing up the results of your study. New chapters separate basic and advanced mixed methods designs for more depth, while a reorganization of chapters better align with the research process. Useful templates throughout allow readers to concretely design and organize their studies. Get started in mixed methods quickly with this brief primer"--Provided by publisher.
Crafting Qualitative Research Questions: A Prequel to Design by The essence of research design is the ability to articulate your research question. The research question is the precursor to the study, and a well-crafted question encapsulates all of the design elements for that study. Based on more than 20 years of conducting research, collaborating with colleagues to formulate research projects, and experience advising doctoral students, author Dr. Elizabeth (Betsy) A. Baker forged a research design heuristic which she introduces in this book. She starts by dissecting the anatomy of a qualitative research question, outlines the role of paradigms in research design, describes strategies to use the anatomy as a design heuristic, and provides sample cases that track the decisions two researchers made while formulating a qualitative question. The book concludes with advice on how to move from the research question to the proposal. Throughout, the author provides handy worksheets that readers can complete as they work on crafting their own research question.
Decolonizing Research: Indigenous Storywork as Methodology by From Oceania to North America, indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. The term 'indigenous storywork' has come to encompass the sheer breadth of ways in which indigenous storytelling serves as a historical record, as a form of teaching and learning, and as an expression of indigenous culture and identity. But such traditions have too often been relegated to the realm of myth and legend, recorded as fragmented distortions, or erased altogether. Decolonizing Research brings together indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship. By bringing together their own indigenous perspectives, and by treating indigenous storywork on its own terms, the contributors illuminate valuable new avenues for research, and show how such reworked scholarship can contribute to the movement for indigenous rights and self-determination.
Doing Educational Research: Overcoming Challenges in Practice by Every educational research project has challenges and obstacles that need to be managed and overcome. This book uses real case studies employing a wide range of research methodologies and drawn from educational contexts across Europe to explore these challenges offering flexible and universal guidance that you can apply to your own research. Published in partnership with EERA, this book is: · Realistic and informed: It explores a range of perspectives on educational research, from planning to data collection to international collaboration · Challenging: It integrates a holistic and critical view on the process of educational research · Culturally aware: It covers a variety of research projects from different countries and encourages you to challenge dominant perspectives in education This is the first major English language textbook for postgraduate and postdoctoral education researchers that represents and explores the range of research traditions that exist throughout Europe and what they mean in practice. This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.
Doing respectful research by "The author draws from the critical ethnography she conducted to provide concrete examples of the research process including issues related to data analysis and respectful representation. A unique feature of the book is the emphasis on advisement and the student-advisor relationship that is embedded in chapter discussions. The author addresses the complexities of the relationships that develop between students and advisors over time, emphasizing the role students can play in ensuring the relationship is productive from the beginning to the completion of their research journey. At the conclusion of each chapter there is an annotated bibliography of additional sources (e.g., articles, theses and dissertations) that provide a discussion, and/or examples of research, related to the issues addressed in the chapter. The text includes a significant amount of Canadian context within the text itself and as part of the annotated bibliographies. This qualitative research text is situated within a critical, feminist postmodern framework. The book has three central organizing themes shaping the discussion of doing critical qualitative research (critical reflexivity, the distance dynamic, respectful research praxis). The role power, privilege and passion play in decisions related to what gets researched, who is positioned as researcher or participant and how data are collected, analyzed represented and publicized is embedded in the chapter discussions. The text is written for student researchers, individuals who teach and advise students, instructors of qualitative research courses in social sciences, health and education and community members interested in qualitative methods and conducting research."-- Provided by publisher.
How to Structure a Thesis, Report or Paper by How to Structure a Thesis, Report or Paper provides concise practical guidance for students to help make their writing more structured at any level. It assists students in demonstrating what they have learned in the relevant course or degree programme in a way that is accessible to the supervisor and the examiner. Drawing on almost 20 years of supervision experience, the author presents the eight sections of a well-structured thesis, report or paper, together with discussing other relevant issues. Each chapter provides a detailed description of why each section of a thesis, report or paper is structured in the way it is, and its relationship to the whole piece of work. Good and bad examples are provided throughout the book, and there is a focus on key areas such as the six parts of an Introduction and its relationship to the Conclusion, how to phrase clear research questions and hypotheses to the use of references and how to make the thesis, report or paper easier to read. The structure presented in this book can be used to support many courses on the student's entire degree programme, as the structure can be adapted by re-arranging or deleting sections. This book is an invaluable aid to students at all stages in higher education, from their first report or paper until they write their final thesis. It provides clear guidelines for when students should ask their supervisors for advice, and when students can use their own initiative to learn the most. It makes writing a thesis, report or papers more straightforward!
Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Research Methodologies by Bringing together researchers from geographically, culturally, and linguistically diverse regions, Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Research Methodologies offers practical guidance and lessons learned from research projects in and with Indigenous communities around the world. With an aim to examine issues of power, representation, participation, and accountability in studies involving Indigenous populations, the contributors reflect on their own experiences conducting collaborative research in distinct yet related fields. The book is anchored by specific themes: exploring decolonizing methodological paradigms, honoring Indigenous knowledge systems, and growing interdisciplinary collaboration toward Indigenous self-determination. This volume makes a significant contribution to Indigenous community as well as institutional scholarly and practical discussions by emphasizing guidance and questions from Indigenous scholars who are designing studies and conducting research that is moving the field of Indigenous research methodologies forward. Discussing challenges and ideas regarding research ethics, data co-ownership, data sovereignty, and dissemination strategies, this text is a vital resource for all students interested in the application of what can be gained from Indigenous research methods. Features: Presents proposals and visions for research with Indigenous communities that include both methodological and practical considerations. Draws on the experiences of the co-editors in developing and teaching research methods courses for Indigenous graduate studentsincludes features such as section introductions, questions for critical thought, and key terms.
Indigenous Research Design Transnational Perspectives in Practice by Call Number: (Available both in print and online)"Indigenous Research Design is a unique collection that explores the ways researchers conceptualize and carry out projects including the approaches, ethics, methods, and impacts. With a focus on deepening our understanding of Indigenous research design and the ways in which Indigenous theories of research are indivisible from Indigenous peoples’ lived experiences and practices, contributors from across the globe discuss how we can rethink conventional approaches to data collection. Elements are discussed within qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research according to Indigenous research worldviews, self-determination, and self-development."-- Provided by publisher.
Interviewing: A Guide to Theory and Practice by This book provides guidance to researchers about how to develop interview skills that align with their theoretical assumptions. Connecting "theory" and "method" can be challenging for novice researchers. Interviewing: A Guide to Theory and Practice draws from, and extends, the author′s earlier 2010 book, and focuses on three interrelated issues, how researchers: theorize research interviews; examine their subject positions in relation to projects and participants; and explore the details of interview interaction to inform practice. By developing these understandings of qualitative interview practice, Kathryn Roulston shows how researchers can design and conduct quality research projects that draw on a wide range of interview practices to provide audience members and communities with significant findings concerning social problems.
Kaandossiwin: how we come to know, Indigenous re-search methodologies, 2nd Ed by Indigenous methodologies have been silenced and obscured by the Western scientific means of knowledge production. In a challenge to this colonialist rejection of Indigenous knowledge, Anishinaabe re-searcher Kathleen Absolon describes how Indigenous re-searchers re-theorize and re-create methodologies. Indigenous knowledge resurgence is being informed by taking a second look at how re-search is grounded. Absolon consciously adds an emphasis on re with a hyphen as a process of recovery of Kaandossiwin and Indigenous re-search. Understanding Indigenous methodologies as guided by Indigenous paradigms, worldviews, principles, processes and contexts, Absolon argues that they are wholistic, relational, inter-relational and interdependent with Indigenous philosophies, beliefs and ways of life. In exploring the ways Indigenous re-searchers use Indigenous methodologies within mainstream academia, Kaandossiwin renders these methods visible and helps to guard other ways of knowing from colonial repression. This second edition features the author's reflections on her decade of re-search and teaching experience since the last edition, celebrating the most common student questions, concerns, and revelations.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by "The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research"-- Provided by publisher.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: choosing among five approaches by In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.--Information from publisher.
Qualitative Research: a guide to design and implementation by "This thoroughly revised and updated classic once again presents aguide to understanding, designing and conducting a qualitativeresearch study. The fourth edition retains the reader-friendly, jargon-free style,making the book accessible to both novice and experiencedresearchers. While the book is practical guide to design andimplementation of a qualitative research study, it also helpsreaders understand the theoretical and philosophical underpinningsof this research paradigm. Drawing on the latest literature as well as both authors'experience with conducting and teaching qualitative research, thefourth edition includes new material on case study research andaction research; discussion of online data sources (video, email,skype); updated discussion of data analysis software packages anduses; new discussion of data analysis strategies, includingnarrative analysis and poetic analysis; and a section on multipleways of presenting qualitative research findings. References,examples, and quotes have all been updated throughout the book"-- Provided by publisher.
Research Design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches by This user-friendly text walks readers through research methods, from reviewing the literature to writing a research question and stating a hypothesis to designing the study. At each step in the process, the authors address qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches to encourage readers to choose the approach that best fits the research question. Numerous examples draw from a wide variety of disciplines, featuring diverse philosophical ideas and modes of inquiry. Features like bullet points, numbered steps, and annotated research examples help students focus on the most important information in research design. The Sixth Edition has been fully revised to reflect the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association with more inclusive language, updated citation styles, and updated writing suggestions. Learning objectives are now included at the start of each chapter. To help readers better achieve these learning objectives, the authors have clarified and improved the writing exercises to help readers better achieve these learning objectives. The final three chapters detailing qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods now have a parallel structure so readers can better compare and contrast these approaches. Chapter 10 on mixed methods in particular has been restructured to reflect the latest developments in mixed methods and best practices. New research examples throughout help capture and demonstrate new trends in research.
Research Methods for Pedagogy by Pedagogy : Theoretical Perspectives and Methodological Implications -- Different Pedagogies : Different Research Methods : Values into Practice -- Teasing out Pedagogy : The Art, Craft and Science -- Researching Pedagogy in Early Childhood Settings : ethnographic, multimodal and child-centered methods -- Researching Pedagogy in Schools : Methods Focused on Classroom Interaction -- Researching the Everyday and Out-of-School : Research Methods and Innovation -- Pedagogy as Interaction : Methods for Reflecting on Interaction and Methods using collaborative interaction -- Pedagogy Embodied : Methods of Analysis for Embodied Practice -- Pedagogy as Space : Pushing Methodological Boundaries.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by The editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people's struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. Their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing issues of inequality. As with previous editions, their aim is to show how the practices of qualitative research can effect change in the world in positive ways.--From publisher description.
