Education (Graduate & Research)

This Handbook outlines the current state of research in social studies education - a complex, dynamic, challenging field with competing perspectives about appropriate goals, and on-going conflict over the content of the curriculum.nbsp;Equally important, it encourages new research in order to advance the field and foster civic competence; long maintained by advocates for the social studies as a fundamental goal. In considering how to organize the Handbook, the editors searched out definitions of social studies, statements of purpose, and themes that linked (or divided) theory, research, and practices and established criteria for topics to include. Each chapter meets one or more of these criteria: research activity since the last Handbook that warrants a new analysis, topics representing a major emphasis in the NCSS standards, and topics reflecting an emerging or reemerging field within the social studies. The volume is organized around seven themes: Change and Continuity in Social Studies Civic Competence in Pluralist Democracies Social Justice and the Social Studies Assessment and Accountability Teaching and Learning in the Disciplines Information Ecologies: Technology in the Social Studies Teacher Preparation and Development The Handbook of Research in Social Studies is a must-have resource for all beginning and experienced researchers in the field.

Parts one and two of this volume present the theoretical lenses used to study the social contexts of education. These include long-established foundations disciplines such as sociology of education and philosophy of education as well as newer theoretical perspectives such as critical race theory, feminist educational theory, and cultural studies in education. Parts three, four, and five demonstrate how these theoretical lenses are used to examine such phenomena as globalization, media, popular culture, technology, youth culture, and schooling. This groundbreaking volume helps readers understand the history, evolution, and significance of this wide-ranging, often misunderstood, and increasingly important field of study.

The Handbook of Research on Learning and Instruction is a comprehensive and detailed volume divided into sections on learning and instruction. This edition collects new research completed since the publication of the first edition, updated to include chapters on new technologies. As in the previous edition, the first section features chapters that are each focused on an individual content areas or type of learning. The second section includes chapters on a variety of specific instructional methods {u2013} from games to tutoring to modelling. The combination of highly regarded contributors and breadth of focus makes this handbook useful to a variety of students, researchers, and practitioners.

pt. 1. What is student engagement? -- pt. 2. Engagement as linked to motivational variables -- pt. 3. Engagement and contextual influences -- pt. 4. Student engagement : determinants and student outcomes -- pt. 5. Measurement issues, instruments, and approaches.

"The Fifth Edition of the Handbook of Research on Teaching is an essential resource for students and scholars dedicated to the study of teaching and learning. The volume covers a vast array of topics ranging from the history of teaching to technological and literacy issues. In each authoritative chapter, the authors summarize the state of the field while providing a conceptual overview of a critical aspect of research on teaching. Each of the volume's 23 chapters is a canonical piece that will serve as a reference tool for the field. The chapters, all broad treatments of areas of study, will help readers see how particular areas of research connect with the larger issues of teaching and teacher education. The Handbook, therefore, provides readers with a "20,000-foot view" of the current state of education research."--Publisher's description.

Now in its third edition, the Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts offers an integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field.

The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies. With a multitude of new and updated chapters, The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, 3rd Edition makes the expanding knowledge base related to early childhood education readily available and accessible.

Continuing its calling to define the field and where it is going, the second edition of this landmark handbook brings up to date its comprehensive reportage of scholarly developments and school curriculum initiatives worldwide, providing a panoramic view of the state of curriculum studies globally. Its international scope and currency and range of research and theory reflect and contribute significantly to the ongoing internationalization of curriculum studies and its growth as a field worldwide.

"The environment and contested notions of sustainability are increasingly topics of public interest, political debate, and legislation across the world. Environmental education journals now publish research from a wide variety of methodological traditions that show linkages between the environment, health, development, and education. This growth in scholarship makes this an opportune time to review and consolidate the knowledge base of the environmental education (EE) field. The purpose of this 51-chapter handbook is not only to illuminate the most important concepts, findings and theories that have been developed by EE research, but also to critically examine the historical progression of the field, its current debates and controversies, what is still missing from the EE research agenda, and where that agenda might be headed. Published for the American Educational Research Association (AERA)"-- Provided by publisher.

Key Concepts in Learning Disabilities is a handy guide to the topics you need to know about whether studying or working in the field of learning disabilities. The A-Z format allows you to "dip in" and quickly find relevant information on topics ranging from Autism to Rights and from Advocacy to Challenging Behaviors.

"The SAGE Handbook of Child Development explores the multicultural development of children through the varied and complex interplay of traditional agents of socialization as well as contemporary media influences, examining how socialization practices and media content construct and teach us about diverse cultures. Editors Joy K. Asamen, Mesha L. Ellis, and Gordon L. Berry, along with chapter authors from a wide variety of disciplines, highlight how to analyze, compare, and contrast alternative perspectives of children of different cultures, domestically and globally, with the major principles and theories of child development in cognitive, socioemotional, and/or social/contextual domains. This volume will help readers evaluate ethnicity, socioeconomic, and gender issues in child development and see how these issues influence individual development as well as social policy."--Jacket.

The landscape of international education has changed significantly in the last ten years and our understanding of concepts such as 'international', ′global′ and 'multicultural' are being re-evaluated. Fully updated and revised, and now including new contributions from research in South East Asia, the Middle East, China, Japan, Australasia, and North America, the new edition of this handbook analyses the origins, interpretations and contributions of international education and explores key contemporary developments, including: internationalism in the context of teaching and learning leadership, standards and quality in institutions and systems of education the promotion of internationalism in national systems This important collection of research is an essential resource for anyone involved in the practice and academic study of international education, including researchers and teachers in universities, governmental and private curriculum development agencies, examination authorities, administrators and teachers in schools.  

A comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment in which the emphasis will be on theory, conceptual frameworks, and all types of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed method) to provide in-depth of understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area.

Vol. 1. PT. 1. FOUNDATIONS -- 1. Putting philosophy to work : coping with multiple theoretical perspectives / Paul Cobb -- 2. Theory in mathematics education scholarship / Edward A. Silver & Patricio G. Herbst -- 3. Method / Alan H. Schoenfeld -- PT. 2. TEACHERS AND TEACHING -- 4. Assessing teachers' mathematical knowledge : what knowledge matters and what evidence counts? / Heather C. Hill ... [et al.] -- 5. The mathematical education and development of teachers / Judith T. Sowder -- 6. Understanding teaching and classroom practice in mathematics / Megan Loef Franke, Elham Kazemi, Daniel Battey -- 7. Mathematics teachers' beliefs and affect / Randolph A. Philipp -- PT. 3. INFLUENCES ON STUDENT OUTCOMES -- 8. How curriculum influences student learning / Mary Kay Stein, Janine Remillard, Margaret S. Smith -- 9. The effects of classroom mathematics teaching on students' learning / James S. Hiebert, Douglas A. Grouws -- 10. Culture, race, power, and mathematics education / Diversity in Mathematics Education Center for Learning and Teaching -- 11. The role of culture in teaching and learning mathematics / Norma G. Presmeg -- PT. 4. STUDENTS AND LEARNING -- 12. Early childhood mathematics learning / Douglas H. Clements & Julie Sarama -- 13. Whole number concepts and operations / Lieven Verschaffel, Brian Greer, Erik DeCorte -- 14. Rational numbers and proportional reasoning : toward a theoretical framework for research / Susan J. Lamon --
Vol. 2. 15. Early algebra / David W. Carraher, Analucia D. Schliemann -- 16. Learning and teaching of algebra at the middle school through college levels : building meaning for symbols and their manipulation / Carolyn Kieran -- 17. Problem solving and modeling / Richard Lesh -- 18. Toward comprehensive perspectives on the learning and teaching of proof / Guershon Harel, Larry Sowder -- 19. The development of geometric and spatial thinking / Michael T. Battista -- 20. Research in probability : responding to classroom realities / J. Michael Shaughnessy -- 22. Mathematics thinking and learning at post-secondary level / Michèle Artigue, Carmen Batanero, Phillip Kent -- PT. 5. ASSESSMENT -- 23. Keeping learning on track : classroom assessment and the regulation of learning / Dylan Wiliam -- 24. High stakes testing in mathematics / Linda Dager Wilson -- 25. Large-scale assessment of mathematics education / Jan de Lange -- PT. 6. ISSUES AND PERSPECTIVES -- 26. Issues in access and equity in mathematics education / Alan J. Bishop & Helen J. Forgasz -- 27. Research on technology in mathematics education : the perspective of constructs / Rose Mary Zbiek, M. Kathleen Heid, & Glendon Blume -- 28. Engineering change in mathematics education : research, policy, and practice / William F. Tate, Celia Rousseau -- 29. Educational policy research and mathematics education / Joan Ferrini-Mundy & Robert Floden -- 30. Mathematics content specification in the age of assessment / Norman L. Webb -- 31. Reflections on the state and trends in research on mathematics teaching and learning : from here to utopia / Mogens Niss

The two volumes of the second edition of the International Handbook of Educational Change comprise a totally new, and updated collection of the most critical and cutting-edge ideas in educational change. Written by the most influential thinkers in the field, these volumes cover educational change at both the theoretical and practical levels. The updated handbook remains connected to the classical concerns of the field, such as educational innovation, reform, and change management, and also offers new insights into educational change that have been brought about by social change and shifting contexts of educational reform. Like the first best selling Handbook, this one will also undoubtedly become an essential resource for people involved in all spheres of education, from classroom teachers, teacher leaders and administrators to educational researchers, curriculum developers, and university professors. No other work provides such a wide-ranging and comprehensive examination of the field of educational change.