Indigenous Learning - Residential Schools History / Indigenous Education Pedagogy

Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. Coverage: 1955-

Title List

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.

Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles Coverage: 1971 -
Full text content 1985 –

Bilingual resource to more than 400 English- and French-language journals, including more than 30 American titles dealing with North American and international issues. It provides both Canadian and worldwide coverage of mainstream and academic periodicals, as well as 80 business journals. It includes some full-text titles. Coverage: 1980-

Includes Canadian E-books.

Canadiana Online identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials.

Monographs - spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. With a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of Canada. 

Serials - includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines

Government Publications - includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.

Canadiana Online is projected to digitalize the entire CIHM collection by the end of 2018.

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. It is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library.

A digital repository of over 40 million scholarly articles covering every academic discipline.

Includes Canadian E-books.

This is a subject index which brings together newspaper and magazine articles on Thunder Bay and northwestern Ontario. This index includes more than 50,000 headlines over the past 16+ years.