Not sure where to start? Try some of the following phrases in Credo, OMNI, or other search tools:
"Critical theories"
legal theory
law + systemic
critical legal studies
Librarian
What are Critical Legal Theories?
Critical legal theories are branches of jurisprudential study (think: a way to interpret) on how the law reflects and supports social and structural inequalities.
Select eBooks
Research Handbook on Critical Legal Theory by Critical theory encapsulates the many connections between theory and praxis. The Research Handbook initially addresses the question of definition, tracking the origins and development of critical legal theory along its European and North American trajectories. Thematic connections are made between the development of legal theory and other currents of critical thought including feminism, Marxism, critical race theory, varieties of postmodernism, and more.
Jurisprudence As Ideology by In Jurisprudence as Ideology, Valerie Kerruish asks how it is that people who are put down, let down and kept down by law can be thought to have a general political obligation to obey it. She engages with contemporary issues in socialist, feminist and critical legal theory, and links these issues to debates in jurisprudence and the philosophy and sociology of law.
Databases
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline has a large collection of journals on a wide variety of topics, as well as many subject-specific collections including Civil Rights and Social Justice, the LGBTQ+ Rights Database, Women and the Law, and Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
- Lexis+ Canada - for Law Students only (formerly Lexis Advance Quicklaw) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis upgraded legal database for Canada with comprehensive primary and secondary sources. Includes access to Practical Guidance.
All new Law Students will need to register for this product. - Lexis Advance Quicklaw Plus (For all students) This link opens in a new window
Full Text Legal database with access to over 150 Canadian legal textbooks.
- Westlaw Edge (Law Students Only) This link opens in a new window
Database of Canadian Law and legal research.
Law Students will need to register for this product.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. Includes over 500 open access e-books.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 e-books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Subjects include: Business, Communication, Counseling & Psychotherapy Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Environment, Family Studies, Gender & Sexuality, Geography, Health & Social Welfare, History Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Public Policy & Public Administration, Research Methods and Evaluation, Social Issues, Social Work Coverage: 2008-2014