Intermediate Senior English

Offering a wealth of ideas and support for ways to really bring poetry alive, this book draws on what is known to work, and explores fresh thinking. It will help both new and experienced teachers approach poetry with imagination and confidence. Written by people who have taught poetry in different settings for many years, and with contributions from poets Michael Rosen and James Carter, this book offers ideas on: - using drama - cross-curricular working - what to do with younger learners - inspiring children to write their own poems - and much more ... An enjoyable and uplifting book, it is a must for anyone working with children aged 5 to 14 who is looking for inspiration for their poetry teaching. Michael Lockwood is Senior Lecturer in English and Education, University of Reading.

`This excellent book provides the reader with comprehensive coverage of all aspect of poetry teaching. The book does more than inform us - it inspires profound reflection on the best ways it support poetry writing and draws us into the debate about assessment-driven curriculum′ - School Librarian `A must for trainee teachers and English departments′ - Booktrusted News `

This cutting-Edge Guide Presents Multiple approaches to teaching poetry at the middle and high school levels. Let's Poem will show you how to preserve the fun of poetry while also developing critical writing and analysis skills, how to introduce your students to the basic formal elements of classic and contemporary poetry, and how to expand their repertoires through the use of digital technology and the Internet. Chapters cover choral reading of poetry, writing about race, jazz poetry and other cultural forms, hip-hop and spoken word poetry, multimodal "remixing" of canonical poems, the use of poems form international settings and authors, and more. --

Call it poetic justice, but not only is performance poetry the hottest, hippest way for students to engage in literate behaviors, it's also an effective vehicle for helping students meet language arts standards. In fact, poetry performance meets eight of NCTE and IRA's twelve national standards for English instruction and contributes to the mastery of the other four. Best of all, it works in any setting, and with Outspoken!you'll learn how the spoken word can rev up the energy in your classroom while achieving your curricular goals. In Outspoken!poet-educators Sara Holbrook and Michael Salinger take you through the process of developing, implementing, and assessing poetry performance - and beyond. Beginning with ideas for encouraging even the most reluctant students to speak clearly and write from the heart, this handbook uses familiar workshop structures to guide young poets toward vibrant completed pieces and an exciting, dynamic delivery. With lessons involving memoir, metaphor, character, point of view, and articulation, you'll find a fully realized unit that's as enjoyable to teach as it is to learn and that's full of specific advice on assessing the writing, speaking, performing, and learning of your students. Holbrook and Salinger also go outside the classroom, providing ideas and guidelines for running a poetry slam in your school, conducting a poetry performance series, and bringing in a visiting poet. In addition, Outspoken!comes with a DVD that contains Outspoken: Playhouse Square Center's Slam-U Program, a documentary that chronicles Salinger and his students as they prepare to compete in a national poetry slam, demonstrating what student performance poetry looks like up close and the positive effect it has on students' lives and learning. Fun, practical, conversational, and full of innovations sure to enliven any class or school, Outspoken!will become an instant hit with your students - and with your curriculum supervisor.

This innovative resource includes tools for classroom management that range from assessment techniques to tips for choosing and displaying poems.

To rhyme or not to rhyme? That's NOT the only question! An absolute must buy for the novice and an incredible asset for any writing teacher, this book gives you guidelines for starting a poetry writing program and then the tools to do it. Lies offers practical advice on teaching the technical aspects of poetry, suggests ways to revise work and overcome writer's block, and discusses how to integrate poetry writing with other parts of the curriculum. Numerous exercises, examples of student work, an annotated bibliography of sources for further ideas, and a glossary of poetic terms are included.

This playful 32-page flip book explores all aspects of poetry -- from guidelines and an overview of poetic forms to the Top Ten lists of various poetry favorites. Handy reproducible masters are also provided which include a poetry timetable, ten questions to ask about any poem, an observation checklist for teachers, and a personal poetry inventory for students. Created by two remarkable poets and educators, The Poetry Experience brings their infectious style to a topic that is often challenging for students and teachers alike. From questions and short activities to full classroom events, this engaging book focuses on both reading and writing poetry, and on experiencing poetry both on the page and read aloud. Extensive lists of poets and books ensure that every reader will find personal favorites to celebrate.

Mainstream rap's seductive blend of sexuality, violence, and bravado hardly seems the stuff of school curricula. And chances are good that the progressive and revolutionary "underground" hip-hop of artists such as The Roots or Mos Def is not on the playlists of most high-school students. That said, hip-hop culture remains a profound influence on contemporary urban youth culture and a growing number of teachers are developing strategies for integrating it into their classrooms. While most of these are hip-hop generation members who cannot imagine leaving the culture at the door, this book tells the story of a white teacher who stepped outside his comfort zone into the rich and messy realm of student popular investments and abilities. Slam School takes the reader into the heart of a poetry course in an urban high school to make the case for critical hip-hop pedagogies. Pairing rap music with its less controversial cousins, spoken word and slam poetry, this course honored and extended student interests. It also confronted the barriers of race, class, gender, and generation that can separate white teachers from classrooms of predominantly black and Latino students and students from each other. Bronwen Low builds a surprising argument: the very reasons teachers might resist the introduction of hip-hop into the planned curriculum are what make hip-hop so pedagogically vital. Class discussions on topics such as what one can and cannot say in the school auditorium or who can use the N-word raised pressing and difficult questions about language, culture and identity. As she reveals, an innovative, student-centered pedagogy based on spoken word curriculum that is willing to tolerate conflict, as well as ambivalence, has the potential to air tensions and lead to new insights and understandings for both teachers and students.

Teaching Poetry is an indispensible source of guidance, confidence and ideas for all those new to the secondary English classroom. Written by experienced teachers who have worked with the many secondary pupils who 'don't get' poetry, this friendly guide will help you support pupils as they access, understand, discuss and enjoy classic and contemporary poetry. With an emphasis on active approaches and the power of poetry to enrich the lives of both teachers and students, Teaching Poetry: Provides a succinct introduction to the major ideas and theory about teaching poetry Covers the key genres and periods through tried and tested favourites and a range of less well known new and historical poetry Illustrates good practice for every approach covered, through case studies of theory and ideas in action in the classroom Includes activities, ideas and resources to support teaching at Key Stages 3, 4 and 5. Teaching Poetry tackles head on one of the aspects of English teaching that new and experienced teachers alike find most difficult. It offers both a comprehensive introduction to teaching poetry and a rich source of inspiration and support to be mined when faced with an unfamiliar text or an unresponsive class.

This exciting book on teaching poetry is organized around a selection of important contemporary literary theories explained simply and linked to teaching strategies in a practical way. It emphasizes contemporary poetry forms that are sure to engage young readers. A wide selection of poems is included. Each poem is accompanied by a discussion of teaching techniques and suggestions for student activities.