Consultations are normally held over zoom software, but arrangements can be made for an in person meeting on the 5th floor of the Library in room LI 5007. If in-person is necessary, please contact me directly via email. email@example.com
(Ebsco) Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
(Ebsco) A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. It contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present
(Proquest) Wide variety of Canadian periodicals and news sources. Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Coverage: 1982 -
Full text content 1993 –
(Gale) Covers about 1.8 million articles from nearly 700 Canadian journals and magazines (English and French). Full text to 165 periodicals from 1983 to the present. Covers a broad range of subjects including current events, health, technology, the arts, history, literature, culture and business; emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries.
Includes references to periodicals, books, monographs, reports, dissertations, and other materials from world literature on psychology and the behavioral sciences. Includes various methodologies: empirical studies, interviews, qualitative studies, quantitative studies, field studies, clinical trials, etc.
Includes access to all of our Ebsco databases including: America: History & Life with Full Text, Bibliography of Native North Americans, CINAHL, Education Source, ERIC, Historical Abstracts with Full Text etc.
The National Archives of Canada's online research and consultation tool, provides access to a variety of information resources related to archival holdings.
RG 10 refers to Record Group 10 which is the original records of the Department of Indian Affairs.
IMPORTANT - In database dropdown menu select Indian Affairs Annual Reports 1864-1990.
The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created in 1966. The Indian Affairs Annual Reports (1864-1990) collection contains the complete annual reports for the department from 1967 to 1990. The Indian Affairs Annual Reports collection also contains the annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966.
Canadiana Online identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials.
Monographs - spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. With a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of Canada.
Serials - includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines
Government Publications - includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.
Canadiana Online is projected to digitalize the entire CIHM collection by the end of 2018.
This content includes textual material, photographs, artwork, maps and publications related to First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation, and comes from private donors, government records and published works.
(Arctic Science and Technology Information System) - Recent literature about the north (Yukon and Northwest Territories, the northern parts of the provinces and some material from other circumpolar regions). Coverage: 1974-
High North Research Documents includes all freely available research documents thematically relevant to the high north. The service covers all subjects and many languages, and is free and open for all.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. It is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library.
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of Native American, Inuit people of Alaska, and Canadian First Nations.
Can't find the book/article you need in our collection?
Use Omni to place all requests for interlibrary loan materials. Search for your item in Omni (make sure you are signed in to place the request), and click on the "Get it from another library" link.
(Proquest) Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
(Proquest) Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
This list highlights some of the print journals in the collection that pertain to Indigenous Learning. They are in addition to the extensive collection of electronic journals that relate to this topic.
This list highlights some of the electronic serial publications in the collection that pertain to Indigenous Learning. These electronic titles are in addition to the collection of print journals that are available in the physical collection.