Covidence

Importing References into Covidence

You can import references into Covidence by clicking on the Import Studies tool from your Review Summary page. Here you can select the file and the category (which is the stage or step of the review process) that the references will appear in.  Covidence currently supports three formats for file imports:

• EndNote XML
• PubMed text format
• RIS text format

You can import an unlimited number of references into Covidence. If your file contains more than 15,000 references, split it into batches of 15,000 or fewer. Additionally, files can be up to 50 MB in size; larger files may take longer to upload and process. Only one file can be imported at a time, but there is no limit to how many imports you can perform. Covidence automatically deduplicates references.

Databases:

Ebsco Databases (including CINAHL)

1. Complete your search and filter your results as needed.
2. Click ‘Share’ >> click ‘Email results: E-mail a link to download exported results’
3. Type in your email address >> click ‘RIS Format’ >> ‘Send’

Embase

1. Complete your search and filter your results as needed.
2. Select "number of items" right below Results and select the number of results you would like to see.
3. Click Export to open the Export Data pop-up.
4. Select RIS (for Mendeley/Endnote users)
5. Click Export

Ovid Databases (including Medline and EBM Reviews)

1. Complete your search and filter your results as needed.
2. Select ‘All’ >> ‘Export’
3. Select Format ‘RIS’ >> Fields ‘Complete reference’ >> ‘Right click on the collection you want to export >> ‘Export collection’ ’

ProQuest Databases (including PsycINFO)

1. Complete your search and filter your results as needed.
2. Show 100 references per page. Note that no more than 100 records can be exported at a time so it might be necessary to export in several batches.
3. Click ‘Select 1-100’
4. Click the “...” button >> ‘RIS’
5. Select ‘Content: Citation, abstract, indexing, PDF link’ >> ‘Continue’

PubMed

1. Complete your search and filter your results as needed.
2. Click on Save.
3.  Select Format >> PubMed >> Create file

Web of Science

1. Complete your search and filter your results as needed.
2. Click ‘Export’ >> ‘RIS (other reference software)’
3. Select ‘Records from: 1 to xx.’ Note that no more than 1,000 records can be exported at a time so it might be necessary to export in several batches.
4. Select ‘Record content: Full record’ >> ‘Export’

Zotero

1. Right click on the collection you want to export >> ‘Export collection’ 
2.  Select ‘RIS’ or ‘EndNote XML’ >> ‘OK’