Research Guides: E-Books: Home

E-book Packages available in the Library

Books@OVID

Includes hundreds of full-text medical books.
Books@ Scholars Portal - See Scholars Portal Books
Includes almost 70,000 commerciale e-books and over 280,000 open access titles.
Britannica eBook K-12 Collection
This K-12 ebook database provides access to 1,400 Britannica ebook titles from 40 popular Britannica series/collections. This database can be searched by keyword, grade and reading levels. It covers 39 specific subjects that are included in Kindergarten to Grade 12 curriculum from the areas of science, social studies, and language arts.
Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books)

Includes Canadian E-books.
Canadian University Presses (ACUP)

Collection of several hundred e-books from Canadian University Presses.
e-Book Collection (Ebsco)

Over 10,000 e-books.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Education Source

Education Source includes the full-text for more than 1,900 English language journals, and provides indexing for nearly 3,500 journals with coverage dating back to 1929. Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Information on all educational specialties is included as well as all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Education Source also includes access to books and education conference proceedings.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Elgaronline Collections

A collection of close to 1000 e-boooks on law, public policy, geography, sociology etc.
IEEE/Xplore
A collection of over 400 e-books in Engineering, Robotics and Communications
JSTOR

Full-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. Includes over 500 open access e-books.
Oxford Academic - Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
Cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,200 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion
ProQuest Ebook Central

Collection of e-books from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, and Taylor & Francis.
Springer Nature LINK E-books
Collection of over 15,000 e-books in many different subject areas
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science

Information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. Lakehead has access to Collections 1 and 2.
TeenBook Cloud (formerly TumbleBookCloud)
TumbleBookCloud is a collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: E-books, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic!), and Audio Books suitable for middle school and high school grades. Lesson plans and quizzes accompany the books.
Tumblebook Library
The TumblebookLibrary is a collection of electronic animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles for children. The Tumblebook collection includes read alongs (chapter books) ebooks, puzzles and games and TumbleResources for teachers and students.
UPSO (University Press Scholarship Online)
Over 2600 e-books from University Presses. They include: Oxford University Press, University of California Press, Edinburgh University Press, Policy Press (University of Bristol), University Press of Florida, University Press of Kentucky, Fordham University Press, American University in Cairo Press, Hong Kong University Press, and Manchester University Press

Putting a Hold on an Ebsco e-book

Did you know that you can put a hold on an Ebsco e-book?

If you are looking for an e-book from Ebsco (formerly NetLibrary) and the book is currently being used, you can put a hold on the e-book.

How do you do that?

First you will need to create a free username and password by clicking on the Sign in link at the top of the page.

Click on Create a new Account and fill out the form.

Then click on the link to the e-book and a new window will open indicating that the e-book is in use.

Click on the sign-in option and put a hold on the e-book.