"This CD-ROM is challenging and it was very challenging to produce. Anishinaabemowin has many verbs and I illustrate some of them in this production. You will see verbs in many forms - singular, plural, negative, various tenses and more. I have also included stories, legends and teachings, so you will hear how the language sounds when it is spoken. There are also plenty of games, including bingo, memory games and four new crossword puzzles. Miigwech, Kenny Neganigwane Pheasant."--sleeve.
"26 chapters and over 800 beginning, intermediate, advanced and conversational words and phrases. Over 8 minutes of video... Telling time and counting. Bingo and concentration games. Hundreds of photos. Anishinaabe cultural information. Historical facts. Music by Charlie Wayne Watson... Appropriate for all ages"--from sleeve.
Audio CD read by Margaret Noori and Mike Zimmerman Jr. allows the reader to hear the correct pronunciation of the story.,Text in Ojibwe and English. Summary:
"The title 'Anishinaabemowin Maajaamigad / The Anishinaabe Language Leaves' describes what can happen when Anishinaabemowin is no longer a part of everyday life."Set in the 1940s on Manitoulin Island,, "the place of the spirits," this story celebrates veterans who gave their lives to end a World War; and the survivors who built a hockey arena to help young people understand the importance of memories and community." - p. 2.
Anishnaabemowin Introductory Level is designed for the language learner. The two CDs introduces interrogatives and commands such as where, how much, time, and other question words. Produced by the Wikwemikong Heritage Organization, located on the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve on beautiful Manitoulin Island in northern Ontario, Canada. The Organization's programming services the general band membership of the Wikwemikong.
Audio disc enclosed in back cover pocket.
"This workbook is created to assist in learning the basic words, terms and sentences of the Ojibwe language also known as Anishinaabemowin. It will be using the standardized orthography (writing system) known as the double-vowel system."--Introduction. Includes text in English and Ojibwa.
Seven songs suitable for children and adults learning Ojibwe.
This CD is the first foray in native language music: a ballad, children's songs, and a blues song. This CD is for anyone who enjoys music of the heart whatever language it is written. But it is especially for you language learners and also for speakers of the Anishinaabemowin language which is also known as Ojibwe, Saulteaux, Chippewa, and Algonquin. The language is spoken all around the Great Lakes, and as far west as Saskatchewan and one community in Alberta.-
This text, Eshkintam Nishinaabemang Mzinagan Introduction to Nishnaabewin, is the required text for Introductory Ojibwe course at Trent University. Students will find this course manual an invaluable learning aid in their journey towards mastering Mishnaabemowin (Native language). While this text is designed to provide a firm foundation for senior language courses, students will find that what they learn in the text will greatly enrich their current understanding of not only jthe Nishnaabe language, but the culture as well. It is hoped that a lifetime of language and cultural learning will ensue from this course."
"Take a trip along the Ogemawahj road (miikaan). Learn to read and speak Ojibwe. Visit six First Nations communities located in south central Ontario who are members of the Ogemawahj Tribal Council. Listen, watch, and learn while being told about the lifestyle of the Ojibwe people spoken entirely in the Ojibwe language."--Disc cover.
The Ojibway children’s picture dictionary contains over 350 illustrated words and common phrases that reflect the unique cultural and artistic heritage of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation. This original picture dictionary offers early childhood education and kindergarten students the essential vocabulary they need to develop literacy in their first language.---Ojibway and Cree Cultural Centre website.
"Credits: Norman Clark provided the vocabulary used in this text; he was assisted by Lucy Kegg-Clark, and other Elders named in the accompanying text. He is the voice on the tape. Rosemary Ackley-Christensen, Curriculum specialist provided curriculum design of text, grammar items, and flow of text for learning"--CD case. "Let's speak Ojibwe!"--CD. Voice by Norman Clark. Sound discs and accompanying materials in Ojibwa and English.
Introduction to Anishinaabe-Ojibwe history -- Part one: Introduction to Ojibwemowin -- Part two: Intermediate Ojibwemowin -- Part three: Puzzles, crosswords, word searches, mix and match -- Part four: Answer keys.
This book is intended for fluent Ojibwe language writers, translators & advanced learners. It’s not a Dictionary. It contains synonyms and related words to help you find that elusive word when you’re writing or translating as well as advance your literacy using the Double Vowel system. It uses Western Ojibwe and Manitoba dialects.
Call Number: Available as an ebook. Click on title to access.
"As an Elder once said, "Learn one Cree word a day for 100 days, and emerge a different person." In 100 Days of Cree Neal McLeod offers a portal into another way of understanding the universe--and our place within it--while demonstrating why this funny, vibrant, and sometimes salacious language is "the sexiest" of them all (according to Tomson Highway).
A touching and thoughtful gift for the art lovers in your life. BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, KIRKUS, HORN BOOK, QUILL & QUIRE, GLOBE AND MAIL WINNER OF THE TD CANADIAN CHILDREN'S LITERATURE AWARD FINALIST FOR THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S AWARD AN AMERICAN INDIAN YOUTH LITERATURE HONOR TITLE A BOSTON GLOBE--HORN BOOK HONOR BOOK When Katherena and her mother move to a small town, Katherena feels lonely and out of place. But when she meets an elderly woman artist who lives next door, named Agnes--her world starts to change. Katherena and Agnes share the same passions for arts and crafts, birds, and nature. But as the seasons change, can Katherna navigate the failing health of her new friend? Award-winning author and artist Julie Flett's textured images of birds, flowers, art, and landscapes bring vibrancy and warmth to this powerful story, which highlights the fulfillment of intergenerational relationships, shared passions, and spending time outdoors with the ones we love. Includes a glossary and pronunciation guide to Cree words that appear in the text. "Cree-Métis author/illustrator Julie Flett's smooth and lyrical words and gorgeous... images truly capture the warmth and solidarity of the female protagonists in this tender intergenerational friendship story."--The Horn Book "Cycling from spring to spring, [Julie Flett's] subtle, sensitive story delicately traces filaments of growth and loss through intergenerational friendship, art making, and changing moons and seasons." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)
The Cree children’s picture dictionary contains over 350 illustrated words and common phrases that reflect the unique cultural and artistic heritage of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation. This original picture dictionary offers early childhood education and kindergarten students the essential vocabulary they need to develop literacy in their first language.---Ojibway and Cree Cultural Centre website.
Lyrics in Cree and English in accompanying book.
Recorded by Jim Hollander on November 30, 2007 and by Angela Shisheesh on February 28, 2008 at the Ojibway and Cree Cultural Centre. The CD contains 13 songs sung in Cree. These songs are suitable for use in Early Childhood Education and Primary division programs.
Dragonfly Kites,is the second book in Tomson Highway's magical Songs of the North Wind trilogy. Like Caribou Song, it has a bilingual text, written in English and Cree. And Highway once again brilliantly evokes the very essence of childhood as he weaves a deceptively simple story about the power of the imagination. Joe and Cody, two young Cree brothers, along with their parents and their little dog Ootsie, are spending the summer by one of the hundreds of lakes in northern Manitoba. Summer means a chance to explore the world and make friends with an array of creatures. But what Joe and Cody like doing best of all is flying dragonfly kites. They catch dragonflies and gently tie a length of thread around the middle of each dragonfly before letting it go. Off soar the dragonflies into the summer sky and off race the brothers and Ootsie too, chasing after their dragonfly kites through trees and meadows and down to the beach before watching them disappear into the night sky. But in their dreams, Joe and Cody soar through the skies with their kites until it's time to wake up.
"...offering a basic introduction to the Cree language through an easy-to-follow method of matching pictures to words. In this introductory series of 12 books you will learn the Cree words for hundreds of everyday objects and phrases for other areas like seasons, days of the week and months..." From back cover. Includes 12 volumes and a teacher's guide.
"Van Camp composes a lyrical ode to a newborn child, which is matched in its loveliness by Flett's exquisite, collage-like images of a young one with his or her parents."--Publishers Weekly, starred review Richard Van Camp, internationally renowned storyteller and bestselling author of Welcome Song for Babyand We Sang You Home, has partnered with award-winning illustrator Julie Flett to create a tender book that honors the child in everyone. With its delightful contemporary illustrations, Little Youis perfect to be shared, read or sung to all the little people in your life--and the new little ones on the way! Orca Book Publishers is proud to offer this book as a dual-language (English and Plains Cree) edition.
Call Number: Available as an ebook. Click on title to access.
"Tânisi! With the help of this book, you can learn to speak Cree! Designed as an introduction for Cree language learners, mâci-nêhiyawêwin: Beginning Cree acts as a self-study aid--a much-needed resource in today's world where few can speak Cree fluently. Basic grammar units and everyday vocabulary items guide the student through the building blocks of the language, and expansion drills and exercises reinforce lessons and prepare the student for further study.
This two-volume Cree dictionary documents the Cree language. It provides both a guide to its spoken form for non-speakers and a guide to its written forms (both SRO and Syllabics) for speakers and non-speakers alike. The goal has thus been to collect the vocabulary of Cree as it is spoken by fluent speakers in much of western Canada, whether elders or young people. The words recorded herein have been gathered from diverse sources, including elicitation, recorded conversations and narrative, and publications of many kinds.
Nimoshom loved to drive the school bus. Every day, on the way to and from school, he had something to say. Sometimes, he told the kids silly stories. Sometimes, he taught them a new word or phrase in Cree. Nimoshom and His Bus introduces readers to common Cree words and phrases. A glossary is included in the back of the book. ERAC Evaluated and Approved.
This book was originally written in English by Trevor Greyeyes and Maeengan Linklater with Translation in Ojibwe by Patricia Ningewance. It has now been translated into Pocket Plains Cree by Solomon Ratt who teaches Plains Cree at the First Nations University in Regina, Saskatchewan. It has 127 pages of phrases and common words and illustrations for parents and children to learn together. The cover art is by Patricia Ningewance and the other illustrations are by Don Ningewance.
This unique counting book introduces children to numbers one to ten in Cree. Discover vibrant illustrations on every page that reflect the rich culture and traditions of the Cree people. Through rhyme, rhythm, and powwow imagery, this book makes language learning a joyful experience for young readers. A pronunciation guide is included in the back of the book. Approved resource for Manitoba classrooms.
Teacher's Guide for Powwow Counting in Cree gives you engaging activities that take a deeper look at each illustration in the book, Powwow Counting in Cree. In this resource you will find:- background information that addresses specific topics related to Cree culture and language- detailed, easy-to-follow lesson plans for social studies, language arts, mathematics, and other content areas- additional sources of information about Cree language and culture- and much more.
Vol. 1 illustrated by Gordon Goodwin ; v. 2 illustrated by Bart Meekis.
Originally published in Cree. Each volume accompanied by Unit profile that includes activities that apply to one story. Grades 1-2.Text in Oji-Cree (Ojibwe, Severn dialect), in syllabic characters. Includes some text in English.
Story on DVD is told in Oji-Cree. Chakapish is a legendary character of the Mjuskego Cree and the Northern Oji-Cree. Every legend delivers a teaching to the listener. In this legend, the teaching is of love and obedience (from container).
These 14 songs were written and recorded during a Sing Along Songs Workshop presented at the "Keekeenomakaywin Mawatchhetewin" Education Gathering held in the John C. Yesno Education Centre at the Eabametoong First Nation (Fort Hope) on February 21, 2007. (from inside cover).
The Oji-cree children’s picture dictionary contains over 350 illustrated words and common phrases that reflect the unique cultural and artistic heritage of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation. This original picture dictionary offers early childhood education and kindergarten students the essential vocabulary they need to develop literacy in their first language.---Ojibway and Cree Cultural Centre website.
Text in English and Michif. Highlighting historical figures, significant events, places of interest and other aspects of Métis identity to take readers beyond the alphabet to explore the richness of Métis history and culture.
The language of the M tis, Michif is a combination of French and Cree with a trace of other regional languages. Once spoken by thousands of people across the prairies of Canada and the northern United States, Michif is now so little spoken that it might disappear within a generation. This alphabet book is part of a resurgence to celebrate and preserve the traditions of the M tis people. Here Michif and English words combine with images from M tis culture to introduce all generations to the unique Michif language.
A young boy spends a summer day picking wild blueberries with his grandmother in this beautiful new picture book by award-winning illustrator Julie Flett. Exploring the important tradition of berry-picking, the story is written completely in the Cree language. This book is set in n-dialect, also known as Swampy Cree from the Cross Lake, Norway House area. A syllabics pronunciation guide is available at the end of this book. An edition of Wild Berries written in both English & n-dialect Cree from the Cumberland House area is also available, published by Simply Read Books.
An inuksuk is a stone landmark that different peoples of the Arctic region build to leave a symbolic message. Inuksuit (the plural of inuksuk) can point the way, express joy, or simply say: welcome. A central image in Inuit culture, the inuksuk frames this picture book as an acrostic: readers will learn seven words from the Inuktitut language whose first letters together spell INUKSUK. Each word is presented in English and in Inuktitut characters, with phonetic pronunciation guides provided. The words and their definitions give a sense of the traditions and customs of Inuit life in the Arctic: nanuqis the powerful polar bear of the north; kamikis a warm seal- and caribou-skin boot; and sikuis sea ice. Stunning paintings with deep color and rich texture evoke a powerful sense of place and show great respect for the Acrtic's indigenous people. Extra informational text features include an introductory note about the significance of inuksuit in Inuit culture and a nonfiction page that profiles seven different types of inuksuit.