Helpful Books
Not sure where to start?
Try searching using these phrases:
- Family Violence
- Abused Women
- Women Crimes Against
Legal Citation
Canadian guide to uniform legal citationPublication Date: 2023
Background Information
Gender and International Law by Four-volume collection from Routledge's Critical Concepts in Law series: Vol 1 'Defining Gender and International Law'; Vol II 'Doing Gender and International Law: Actors and Institutions'; Vol III 'Key Legal Themes in Gender and International Law'; Vol 4 'Critical Movements and Emerging Issues in Gender and International Law'.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society2009 RUSA Outstanding Reference CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by The 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life.
Domestic violence in aboriginal communities : reference manual by Publication Date: 1991
Select List of Journals
Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature in Sociology Index Coverage: 1952- and full text coverage varies.
- Sociology Database (Formerly ProQuest Sociology) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
- Lexis+ Canada - for Law Students only (formerly Lexis Advance Quicklaw) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis upgraded legal database for Canada with comprehensive primary and secondary sources. Includes access to Practical Guidance.
All new Law Students will need to register for this product. - Westlaw Edge (Law Students Only) This link opens in a new window
Database of Canadian Law and legal research.
Law Students will need to register for this product. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
An online research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
Includes coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals, Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more. - Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Coverage: 1980-
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Includes references to periodicals, books, monographs, reports, dissertations, and other materials from world literature on psychology and the behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1806 -
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-
Other Resources
- JuristatProvides in-depth analysis and detailed statistics on a variety of topics and issues related to justice and public safety. Topics include crime, victimization, homicide, civil, family and criminal courts, and correctional services. Issues related to community safety, and perceptions of safety are also covered.
- Gender-Based ViolenceLearn about the federal strategy It’s Time: Canada’s Strategy to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence and access information, resources and research related to gender-based violence.