Research Guides: Education (Graduate & Research): Find Resources

Find Resources

To search for books/ebooks:

Use Omni to search for books, ebooks, journal articles, and more. You can limit your search to Lakehead Libraries or search all 19 of the Ontario academic libraries that use Omni.

For help with Omni, consult the Omni Help Guide, visit the library in person, email edlib@lakeheadu.ca (Thunder Bay Education Library), or orlib@lakeheadu.ca (Orillia Education Library).

It is possible to RENEW your books by signing in to your Omni account with your Lakehead username and password. The SIGN IN option is at the top right of the Omni search screen.

If you can't find the title you want:

The OMNI system used at Lakehead is part of a collaboration with other Ontario Council of University Libraries, and therefore you have access to resources across Ontario when you use OMNI.

With Omni, it is possible to:

Request print books from Lakehead, or any OMNI partner library across Ontario, to be sent to the Lakehead Library desk closest to you for pickup.
Request that a print book from any OMNI partner library, to be sent to the most convenient library for you, at ANY university, for pickup (for example, if you are a Lakehead student who lives in London, Ontario, you could request that a print book be sent to Western for you to pickup there).
If you can tell from the table of contents, of a print book, that you only need a certain section of that book, you can request that that section be scanned and emailed to you as a pdf.

To place a request in Omni:

Search for a material in Omni and sign in to place your request on the item record. Check out our video on requesting materials and our Omni Help Guide
If you are unable to find what you are looking for in Omni Submit an interlibrary loan blank request form

The following subject-specific Education databases will help you find journal articles in journals specific to Education. You have

access to multidisciplinary and additional databases on other specific subjects on the Databases AtoZ page.

Education Source

Education Source includes the full-text for more than 1,900 English language journals, and provides indexing for nearly 3,500 journals with coverage dating back to 1929. Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Information on all educational specialties is included as well as all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Education Source also includes access to books and education conference proceedings.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)

Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles Coverage: 1971 -
Full text content 1985 –
ERIC (via ProQuest)

A major resource for North American research in the field of education and education-related topics. Coverage: 1966-

ERIC (via the Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education)
The ERIC database is also available for searching on this website by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. Some fulltext of journal articles may not be available through this ERIC search.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a way to search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

To access Google Scholar from off-campus please do the following:

1)Go to the menu item (top left of the screen) and select Settings
2)Click on Library Links
3)Search for Lakehead in the search box
4)Select " GetIt@Lakehead" by checking off the box
5)Click on Save

To locate theses, portfolios and/or dissertations written by graduate students at Lakehead University, search Knowledge Commons, Lakehead University's repository.

There are other resources which will help you identify and access graduate level theses originating from elsewhere in Canada, or internationally.

This is a list of resources available to help you locate theses and dissertations:

Lakehead University Knowledge Commons
Includes Lakehead University dissertations and theses, research and scholarly works and university publications.

Theses Canada Portal

Full-text versions of Canadian theses and dissertations published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002. Also contains bibliographic records of all theses in the National Library of Canada theses collection, which was established in 1965.

British Library Research Repository
The British Library Research Repository is an open access repository for the research produced by staff and research associates of the British Library.
Centre for Research Libraries
Provides free access to books, newspapers, serials, archival material and microfilm through Interlibrary Loan.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Search thousands of open dissertations.
PhdData.org
Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world
PQDT Open (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses)
Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. As of 2012, the database contains 13,000 publications and continues to grow.
ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories)
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.
TEL (thèses-EN-ligne)
The purpose of TEL (thèses-EN-ligne) is to facilitate the self archiving of thesis manuscripts, which are important documents for direct scientific communication between scientists.

WorldCat
Tip: Use the Advanced Search and limit your search to "thesis/dissertations" in the Content field

Education datasets are available:

The library guide to Government Information/Data will provide you with additional sources of government datasets.

Lakehead University Library offers various services and tools to Lakehead University researchers for managing data. Information about these services and tools is available on the Library's Research Data Management guide.