Intermediate Senior Technological Education

"Achieving Indigenous Student Success presents goals and strategies needed to support Indigenous learners in the classroom. This book is for all teachers, grade 9 to grade 12, who have Indigenous students in their classrooms or who are looking for ways to infuse an Indigenous worldview into their curriculum. Although the author's primary focus is the needs of Indigenous students, the ideas are best practices that can be applied in classroom-management techniques, assessment tools, suggestions for connecting to the Indigenous community, and much more! The strategies and information in this resource are about building bridges between cultures that foster respect, appreciation, and understanding."-- Provided by publisher

Kohn shows how a fundamentally cynical view of children underlies the belief that we must tell them exactly how we expect them to behave and then offer "positive reinforcement" when they obey. Just as memorizing someone else's right answers fails to promote students' intellectual development, so does complying with someone else's expectations for how to act fail to help students develop socially or morally. Kohn contrasts the idea of discipline, in which things are done to students to control their behaviour, with an approach in which we work with students to create caring communities where decisions are made together. Beyond Discipline has earned the status of an education classic, a vital alternative to all the traditional manuals that consist of techniques for imposing control. For this 10th anniversary edition, Kohn adds a new afterword that expands on the book's central themes and responds to questions from readers. Packed with stories from real classrooms around the country, seasoned with humor and grounded in a vision as practical as it is optimistic, Beyond Discipline shows how students are most likely to flourish in schools that have moved toward collaborative problem solving - and beyond discipline.

This book is one of a set of eight innovative yet practical resource books for teachers, focussing on the classroom and covering vital skills for primary and secondary teachers. The books are strongly influenced by the findings of numerous research projects during which hundreds of teachers were observed at work. The first editions of the series were best sellers, and these revised second editions of the series will be equally welcomed by teachers eager to improve their teaching skills. Successful secondary teachers operate in many different ways, but they have one thing in common - an ability to manage their classrooms effectively. Without the skills required to do this, the most inspiring and knowledgeable teacher will fail. In Class Management in the Secondary School, Ted Wragg helps teachers to clarify their own aims and to find the strategies which will work for them. Topics covered include: *first encounters *the establishment of rules *relationships *management of time and space *specific discipline problems There are certain skills that teachers possess that are of paramount importance - class management is one of those areas. Effective classroom management can be the single most influential factor in getting it right and is a core teaching skill that both trainee and experienced teachers should constantly be improving on.

Improve student behavior and motivation with this comprehensive resource Discipline in the Secondary Classroom: A Positive Approach to Behavior Management, 4th Edition is an insightful treatment of the always-challenging topic of discipline in the high school classroom. The newly revised edition of the book incorporates a renewed focus on classroom management plans, handling the use and misuse of electronic devices in the classroom, and adapting instruction for a virtual classroom setting. Discipline in the Secondary Classroom discusses other issues crucial to the successful management of secondary classrooms.

Learning to teach may sound easy enough but the reality involves hard work and careful preparation. To become an effective teacher requires subject knowledge, an understanding of your pupils and the confidence to respond to dynamic classroom situations. This highly practical text is a revised edition of the very successful first two editions. With even more useful strategies and ideas, Learning to Teach in the Secondary School covers the whole spectrum of situations and potential problems faced by training and newly qualified teachers.

More than seventy per cent of newly qualified secondary teachers feel that their initial teacher training courses have not really prepared them for all aspects of their role, and they feel they receive very little by way of an induction programme. A much sought-after resource aimed specifically at student and newly qualified teachers, this guide tackles the issues which new teachers find difficult.

This book presents a blunt, truthful account of what it is like to be a teacher in a difficult school faced with defiance, aggression and verbal and physical abuse. It offers a view of teaching which is not cynical, but rooted in clear educational values, and although it takes account of the worst possible circumstances, it provides an enthusiastic positive path to survival. Focusing on the secondary school, but intended for all class teachers, it offers sensible, practical advice on what to do to survive and succeed in the face of difficulty.

Transformative Classroom Management The natural condition of any classroom is harmonious, satisfying, and productive, so why do so many teachers struggle with problems of apathy, hostility, anxiety, inefficiency, and resistance? In this groundbreaking book, education expert John Shindler presents a powerful model, Transformative Classroom Management (TCM), that can be implemented by any teacher to restore the natural positive feelings in his or her classroom--the love of learning, collaboration, inspiration, and giving--and create a productive learning environment in which all students can achieve. Unlike other classroom management systems that view problems as something to be "handled," TCM offers suggestions for creating optimal conditions for learning, performance, motivation, and growth. This practical book shows teachers how to abandon ineffective short-term gimmicks, bribes, and punishments and adopt the proven management practices and new habits of mind that will transform their classrooms.

Lesson planning and preparation is one of the most important aspects of teaching. It is also one of the hardest aspects to learn. Student teachers, for example, often find it difficult to gauge how to pitch or pace a lesson. This book provides solutions. It not only provides easily understood practical ideas but also sets them in a coherent overall framework based on the ideas that planning and preparation are part of a total cyclical process involving pedagogy, curriculum, learning and assessment. Planning and preparation are personal matters related to an individual teacher but this does not mean that teachers cannot learn from each other or that thinking about planning and preparation is arbitrary. Coverage includes often neglected areas such as the affective curriculum, language across the curriculum, and homework.

Learning with technology doesn’t happen because a specific tool “revolutionizes” education. It happens when proven teaching strategies intersect with technology tools, and yet it’s not uncommon for teachers to use a tool because it’s “fun” or because the developer promises it will help students learn. Learning First, Technology Second offers teachers the professional learning they need to move from arbitrary uses of technology in their classrooms to thoughtful ways of adding value to student learning. This book includes: An introduction to the Triple E Framework that helps teachers engage students in time-on-task learning, enhance learning experiences beyond traditional means and extend learning opportunities to bridge classroom learning with students’ everyday lives. Effective strategies for using technology to create authentic learning experiences for their students. Case studies to guide appropriate tech integration. A lesson planning template to show teachers how to effectively frame technology choices and apply them in instruction.

Guide to teaching and creating lesson plans Covers four types of instructional design Useful for teachers with all levels of experience  Have you ever wondered how to maximize your lesson plans? Do you want to get the most out of every minute that you teach? Powerful Lesson Planning: Every Teacher's Guide to Effective Instruction will help you accomplish those goals. This book includes summaries of basic instructional design, integrated instructional design, differentiated instructional design, and problem-based learning instructional design. It shares different teaching strategies and is especially helpful for beginner teachers.  This guide emphasizes the decisions that teachers make as they plan lessons and classes. It includes descriptive information, tools, and several examples to help every teacher make their lesson plans well.

The easy-to-follow guide leads you through the steps for developing lesson plans that link instruction with student learning. This step-by-step guide exposes seven diverse types of links from pre-planning through summative assessment. They are: Reflections on how-to develop, change, or improve your practice Pre-planning links that connect prior student achievement, standards, and objectives Lesson plan links that connect three types of assessments and learning activities Grade book links that connect assessment and activities to objectives and standards Professional learning extensions that expand your professional knowledge An On-Going support plan that provides a “Plan B” option A self-assessment that links instruction with student outcomes

100 Ideas for Early Years Practitioners: Observation, Assessment & Planning is not only filled with easy to implement and practical ideas for the early years classroom, but it also demonstrates why assessment is an important formative tool to help further children's learning. In this book, early years expert and experienced author Marianne Sargent explains the cycle of observation, assessment and planning with advice on how to carry out different types of observation, guidance on how to make effective use of observations to assess children's knowledge and understanding, and explanations for how to use this information to inform future planning. The book also offers ideas on how to carry out summative assessments - as well as how to organise assessment information for reporting purposes.

Formative assessment is one of the best ways to increase student learning and enhance teacher quality. But effective formative assessment is not part of most classrooms, largely because teachers misunderstand what it is and don't have the necessary skills to implement it. In the updated 2nd edition of this practical guide for school leaders, authors Connie M. Moss and Susan M. Brookhart define formative assessment as an active, continual process in which teachers and students work together--every day, every minute--to gather evidence of learning, always keeping in mind three guiding questions: Where am I going? Where am I now? What strategy or strategies can help me get to where I need to go? Chapters focus on the six interrelated elements of formative assessment: (1) shared learning targets and criteria for success, (2) feedback that feeds learning forward, (3) student self-assessment and peer assessment, (4) student goal setting, (5) strategic teacher questioning, and (6) student engagement in asking effective questions. Using specific examples based on their extensive work with teachers, the authors provide - Strategic talking points and conversation starters to address common misconceptions about formative assessment; - Practical classroom strategies to share with teachers that cultivate students as self-regulated, assessment-capable learners; - Ways to model the elements of formative assessment in conversations with teachers about their professional learning; - "What if" scenarios and advice for how to deal with them; and - Questions for reflection to gauge understanding and progress. As Moss and Brookhart emphasize, the goal is not to "do" formative assessment, but to embrace a major cultural change that moves away from teacher-led instruction to a partnership of intentional inquiry between student and teacher, with better teaching and learning as the outcome.

This book covers the reason why teachers should assess in an ongoing fashion. It also provides a clear structure for designing and analyzing meaningful formative assessments. In addition, it guides the teacher in the development of differentiated activities for every level of student based on the results of the assessment and includes the thought process that goes into that development.

Part of The New Art and Science of Teaching series Shift to a new paradigm of classroom assessment that is more accurate, meaningful, and authentic. The New Art and Science of Classroom Assessment explores the inadequacies of traditional assessment methods and details how to use classroom assessment to its full potential. Step by step, the authors outline a clear path for transitioning to more holistic assessment methods that truly reflect course curriculum and student progress. Learn how you can develop authentic assessment for learning in the classroom: Explore a new perspective on effective assessment for learning, including classroom, interim, and year-end assessments (from formative assessment to summative assessment). Learn how to create a curriculum that provides clear guidance as to what should be assessed. Acquire strategies for assessing four general types of skills: (1) cognitive skills, (2) knowledge-application skills, (3) metacognitive skills, and (4) general behavior skills. Develop expertise with classroom assessment tools, such as the types of declarative content, selected response items, and short constructed response questions. Download free reproducible tables and checklists to assist in implementing new methods of assessment design.

The main feature of an outstanding lesson is that all students make progress. Taking the structure of a lesson as the starting point, this book demonstrates how assessment for learning can be used to enhance and support all aspects of the learning process. Including chapters on embedding assessment during each phase of the lesson, using assessment data to inform planning, questioning techniques and feedback, the book will help you to use assessment effectively to produce outstanding results.