Skip to Main Content

Education (Graduate)

Options for Managing Your References

Zotero

Zotero offers an open access option for managing your references.  For information on organizing your references check out our Zotero Guide

Omni

It is possible to manage references found through Omni, the library's new discovery tool for finding books and journal articles on all subjects.  Within your list of references, you can "Pin" any citation you would like to save to your account.   These pinned items will go to your "Favourites" in your account.  Within your favourites you can add "Labels" to categorize your pinned references. 

Mendeley

Mendeley provides another option for managing your references.  Please see this chart which provides a comparison of Zotero and Mendeley. 

Citation Tools in Article Databases

Many education articles databases offer a "Cite" tool on their search results screen.  This tool will format your article information and format it in a citation style that you select (APA and MLA are available styles).   

Here is a list of education databases available through Lakehead University Library and the location of their CITE tool:

CBCA Complete, ERIC  (ProQuest):  In your results list you can select one or more references you would like to cite.  On the light blue bar above your results, click on the link labelled CITE.   It will format your results in the default citation style.  You can change the citation style. 

EducationSource, Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO): Click on the article you want to view.  On the right side are listed several tools.  Click on the "CITE" link.  You will be presented with the citation formatted in several citation styles. 

Google Scholar Cite Feature

Every article in Google Scholar includes a Cite option which will show you how to format your article in MLA, APA and Chicago Format.

Simply run a search and click on Cite underneath the citation. A new window will open and you can cut and paste the citation into your document.

Creating Durable Links / Using DOIs

Usually when we want to save or share a URL we think of two simple words: copy and paste. However, linking to the Library's subscription-based materials isn't always so simple.

Some of the Library's online content produces URLs that change from session to session, meaning that the URL found in the address bar of your web browser may only work for a short time.

Fortunately, there are solutions that will allow you to create durable and shareable links to the Library's online materials. This guide Creating Durable Links will show you how to turn an unreliable URL into a static one that will work anywhere (including off-campus) and anytime and will provide assistance on using Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs).   

Copyright & Your Thesis/Dissertation

Copyright - Theses and Dissertations
While writing your thesis or dissertation:
  • Images: If you use images, ensure that they are your own work or are in the public domain, under a Creative Commons license.  Otherwise, you must request permission from the copyright holder to use the image.
  • Charts and Graphs: If you plan to add charts or graphs from a book or journal article, please ensure that you have asked for permission.
Resources for Images:
  • Wikimedia Commons   a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
  • Free Images Free images is a high-quality resource of digital stock photography for use by all. All images in our collection are free to use on websites, printed materials and anywhere you need photos for illustration and design use.
  • Google Advanced Image Search Use the Advanced Image Search to limit to free-to-use images. Under Usage Rights, use the drop-down menu to select free to use or share.
  • Shared Shelf Commons A  free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images.
  • CC Search
  • Flickr Creative Commons  Browse through photographs with a variety of Creative Commons licence types.
Submitting your thesis or dissertation:

When you are ready to submit your thesis or dissertation, you will follow this procedure or a procedure specific to your Faculty - check with your Graduate Coordinator. You will sign a licence that allows the University to archive your thesis or dissertation in the University's Knowledge Commons repository and to distribute your thesis to third-parties such as Libraries and Archives Canada and ProQuest.

You retain copyright of your thesis or dissertation; however, it will be available online to the public and you can link to it directly in your C.V. or personal website.