Research Guides: Education (Graduate & Research): Writing, Copyright & Publishing

Scholarly Publishing Opportunities - Publishing Your Article

This library guide provides information on Resources available to help faculty, staff and students choose a journal for publication.

Academic Writing

Academic Writing Skills for International Students by Siew Hean Read
Are you a non-native English speaker studying or preparing to study at an English-language university? If so, this book is for you. This engaging guide equips students with the tools and confidence to respond effectively and appropriately to written assignments at university. It will help you to develop essential writing skills, such as structuring paragraphs and building an argument, and provides practical guidance on adhering to the conventions of academic writing. It guides the reader systematically through a series of text analyses which bring out key linguistic and rhetorical features, making complex textual issues manageable and understandable for learners of all abilities. Reorganised to allow for easier navigability and revised for greater accessibility, the new edition now includes: - An expanded introduction to show students how to use the book successfully - A writing checklist to review the key principles of skills covered in the book - A broader range of examples - More practical activities - More on plagiarism This is an ideal self-study aid for non-native English speakers, both on pre-sessional language courses and on degree programmes, who need to get to grips with the conventions of academic writing.
Along these Lines: writing paragraphs and essays by Biays, John Sheridan.
Along These Lines is an effective text that will help you flourish by providing you with a foundation of respect, encouragement, and ongoing collaboration as you work through the writing process. It is a great, all-around introduction to paragraph and essay writing that will help you prepare for advanced courses and your future careers. Its accessible, workbook style presents a clear, step-by-step introduction to the stages of the writing process.
The Essentials of Academic Writing for International Students by Stephen Bailey
Most international students need to write essays and reports for exams and coursework, but writing good academic English is one of the most demanding tasks students face. The Essentials of Academic Writing for International Students has been developed to help these students succeed in their assignments¿quickly! This course has a clear, easy-to-follow structure. In the first part, Process and Skills, each stage of the writing process is demonstrated and practised, from selecting suitable sources, reading, note-making and planning through to re-writing and proof-reading. Each unit contains examples, explanations and exercises, for use in the classroom or for self-study. The units are clearly organised to allow teachers and students find the help they need with writing tasks. The second part of the book, Elements of Writing, deals with key areas for improving accuracy, such as academic vocabulary, using numbers and punctuation. This section can be linked with the first part or used for reference or self-study. All international students wanting to maximise their academic potential will find this practical and easy-to-use book an invaluable guide to writing in English for their degree courses. All elements of writing are clearly explained Full range of practice exercises, with answer key included Use of authentic academic texts and examples Fully up-to-date, with sections on finding electronic sources and evaluating internet material
Fundamentals of Educational Research: A Guide to Completing a Master's Thesis by Jeffrey Glanz
Here's just what you need to understand and apply basic research principles--so that you can more successfully complete a research task or paper and, more importantly, become an intelligent consumer of research. Written in workbook format to facilitate easy reading and use, this book is filled with charts, blocked text, and practice exercises to ensure easier reading.
Polish Your Academic Writing by Helen Coleman
Struggling to find your academic voice? Polish Your Academic Writing gives you the advice and skills you need to write appropriately and impactfully and get the best grades in your assignments. Effectively make your point and answer the assigned question Build a solid and logical writing structure Perfect your paragraphs and make your sentences flow. Super Quick Skills provides the essential building blocks you need to succeed at university - fast. Packed with practical, positive advice on core academic and life skills, you'll discover focused tips and strategies to use straight away. Whether it's writing great essays, understanding referencing or managing your wellbeing, find out how to build good habits and progress your skills throughout your studies. Learn core skills quickly Apply them right away and see results Succeed in your studies and in life Super Quick Skills gives you the foundations you need to confidently navigate the ups and downs of university life.
Revise : the scholar-writer's essential guide to tweaking, editing, and perfecting your manuscript by Haag, Pamela
"A helpful, engaging guide to the revision of scholarly writing by an editor and award-winning author "Pamela Haag has been called 'the tenure whisperer' for good reason. Any scholar who hopes to attract a wider audience of readers will benefit from the brilliant, step-by-step guidance shared here. It's pure gold for all aspiring nonfiction writers."-Nancy MacLean, author of Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America Writing and revision are two different skills. Many scholar-writers have learned something about how to write, but fewer know how to read and revise their own writing, spot editorial issues, and transform a draft from passable to great. Drawing on before and after examples from more than a decade as a developmental editor of scholarly works, Pamela Haag tackles the most common challenges of scholarly writing. This book is packed with practical, user-friendly advice and is written with warmth, humor, sympathy, and flair. With an inspiring passion for natural language, Haag demonstrates how to reconcile clarity with intellectual complexity. Designed to be an in-the-trenches desktop reference, this indispensable resource can help scholars develop a productive self-editing habit, advise their graduate and other students on style, and, ultimately, get their work published and praised." -- From Amazon
They Say/I Say : the moves that matter in academic writing with readings by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein; Russel K. Durst
This book demystifies academic writing and shows how to engage with the views of others. Extensively revised in response to feedback from our community of adopters, this edition of They Say / I Say is an even more practical companion for students, featuring a new chapter on Researching Conversations, new exercises, expanded support for reading, and an expanded chapter on Revising. By focusing on the rhetorical moves found in all disciplines, They Say helps students master the ins and outs of argumentative writing in accessible language and with examples students can apply throughout their college career. The version with readings includes 5 chapters of essays organized by theme that exemplify good argument writing.

Writing your Thesis/Dissertation

Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation by Linda Dale Bloomberg; Marie F. Volpe
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation offers comprehensive step-by-step guidance and practical tools for navigating the personal and professional challenges that can arise during the qualitative dissertation journey. Authors Linda Dale Bloomberg and Maria Volpe skillfully blend the conceptual, theoretical, and practical, empowering readers to successfully master both the content and the process of their qualitative dissertations. The Fourth Edition has been thoroughly updated to respond to developments in the field, allowing the book to have wider application for dissertation work within the evolving world of qualitative inquiry. Included in this edition is a new chapter titled "Achieving Alignment Throughout Your Dissertation," a greater focus on how all qualitative traditions can encompass activist research and social justice inquiry, and enhanced coverage on the role of the researcher, emphasizing the importance of reflexivity and approaching research critically.
How to Structure a Thesis, Report or Paper by Robert P. Ormrod
How to Structure a Thesis, Report or Paper provides concise practical guidance for students to help make their writing more structured at any level. It assists students in demonstrating what they have learned in the relevant course or degree programme in a way that is accessible to the supervisor and the examiner. Drawing on almost 20 years of supervision experience, the author presents the eight sections of a well-structured thesis, report or paper, together with discussing other relevant issues. Each chapter provides a detailed description of why each section of a thesis, report or paper is structured in the way it is, and its relationship to the whole piece of work. Good and bad examples are provided throughout the book, and there is a focus on key areas such as the six parts of an Introduction and its relationship to the Conclusion, how to phrase clear research questions and hypotheses to the use of references and how to make the thesis, report or paper easier to read. The structure presented in this book can be used to support many courses on the student's entire degree programme, as the structure can be adapted by re-arranging or deleting sections. This book is an invaluable aid to students at all stages in higher education, from their first report or paper until they write their final thesis. It provides clear guidelines for when students should ask their supervisors for advice, and when students can use their own initiative to learn the most. It makes writing a thesis, report or papers more straightforward!
How to Write a Master's Thesis by Yvonne N. Bui
"This is the best textbook about writing an M.A. thesis available in the market." -Hsin-I Liu, University of the Incarnate Word The Third Edition of How to Write a Master′s Thesis is a comprehensive manual on how to plan and write a five-chapter master's thesis, and a great resource for graduate students looking for concrete, applied guidance on how to successfully complete their master′s degrees. While research methods and statistics courses may teach students the basic information on how to conduct research, putting it all together into a single project and document can be a challenge. Author Yvonne Bui demystifies this process by integrating the language learned in prerequisite methods and statistics courses into a step-by-step guide for developing a student′s own thesis or project.
Thesis and Dissertation Writing in a Second Language by Brian Paltridge; Sue Starfield
Fully updated and packed with new material, the second edition of Thesis and Dissertation Writing in a Second Language is the ideal guide for non-native speaker students and their supervisors working on writing a thesis or dissertation in English. Considering the purposes of thesis and dissertation of writing alongside writer/reader relationships, this book uses accessible language and practical examples to discuss issues that are crucial to successful thesis and dissertation writing. This edition offers: Insights into the experience of being a doctoral writer, issues of writer identity, and writing with authority Typical language and discourse features of theses and dissertations Advice on the structure and organisation of key sections Suggestions for online resources which support writing Extracts from completed theses and dissertations Guidance on understanding examiner expectations Advice on publishing from a PhD Suitable for students from all disciplines, Thesis and Dissertation Writing in a Second Language is essential reading for non-native speaker students looking to complete a thesis or dissertation in English.

Copyright & Your Thesis/Dissertation

Copyright - Theses and Dissertations

While writing your thesis or dissertation:

Images: If you use images, ensure that they are your own work or are in the public domain, under a Creative Commons license. Otherwise, you must request permission from the copyright holder to use the image.
Charts and Graphs: If you plan to add charts or graphs from a book or journal article, please ensure that you have asked for permission.

Resources for Images:

Wikimedia Commons a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Free Images Free images is a high-quality resource of digital stock photography for use by all. All images in our collection are free to use on websites, printed materials and anywhere you need photos for illustration and design use.
Google Advanced Image Search Use the Advanced Image Search to limit to free-to-use images. Under Usage Rights, use the drop-down menu to select free to use or share.
Shared Shelf Commons A free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images.
CC Search
Flickr Creative Commons Browse through photographs with a variety of Creative Commons licence types.

Submitting your thesis or dissertation:

When you are ready to submit your thesis or dissertation, you will follow this procedure or a procedure specific to your Faculty - check with your Graduate Coordinator. You will sign a licence that allows the University to archive your thesis or dissertation in the University's Knowledge Commons repository and to distribute your thesis to third-parties such as Libraries and Archives Canada and ProQuest.

You retain copyright of your thesis or dissertation; however, it will be available online to the public and you can link to it directly in your C.V. or personal website.