- Background Information
- Find Journal Articles
- Evidence Based Medicine
- Review TypesToggle Dropdown
- PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses)
- ResearchToggle Dropdown
- Tutorials
- Grey Literature
- Finding Dissertations
- Organize and Cite your Sources
- Government & Statistics
Can't find the book/article you need in our collection?
- Search for a material in Omni and sign in to place your request on the item record. Check out our video on requesting materials for more information
- If you are unable to find what you are looking for in Omni:
- Try expanding your search by toggling on “Add results beyond Lakehead’s collection”, located in the left Omni navigation menu
- Submit an interlibrary loan blank request form
Grey Literature
Grey (or Gray) Literature - What is it?
According to A Dictionary of Public Health Grey Literature is:
Unpublished papers and reports, academic dissertations, etc., that by common agreement are of sufficient quality to be reliable, verifiable, and acceptable sources of original observations for citation purposes.
(2007). gray literature. In Last, J.(Ed.), A Dictionary of Public Health. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 27 Jun. 2013, from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780195160901.001.0001/acref-9780195160901-e-1796.
Where can you find Grey Literature in the Library?
- ASTIS
- Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholars Portal Books)
- Conference Board of Canada: e-Library
- Native Health Database
- Thesis Canada Portal
- Other Thesis Databases
- Public Health Grey Literature Database
How do you evaluate Grey Literature?
AACOD
Authority
Accuracy
Coverage
Objectivity
Date
Significance
Check out the AACOD Checklist here.
Key Articles & Databases
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
(Cumulative index to nursing & allied health literature) - Index to English language periodical literature in nursing. Coverage: 1981-
Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BUBmheI_pE
List of Journals Indexed: https://www.ebsco.com/m/ee/Marketing/titleLists/cin-coverage.xls
- Nursing & Allied Health Database Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracting and indexing for more than 780 titles, with over 650 titles in full-text, plus more than 11,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields. Coverage: 1988 - (full-text coverage for some titles begins in 1992)
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCovers over 3,000 of the world's leading biomedical journals and periodicals, providing bibliographic citations and authors' abstracts relating to all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1947-
- PsycINFOIncludes references to periodicals, books, monographs, reports, dissertations, and other materials from world literature on psychology and the behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1806 -
- Health Evidence.orgIndex to 4228 quality assessed systematic reviews in the field of public health. Register to use the index and obtain full text at Lakehead by checking the library catalogue.
- Public Health Grey Literature DatabaseCreated by the Ontario Public Health Libraries Association. Includes Ontario's 36 public health units and other provincial knowledge-producing public health organizations.
- Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new window
The Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database contains 6800 records describing publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region. The database is a project of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Team in Circumpolar Health Research.
Other Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global contains the full text of thousands of business journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals. Coverage: 1923- Selected full-text coverage going back to the 19th century.
Title List (in Excel)
- Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books) This link opens in a new windowPrimary research in the area of health and medical research and all areas of Canadian public policy.
- Conference Board of Canada: e-Data This link opens in a new window
Economic intelligence on Canada, the Provinces, Metropolitan areas and the United States.
To access the Conference Board of Canada: e-Data:
- After you click on the link to the Conference Board of Canada: e-Data, click on Login for Educational Institutions
- Click on Access e-Data
- Conference Board of Canada: e-Library This link opens in a new windowContains over 2000 research documents on economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.
- Native Health Database This link opens in a new windowBibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of Native American, Inuit people of Alaska, and Canadian First Nations.
- OECD Health Data This link opens in a new window
Offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. It is an essential tool for health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community, to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from international comparisons of diverse health care systems.
- OPHID -The Ontario Population Health Index of Databases This link opens in a new window
OPHID is a free database index resource for researchers, students, or anyone working on or with population health issues. It provides an on-line, searchable index of a wide variety of data sources relevant to Ontario (as well as Canada), details about their content, and how to gain access to them.
- Sociology Database (Formerly ProQuest Sociology) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Includes references to periodicals, books, monographs, reports, dissertations, and other materials from world literature on psychology and the behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1806 -
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Access to 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines. Coverage: 1975- and Conference Proceedings 1990-present.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Includes Social Science research articles and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1975- and Conference Proceedings 1990-present.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, community development and related areas. Coverage: 1979-
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature in Sociology Index Coverage: 1952- and full text coverage varies.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-