- Library
- Research Guides
- Indigenous Learning - Residential Schools History / Indigenous Education Pedagogy
- INAC RG 10 & Annual Reports
Indigenous Learning - Residential Schools History / Indigenous Education Pedagogy
- Journal Articles/Newspaper Articles/Indexes
- INAC RG 10 & Annual Reports
- Government Info/Data - includes Truth & Reconciliation Commission & Royal Commision on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP)
- Métis Experience
- Indigenous Education - Chronology
- Residential Schools - Shingwauk Project & Related Websites
- Teaching Indigenous History - Curriculum Support
- Images
- Film / Videos - Residential School Experiences
- Raising Awareness - Legacy of Hope Foundation
- Cite your Sources
- Lakehead University - History of Indigenous Education
Online Index to RG 10 - Residential School files
- Library and Archives CanadaYou can search this index to identify records pertaining to residential schools. The records are original, primary documents, created by the Department of Indigenous Affairs.
This online index provides access for searching INAC records. Some of the Residential School records are available online in PDF format. In addition to the online records, Lakehead University Library has 1,300+ reels of microfilm of this collection. Located on the 5th floor in room LI 5007.
RG 10 - Residential Schools Tutorial
RG 10 - Historical records created by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada (& its predecessors)
Short tutorial.
Online access to INAC Annual Reports
- Indian Affairs Annual Reports 1864 -1990The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created in 1966. The Indian Affairs Annual Reports (1864-1990) collection contains the complete annual reports for the department from 1967 to 1990. The Indian Affairs Annual Reports collection also contains the annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966.
INAC Annual Report - Sessional Papers
To find the Government of Canada Sessional Papers (contain INAC Annual Reports):
- Sessional Papers are reports and papers which have been tabled in the House of Commons (and sometimes the Senate) and deposited with the Clerk.
- Print copies are located at: J 103 H6 Chancellor Paterson Library 5th floor (hallway outside Northern Studies Centre)
- Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada 1867-1924 include reports of departments, commissiions and business institutions, statistics, foreign affairs documents, maps and other documents of historical significance.
- Since 1930, all sessional papers, including department annual reports, have been published individually under separate cover.
Indian Affairs Annual Reports (1864-1990)
- Indian Affairs Annual ReportsBefore 1966, different departments were responsible for the portfolios of Indian Affairs and Northern Affairs.
The departments responsible for Indian Affairs were (in chronological order):
The Department of the Secretary of State of Canada (to 1869)
The Department of the Secretary of State for the Provinces (1869-1873)
The Department of the Interior (1873-1880)
The Department of Indian Affairs (1880-1936)
The Department of Mines and Resources (1936-1950)
The Department of Citizenship and Immigration (1950-1965)
The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources (1966)
The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (1966-2010)
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (2011-2015)
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (2015-2017)
Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) & Crown Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) (2017-)
Changes in name often reflect the election of new governments and their approaches to Indigenous and Northern affairs, as well as changing perspectives on nationally and internationally accepted terms in reference to Indigenous people.