Key Article Databases
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
(Cumulative index to nursing & allied health literature) - Index to English language periodical literature in nursing. Coverage: 1981-
Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BUBmheI_pE
List of Journals Indexed: https://www.ebsco.com/m/ee/Marketing/titleLists/cin-coverage.xls
- Nursing & Allied Health Database Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and over 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and related fields.
Coverage: 1988 - (full-text coverage for some titles begins in 1992) - Embase (via Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowA biomedical and pharmaceutical database Coverage: 1974-
- Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains the fulltext of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Best Evidence (the American College of Physicians Journal Club) and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). Also contains citations from the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (no fulltext). Coverage: 1991-
Limited to 13 simultaneous users
- Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical care medicine. 1995-
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's (US) definitive health research database
Coverage: 1947- - ACP Journal Club - see EBM Reviews This link opens in a new windowRegularly updated systematic reviews of the effectiveness of health care. Coverage: 1991-
- UpToDate (For Nursing Students Only)
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource
For access information, please contact D. Gold - dgold@lakeheadu.ca