EDUC 2430 Education Research and Data Analysis

Drawing from her experiences as an Indigenous scientist, botanist Robin Wall Kimmerer demonstrated how all living things--from strawberries and witch hazel to water lilies and lichen--provide us with gifts and lessons every day in her best-selling book Braiding Sweetgrass. Adapted for young adults by Monique Gray Smith, this new edition reinforces how wider ecological understanding stems from listening to the earth's oldest teachers: the plants around us. With informative sidebars, reflection questions, and art from illustrator Nicole Neidhardt, Braiding Sweetgrass for Young Adults brings Indigenous wisdom, scientific knowledge, and the lessons of plant life to a new generation.

Canoe Kids Vol. 1 The Ojibwe of Great Spirit Island is the first issue of a 24 edition series designed as family books for kids all ages. This eight-year project will see the Canoe Kids Team embed with 24 Peoples. The mandate for the full-colour book (161 full colour high res photographs) is Exploring Indigenous Cultures through Authentic Indigenous Voices. The publication balances culture, equity and the environment in a beautiful mix that reminds the reader of the pictorial quality of National Geographic with a more in depth editorial content. This first issue (in a series of 24) focuses on the Ojibwe People of Great Spirit Island (Manitoulin Island). In 129 pages the reader is introduced to the Ojibwe People who kindly assisted the Canoe Kids staff by allowing access to their traditional territory. Canoe Kids acknowledges the generosity of the Council of Aundeck Omni Kanning and the People of the six Manitoulin communities.

Canoe Kids Vol. 2 featuring The Haida of Haida Qwaii is the second issue of a 24 edition series designed as family books for kids all ages. This eight-year project will see the Canoe Kids Team embed with 24 Peoples the publication designed as a family book for kids all ages. The mandate for the full-colour book (197 full colour high res photographs) is Exploring Indigenous Cultures through Authentic Indigenous Voices. The publication balances culture, equity and the environment in a beautiful mix that reminds the reader of the pictorial quality of National Geographic with a more in depth editorial content. This second issue focuses on the Haida Nation of Haida Gwaii. In 165 pages the reader is introduced to the Haida People who kindly assisted the Canoe Kids staff by allowing access to Haida territory. Canoe Kids acknowledges the generosity of the Council of Haida Nation, the Haida Museum and the Haida Heritage Centre.

The Mi'kmaq of Newfoundland (Ktaqamkuk) is the third issue of a 24 edition series designed as family books for kids all ages. This eight to ten year project will see the Canoe Kids Team embed with 24 Peoples. The mandate for the full-colour book (150+ full colour high res photographs) is Exploring Indigenous Cultures through Authentic Indigenous Voices. The publication balances culture, equity and the environment in a beautiful mix that reminds the reader of the pictorial quality of National Geographic with a more in depth editorial content. This third issue (in a series of 24) focuses on the Mi'kmaq of the Newfoundland and north Atlantic coast. In 150 pages the reader is introduced to the Mi'kmaq People who kindly assisted the Canoe Kids staff by allowing access to their traditional territory.

4 Canoes (formerly Canoe Kids) is a unique, ongoing, 24-edition series created to bring Indigenous Peoples into our classrooms and homes. Each issue highlights a different Nation and is produced with integrity and respect.
In this issue of 4Canoes, we feature the Yavapai People. Their traditional territory is in what is now the south west region of the United States of America. Our first issue came from the center of Turtle Island, namely Manitoulin Island. We then went west to Haida Gwaii then east to Ktaqamkuk. We take great pride in being able to showcase the uniqueness of the original peoples and remind our readers that it is through the words of their own people, each nation can be celebrated. As we prepare to visit other nations, come explore with us!--Editor's note (page 5)
Other title
Yavapai.

"Out of respect for the elders and Anishinaabe people please understand that this drum is a craft and souvenir. It is in no way intended to replicate or represent the drums used by the Anishinaabe People for spiritual purposes and ceremonies."--Page 10. The Drum Story is a very ancient Anishinaabe Ojibwe story that teaches us to live well and properly with mother earth, and to respect our cherished elders, and each other.--Page 10

The book includes a brief introduction of Falcon Migwans and explains how he was gifted this account. He clearly indicates there are other versions of this origin story and he is only telling this account for the general public. He provides some background about smudging, fasting, and feasting the drum. The 65-page book includes a short introduction about the Ojibwe language, Manitoulin Island, and the national anthem, O Canada, in the Ojibwe language. The important role of women is evident in this origin story about the Anishinaabe drum.--GoodMinds.com.

"The Drum Story, as with all of The IPP and Canoe Kids programs, provides opportunities to enrich teaching and learning through indigenous cultural content – through culture, learning about people, history, diversity and discrimination, equity, respect for the environment, etc. can also take place. The Drum Story Teaching Guide also provides suggestions for critical and creative thinking exercises to reinforce comprehension and suggest ways for students to communicate that understanding (though written descriptions and drawings, as well as class discussions and storytelling, arts and crafts etc." "The Drum Story program can be adapted to suit all classroom and student needs. The following program teaching guide was designed to give teachers flexibility in delivering The Drum Story program – teachers are encouraged to choose how best to run this program reflecting student expectations and abilities, and levels of differentiated instruction. Teachers may choose to use the teaching/learning activities provided or use the activities as a guide in designing comparable teaching/learning tasks."--Page [2]

The Drum Story Teachers Guide provides focus points and areas of clarification. This guide will assist teachers in providing a basic but accurate representation of the culture and a very important story that is particularly relevant today. The activity booklet provides a fun and fast paced teaching opportunity that includes graphics and presentation materials including colouring, mazes, language and cultural methodologies too.---

The Eagle Feather Story is a beautiful and ancient Dakelh (Carrier Peoples) story about learning to respect those who live their lives with integrity, told in both the Dakelh and English languages. To support learning alongside this story, this resource also includes an overview of the Dakelh culture, history, and territory.--4canoes.

Featuring colouring pages and a unique gratitude tree, Traditional Knowledge activities, drawing & writing exercises, bingo, cut outs & more!--GoodMinds.com.