- Library
- Research Guides
- Sole Practice Guide
- Starting a Firm
Sole Practice Guide
Helpful books
Free Databases
Even after you graduate, you can still find free databases via the Lakehead catalog. Go to the library page, and from the "All Database Types" drop-down, pick "Free"!
- CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
- e-Laws This link opens in a new windowe-Laws provides access to official copies of Ontario’s statutes and regulations.
- EcoLex This link opens in a new windowECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP.
It includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided. - FPIC.INFO (Free, Prior and Informed Consent) This link opens in a new windowWWW.FPIC.INFO is a free resource that aims to promote good knowledge of Indigenous Rights, especially the right to Free, Prior and Informed Consent, into the hands of researchers, Indigenous communities, and other indigenous allies. This includes articles, toolkits, videos, voice messages, and community stories about FPIC and Consultation.
- JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
- Justice Laws Website This link opens in a new windowThe online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
Subject Headings
Did you know?
To help promote the Bora Laskin Faculty of Law's mandates, the library has made finding topical books easier. One way to find related titles is to use subject headings in your library catalogue searches.
Go to the "advanced search" option on Omni and pick "Subject" from the drop-down menu reading "Any field".
Type "Sole Practice with the integrated practice curriculum (IPC)" (note: typing "sole practice" will also get you there.)
Hit "search" and click on the result. You will find a list of all relevant books held in the law library!!!
In addition, you can browse the library shelves and look for the books with an "S" sticker on the spine.
Law Society Pages
- Law Society of OntarioLSO guide for opening your own law practice.
- Law Society of SaskatchewanNew Solo/ Small Firm Start-up page from the LSS.
- Law Society of AlbertaLaw Firm Start-Up Kit from LSA
- Law Society of British ColombiaPractice Resource: Opening Your Law Office
- Nova Scotia Barristers' SocietyGuide to opening a new law firm (inc sole practice)
- FOLA Practice ResourcesFederation of Ontario Law Associations page or resources for opening & operating a practice.
Articles & Opinions
Podcasts
- The Lawyerist"The Lawyerist Podcast is a show about the future of lawyering and law practice hosted by the Lawyerist team." See: #382: "Is Going Solo the Right Way?" with Carolyn Elefant
- New Solo by the Legal Talk Network"New Solo covers a diverse range of topics including transitioning from a law firm to a solo practice, rainmaking, law practice management, networking, job searching, technology, and much more."