Indigenous Language Teaching

Text in Ojibway and English

Anishinaabemowin Version. Includes Syllable Chart.
Text in Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe) and English.

Each volume accompanied by Unit profile that includes activities that apply to one story.
Grades 1-2. Text in Ojibwe (in syllabic characters). Includes some text in English.

CD-ROM included in pocket of back cover.
English & Kwakwala includes multilingual CD.
Multilingual CD: read by David Bouchard (English, Français) & Pauline Alfred (Kwak'wala) ; music by Mary Youngblood ; sound design & mastering by Geoff Edwards. Text in English and Kwak'wala.

Words in English, French and Cree. Children can learn words in English, French and Cree in this colourful, brightly illustrated book.

Text in English and Ojibway. Text in English and Ojibway. "Once you have read or heard Emma and the trees, trees everywhere will know you" --Cover.

Anishinaabemowin version. Text in Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe) and English.

Text in Michif and English. Michif and English words combine with images from Métis culture to introduce young and old alike to the unique Michif language.

Text in Anishinabe (Ojibwe) with prelim. and introduction in English.

Text in English and Michif. Highlighting historical figures, significant events, places of interest and other aspects of Métis identity to take readers beyond the alphabet to explore the richness of Métis history and culture.

Anishinaabemowin version. Text in Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe) and English.

A Cree Story for Children.

Text in Ojibwe with some text in English.

Includes some text in Cree.

Text in English and Ojibwa. Before two-legends walked on Mother Earth there was a great cold. The animals formed a council; someone had to seek help from the Creator. Rainbow Crow, a most colorful bird, was selected because he had a beautiful voice that would surely impress the Creator. He flew into the heavens and won fire from above. But on the way back the fire began to burn his plumage black and destroy his beautiful voice. But Rainbow Crow persevered, bringing the life-saving fire safely back to his friends.--Jacket.

Text in English and Anishanabemowin.

Stories told in the variety of Ojibwe known as Odawa ( Ottawa) spoken on Manitoulin Island, Ont

Text in Cree and English.

Text in the Western dialect of the Ojibwe language.
In a contemporary setting of a small Anishinaabe community, the children are doing what they do best, playing. On a beautiful "Ziigwan (Spring)" day, the children set out to explore their environment and its inhabitants. So readily they share their warmth and kindness with the animals they encounter.

"Bilingual Cree and English audio CD enclosed"--Cover. Poems. CD sound design and mastering by Geoff Edwards.
Text in English and Cree. Summary:
The drums echo in the night, like the beating of the heart as the dancers join hands to do the round dance. It is a night of magic, a night of peace. It is a celebration of the spirits within and without, and if you dance the round dance, you will feel the magic too.

Accompanying CD includes English and Mi'kmaq readings of text and music by Buffy Sainte-Marie. Parallel text in English and Mi'kmaq. Summary: A mother dedicated to her roots, shows her child the importance of culture and identity through the dance and ritual of the powwow.

On accompanying sound disc: Read by David Bouchard, original music performed by the aboriginal drumming group Northern Cree. Text in English and Cree ; Bilingual Cree and English audio recording enclosed. Summary: A Cree boy wants to learn about the world through nature and he questions his grandmother about why he should learn to read.

Text in English and Michif. Summary:
An illustrated introduction to Canada's Métis that describes their history and traditions and features bilingual text in English and Michif. Includes an audio CD.
The story of a person discovering their Metis heritage, and looking back over the culture and history of the Metis.

"The Seven Sacred Teachings is a message of traditional values and hope for the future. The Teachings are universal to most First Nation peoples. These Teachings are seen in school communities from coast to coast across North America. They are a link that ties all Native, Inuit and Métis communities together."--book jacket.
Seven Sacred Teachings of White Buffalo Calf Woman, Niizhwaaswi aanike'iniwendiwin waabishiki mashkode bizhikiins ikwe, is the 2009 book from Metis author David Bouchard.
The book combines the Seven Grandfather Teachings and the White Buffalo Calf Woman teachings into a coherent mix. The book begins with a foreword briefly explaining the teachings of White Buffalo Calf Woman told in first person. She explains that she taught the people the Seven Sacred Ceremonies: the Sun Dance; Coming of Age; the Peace Pipe; the Medicine Wheel; the Good Red Road; the Vision Quest; and the Sweat Lodge. The Seven Grandfather Teachings include Humility - Dibaadendizowin; Honesty - Gwayakowaadiziwin; Respect - Manaaji'iwewin; Courage - Zoongide'ewin; Wisdom - Nibwaakaawin; Truth - Debwewin; and Love - Zaagi'idiwin.'--pub. desc.

Originally published in Cree. Each volume accompanied by Unit profile that includes activities that apply to one story.
Grades 1-2. Text in Oji-Cree (Ojibwe, Severn dialect), in syllabic characters. Includes some text in English.

Originally published in Cree. Each volume accompanied by Unit profile that includes activities that apply to one story.
Grades 1-2. Text in Ojibwe (in syllabic characters). Includes some text in English.

Text in Ojibwe syllabics; in Ojibwe and Roman scripts. English version also available at ED LIB EASY DAL. Also available in this series at ED LIB EASY DAL: Here I go; A Little Mouse; The New Baby. Each title has an English version and a translated version with Ojibwe syllabics and Roman scripts.

Includes a reader (in Cree, English and Syllabics) and a workbook.

Includes a reader (in Cree, English and Syllabics) and a workbook.

This set includes 10 primary level Ojibwe and Cree readers. Covers various aspects of native life in Ontario and Quebec, written in Cree and Lake of the Woods Ojibwe.

"Like all First Nations languages, Lillooet (Líl'wat) is a repository for an abundantly rich oral literature. In These Are Our Legends, the fifth volume of the First Nations Language Readers series, the reader will discover seven traditional sptakwlh (variously translated into English as "legends," "myths," or "bed-time stories"). The texts are presented in a technical transcription that can be used by linguists, and also in a practical orthography that can be used by Lillooet speakers themselves. An English translation is also given. Basic information on the Lillooet language, its grammar, and a glossary are included in the volume."--

A collection of nine stories representing the Plains Cree, Woods Cree, and Swampy Cree dialects, with a pronunciation guide and a Cree-to-English glossary.

Text in Ojibwa syllabics, roman orthography and English translation.