This guide will help you identify important resources and services available through the libraries at Lakehead University.
You can begin at the Education Libraries website.
To search for books and ebooks use the Omni Search tool on the Education Libraries website. To find journal articles in Education you can use the subject-specific journal indexes available on the Education Journal Databases page.
If you need assistance, please reach out to the Education Librarian (Thunder Bay and/or Online students) or the Orillia Campus Librarian (Orillia students). Contact information is provided on the left side of this page.
Library Information: Lakehead University Library includes, on the Thunder Bay campus, The Chancellor Paterson Library and the Thunder Bay Education Library (Bora Laskin Building). Orillia Campus libraries include the Harvie Legacy Library and the Orillia Education Library (Heritage Place Building). The collections of these libraries are selected to support the teaching and research programs of the university, both graduate and undergraduate.
Finding Books Access to both print and e- books is available through the library at Lakehead University. To locate a specific title use Omni, the Library's Catalogue.
Borrowing and Renewals Information about loan periods and fines/lost charges is available here. It is possible to request delivery of most library materials between libraries, campuses, and to your location, outside of Orillia or Thunder Bay. Find your title using Omni, and place a request. You can also send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org
It is also possible to renew library material through Omni. Click "Sign in" from the top right corner of the Omni screen and login with your Lakehead University credentials.
Finding Journal Articles The Library’s collection of indexes and databases provides the most efficient access to scholarly journal articles. For indexes/databases specific to education select Journal Databases on the Education Library website.
Search Databases and Access Fulltext from Off-Campus Access to online library resources is available 24/7. When you click on an item that is restricted, you will be prompted for a username and password (see image below). Enter your LU username and password to access that resource from your off-campus location.
Borrowing from Other Omni Libraries and RACER/Interlibrary Loan: Looking for a resource that is not in the Lakehead Library collection? Lakehead students, faculty, and staff can browse and request items from our 15 Omni partner libraries directly through Omni. You will receive an email when your item is ready for pickup at your preferred pickup location.
If you are unable to find an item in Omni or are requesting a scan of a single article or chapter, please place your request through RACER.
For Joint Ph.D. students, If you already have a RACER account from your home institution you can continue to use this account.
Library Research Consultations/Assistance:
Arrange a Library Research Consultation with the Education Librarian in Thunder Bay online or by email or phone: email@example.com 807.343.8010 x8719
If you are on the Orillia Campus, contact the Orillia Campus Librarian for assistance: Chris Tomasini, firstname.lastname@example.org or call 705.330.4008 ext. 2260
If you have any questions or if you are having difficulties using the Library’s resources, you may contact the Circulation Desk of the Education Library (807-343-8718) or the Chancellor Paterson Library (807-343-8225).
Ask A Librarian Research Help Service This online chat reference service provides online research support to university students from your desktop. Click the Ask icon found on both library websites.