Indigenous Language Teaching

Freely available online and also available in print at the Education Library Reference Collection ED REF 497.333 B28 1992

The first comprehensive lexicographic work on Cayuga, an Iroquoian language spoken in southern Ontario at Six Nations of the Grand River, this dictionary, combines the work of Dyck, a professor of linguistics, and Froman, Keye, and Keye, all Cayuga language teachers at Six Nations. It contains over 3000 entries, including 1000 verb forms and many nouns never before printed; extensive cross-referencing, thematic appendices that highlight cultural references and provide 1600 further entries, and a short grammatical sketch complete this accomplished work. Entries in the main dictionary are organized by bases, which will make the dictionary especially helpful to those learning Cayuga as a second language. The dictionary's accuracy and extensiveness will make it an indispensable reference not only to the Cayuga speaker and student, but also to other Iroquoian speakers, linguists, anthropologists, and historians of Indigenous Peoples. Produced under the auspices of the Sweetgrass First Nations Language Council Inc.

This work describes the grammar of Gayogo̱hó:nǫˀ (Gayogo̱hó:nǫˀnéha:ˀ, Cayuga), an Ǫgwehǫ́weh (Iroquoian) language spoken at Six Nations, Ontario, Canada. Topics include Gayogo̱hó:nǫˀnéha:ˀ morphology (word formation); pronominal prefix selection, meaning, and pronunciation; syntax (fixed word order); and discourse (the effects of free word order and noun incorporation, and the use of particles). Gayogo̱hó:nǫˀnéha:ˀ morphophonology and sentence-level phonology are also described where relevant in the grammar. Finally, the work includes noun, verb, and particle dictionaries, organized according to the categories outlined in the grammatical description, as well as lists of cultural terms and phrases.

"What to say in Inuktitut language at airports, at conferences, courtrooms, hospitals, on the phone, and when visiting." -- from title page.

Covers practically all the words generally used by Canadian Eskimos.

Introduction to the grammar and vocabulary of the Inuit language as spoken in the Igloolik area. Includes grammar, infixes, and vocabulary.

The Michif language -- spoken by descendants of French Canadian fur traders and Cree Indians in western Canada -- is considered an "impossible language" since it uses French for nouns and Cree for verbs, and comprises two different sets of grammatical rules. Bakker uses historical research and fieldwork data to present the first detailed analysis of this language and how it came into being.

The Anishinaubae (Chippewa/Ojibwe) language has a beauty in the spoken word, a deliberate rhythm, simplicity, and mysterious second meanings. When Basil Johnston began teaching the Anishinaubae language, in the late 1960s, there were no related manuals or dictionaries that were suitable for beginners. To fill this void, Johnston wrote a language course and a lexicon to fill for the course materials. Now he has broadened this labor by compiling Anishinaubae Thesaurus, which goes even further to fill a deep cultural and linguistic void. This thesaurus contains a useful sampling of the 400,000.--Publisher's description.

"The most up-to-date resource for those interested in the linguistic and cultural heritage of the Anishinaabe, containing more than 7,000 of the most frequently used Ojibwe words. Acknowledge as one of the three largest Native American languages, Ojibwe is spoken in many local varieties in the Upper Midwest and across Central and Eastern Canada. Minnesota Ojibwe is spoken in Central and Northern Minnesota, and is very similar to the Ojibwe spoken in the Ontario-Minnesota border region, Wisconsin, and Michigan's Upper Penninsula."-- Back cover.

For access to online version of this title, visit https://www.wisconsinhistory.org/turningpoints/search.asp?id=1649

Ch. 1. Introduction to Nishnaabemwin -- Ch. 2. Phonology and Orthography -- Ch. 3. Parts of Speech -- Ch. 4. Noun Inflection -- Ch. 5. Animate Intransitive Verb Inflection -- Ch. 6. Inanimate Intransitive Verb Inflection -- Ch. 7. Transitive Animate Verb Inflection -- Ch. 8. Transitive Inanimate Verb Inflection -- Ch. 9. The Derivation of Intransitive Verbs -- Ch. 10. The Derivation of Transitive Verbs -- Ch. 11. The Derivation of Nouns and Adverbs -- Ch. 12. Nominals and Pronominals -- Ch. 13. Verbs and Their Semantic Roles -- Ch. 14. Being and Becoming -- Ch. 15. Location and Manner -- Ch. 16. Time and Circumstance -- Ch. 17. Quantity and Degree -- Ch. 18. Syntax and Communicative Functions.

This book is intended for fluent Ojibwe language writers, translators & advanced learners. It’s not a Dictionary. It contains synonyms and related words to help you find that elusive word when you’re writing or translating as well as advance your literacy using the Double Vowel system. It uses Western Ojibwe and Manitoba dialects.

"... an expanded and revised edition of Ojibwe-Ikidowinan/Ojibwe words : a brief Ojibwe-English word list .." Other title Ojibwe-Ikidowinan/Ojibwe words.

What to say in the Anishinaabe language at Airports, Bush Trails, Ceremonies, Conferences, Courtrooms, Emergencies, Hospitals, On the Phone, and while Visiting.

"This is a book that adults and children can use together to learn the Ojibwe language while they are traveling on the road. The phrase book covers events such as powwows, special occations as well as ordinary times in the house"--Page [4] of cover.

Text in English and Oji-Cree; Oji-Cree written in both Roman letters and the Oji-Cree writing system.Contents: Pt. 1. Oji-Cree-English and Pt. 2. English-Oji-Cree.

"The Iroquoian languages have an unusually complex word structure, in which lexical bases are surrounded by layers of prefixes and suffixes. This dictionary presents and explains that structure in the clearest possible terms. A work of enormous precision and care, it incorporates many innovative ideas and shows a deep understanding of the nature of the Oneida language." --Book Jacket.

The words in this dictionary are given in alphabetical order from English to Oneida

Onondaga is an Iroquoian language spoken at the Six Nations Reserve, near Brantford, Ontario, and at Onondaga Nation, near Syracuse, New York. Once spoken by a large Iroquoian population in New York State, Onondaga is now spoken by only a small number of individuals. This comprehensive dictionary - the first of its kind - provides an invaluable tool for the teaching and preservation of the Onondaga language. The Onondaga-English/English-Onondaga Dictionaryis the result of Hanni Woodbury's thirty years of research conducted with contemporary speakers and her study of nineteenth- and twentieth-century textual sources. The dictionary provides meanings and inflections for each lexical base, as well as cross-references for related bases and additional grammatical, phonological, historical, and cultural information. The appendices, organized under the headings 'Nature,' 'People,' and 'Household and Community,' include lists of words that play an important role in daily life. This much-needed resource will be invaluable to ongoing efforts to sustain this endangered language.

"This work is intended as a practical guide to the Seneca language for those with no linguistic training and for those who are to some degree familiar with linguistic concepts and terminology, but to whom the field is not a specialty..."--Introduction.

At head of title: Go 'wa E n-a gwa'ih gat'hah yon de' yas dah' gwah.
Attributed to Asher Wright--Bibliographies of the languages of the North American Indians / J.C. Pilling.

Twenty-five years ago, when Blair Rudes first began his research, there were still some fifty individuals who had learned Tuscarora as a first language and spoke it fluently. Rudes, who had the benefit of working with many of these speakers, has based his dictionary on their teachings. In addition, he draws from the extensive documentation of the language that dates back some 300 years. Tuscarora is an Iroquoian language originally spoken by inhabitants of the Carolinas. Forced to flee northward in the early eighteenth century, the Tuscaroras are centred today in two main localities: the Six Nations Reserve at Grand River, Ontario, and the Tuscarora Indian Nation Reservation near Lewiston, New York. Only four or five Tuscaroras now remain who can speak their language fluently. The dictionary is designed for use by the Tuscaroran people in reclaiming their language, and by anthropologists, historians, teachers, and linguists.