- Library
- Research Guides
- Indigenous Learning - Introduction to Research
- Government Info/Data - Including Statistics
Indigenous Learning - Introduction to Research
- Journal Databases/Newspapers/Primary Sources
- Reference Sources
- Lakehead University - History of Indigenous Education
- National Inquiries - Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) & MMIWG
- Thunder Bay & Northern Ontario Region - Indigenous Health Care
- Images
- Websites - Indigenous Organizations & Portals
- Government Info/Data - Including Statistics
- Film/Videos/Radio
- Class Environmental Assessments (Class EA) / Royal Commissions (RCAP)
- Treaties
- Teachings
- Resistance Movements
- Research Considerations / Research Methodologies
- Cite your Sources, Literature Review, Annotated Bibliography
Government Documents Search
Search Canadian Government Documents
Tips and Hot Topics
To find the Parliament of Canada House of Commons Debates:
- Print copies are located at: DOC J 103 A42 Chancellor Paterson Library 2nd floor. opac record
- Online access is available from 1994 to the present at the Parliament of Canada website
- Historical debates of the Parliament of Canada
To find the Government of Canada Sessional Papers:
- Sessional Papers are reports and papers which have been tabled in the House of Commons (and sometimes the Senate) and deposited with the Clerk.
- Print copies are located at: DOC J 103 H6 Chancellor Paterson Library 5th floor hallway (outside the Northern Studies Resource Centre)
- Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada 1867-1924 include reports of departments, commissiions and business institutions, statistics, foreign affairs documents, maps and other documents of historical significance.
- Since 1930, all sessional papers, including department annual reports, have been published individually under separate cover.
Acts, Agreements and Land Claims
- Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, Acts, Agreements, Treaties and Land ClaimsInformation and links to the acts, bills and regulations that affect Aboriginal and Northern Affairs Deveoplment Canada (AANDC), as well as land claims and historic treaties.
Reports and Publications
- Indian Affairs Annual Reports 1864-1990Collection contains the full text annual reports for the departments and branches responsible for Indian Affairs.
- Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada: PublicationsLinks to a wide range of publications available online, either in an HTML or PDF version, as well as a source for free publications published by AANDC.
- Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples Report (1996)This report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples concerns government policy with respect to the original historical nations of this country.
Archival Sources
- Aboriginal Peoples: Guide to the Records of the Government of CanadaThis Library and Archives Canada guide includes an explanation of the organization of the documents in the federal government Record Groups (RG) 10 (Indian Affairs) Inventory and 15 (Métis Scrip Records) as well as an overview of Aboriginal history in Canada.
Websites
- Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada: FormsIncludes links to forms for various Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (AANDC) programs and services.
- Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada: FundingInformation on funding for programs, services and initiatives to First Nation, Inuit and Northern economic development programs, services and initiatives.
- Ontario Ministry of Aboriginal AffairsLinks to recent news, education, health, organizations, land claims, form and economic opportunities and many more resources.
Aboriginal Statistical Sources
- Statistics Canada - Indigenous PeoplesStatistics on First Nations, Metis, and Inuit Peoples of Canada.
- Aboriginal Peoples Survey, 2012Provides data on the social and economic conditions of Aboriginal people in Canada.
- National Household Survey (NHS), 2011Links to National Household Survey products related to Aboriginal Peoples.
- Aboriginal Statistics at a GlanceIt includes data for the First Nations (North American Indian), Métis, and Inuit populations. Data sources include the 1996, 2001 and 2006 censuses of population, the 2006 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, the 2005 Canadian Community Health Survey, and the 2007/2008 Adult Correctional Services Survey.
- 2006 Census of Canada: Aboriginal Population ProfileThis profile contains information on the Aboriginal identity population for various Canadian communities where the Aboriginal identity population count is 250 or more. Canadian communities include: cities, towns, villages, Indian reserves and Indian settlements, counties or their equivalents, and metropolitan areas.
- 2006 Census Profile of Aboriginal Children, Youth and AdultsProvides an extensive set of data about Aboriginal children, youth and adults (Métis, Inuit and off-reserve North American Indians) living in urban, rural and northern locations across Canada.
- Aboriginal Offender StatisticsAboriginal Initiatives Directorate, Correctional Service Canada
- Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada: Research and StatisticsIndian and Northern Affairs Canada (AANDC) conducts a wide range of research on Aboriginal and northern issues, such as education levels, average income and life expectancy of Aboriginal people and Northerners.
- First Nations ProfilesProfiles containing information about First Nations government, Tribal Council and reserves. Information is extracted from current Indian and Northern Affairs databases including the Band Classification Manual, Band Governance Management System, the Indian Lands Registry System, the Indian Government Support System and the Indian Register System. Profiles can be found by reserve or by First Nation.
- ODESIProvides access to datasets in a web-based data extraction system and allows the downloading of data into external statistical analysis packages. Data and documentation from the Aboriginal Peoples Surveys from 1991 – 2006 as well as a host of other surveys are included.
- First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC)Canada’s premier source of information about First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities across Canada. This application provides unprecedented Provides access to FNIGC’s published data in the form of charts, tables and graphs that can be exported for use in presentations, reports and academic papers
- First Nations Data CentreLocated at FNIGC’s Ottawa office, the FNDC provides access to unpublished and record-level data from FNIGC's respected survey work, including the First Nations Regional Health Survey (FNRHS, or RHS) and the First Nations Regional Early Childhood, Education and Employment Survey (FNREEES, or REEES).