Librarian
Trudy Russo
Contact:
Please contact me by email, trusso@lakeheadu.ca or please book a research consultation. Research consultations will be held over Zoom software. Thank you.
Can't find the book or article you are looking for in our collection?
Use RACER, our free interlibrary loan system to request a document from another library across Canada. It's easy to do, just sign up for a free account.
Any questions? Contact ILL at 807-343-8010 x8135 or email docdelivery@lakeheadu.ca.
Key Article Databases
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window(Proquest) Covers current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, community development and related areas. Coverage: 1979-
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window(Proquest) Includes references to periodicals, books, monographs, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials from world literature on psychology and the behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1806-
- Proquest Search (Searches multiple Proquest databases at the same time)Includes over 20 databases in a variety of subjects including business, nursing, psychology, sociology, education, political science, etc.
Includes Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-
Other Databases
- Nursing & Allied Health Database(Proquest) This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- PubMedCovers over 3,000 of the world’s leading biomedical journals and periodicals, providing bibliographic citations and authors’ abstracts relating to all aspects of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1947-
- PILOTS - Published International Literature On Traumatic StressThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
- ProQuest Sociology(Proquest) This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Coverage: works published from the 16th century to the present.
- Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Canadian E-books.
- Conference Board of Canada: e-Data This link opens in a new windowEconomic intelligence on Canada, the Provinces, Metropolitan areas and the United States.
- Conference Board of Canada: e-Library This link opens in a new windowContains over 2000 research documents on economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window(Proquest) Database of full-text articles from more than 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window(Proquest) International literature in Sociology. Index coverage: 1952- , full-text coverage varies.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTORJSTOR includes full-text content of more than 1,400 academic journals, as well as thousands of primary sources.
- Sage Journals OnlineA collection of over 500 full-text journals in the Social Sciences and the Humanities.
- Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new windowA digital repository of over 40 million scholarly articles covering every academic discipline.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)(Gale) Is a searchable database of academic and scholarly journals. It contains more than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text.
- Proquest Search (Proquest)Includes over 20 databases in a variety of subjects including business, nursing, psychology, sociology, education, political science, etc.
- Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Canadian E-books.
- Multidisciplinary databasesLibGuide listing a variety of multidisciplinary databases covering a broad range of disciplines.
Index/Databases for Newspaper Articles
- Gateway to Northwestern Ontario History [includes Thunder Bay District News Index] This link opens in a new windowThis is a subject index which brings together newspaper and magazine articles on Thunder Bay and northwestern Ontario. This index includes more than 50,000 headlines over the past 16+ years.