Skip to main content

Access to Archives and Special Collections

Lakehead Library’s Archives and Special Collections are now available, by appointment, at Chancellor Paterson Library. All appointments must be made a minimum of 48 hours in advance.

Archives

To submit a request to view material in the Archives, please email Sara Janes (University Archivist) at sjanes@lakeheadu.ca. Appointments will be scheduled on Wednesdays or Fridays, from 9:00am - 12:00pm or 1:00pm - 4:00pm. For more information on the Archives collections and services, visit archives.lakeheadu.ca

Special Collections

The following non-circulating collections are available for use, by appointment only, at Chancellor Paterson Library:

  • Rare books
  • Northern Studies Reference Collection
  • University Collection
  • Faculty Offprint Collection 
  • Main Floor Reference Collection

To submit a request to view material in these collections, please email Trudy Russo (Special Collections Librarian) at trusso@lakeheadu.ca. Appointments will be scheduled on Tuesdays or Thursdays, from 9:00am - 12:00pm or 1:00pm - 4:00pm. 

The following special collections continue to be available for loan from Chancellor Paterson Library: 

  • North Collection
  • Regional Collection
  • Lakehead University Faculty Monograph Collection
  • Government Documents
  • Thesis and Dissertations

Please refer to our “Getting Started with Omni” guide for directions on how to place a request.

Access to Multimedia Materials 

Access to microfilm, video and audio cassettes, and other special media is also unavailable at this time.

For updates on other collections and services, such as interlibrary loan, please visit https://libguides.lakeheadu.ca/covid19

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2020 11:34 AM