Indigenous Education K-12

Call of the Fiddle completes the trilogy of a young boy as he embraces his Métis heritage and carries on his family’s traditions. Wilfred Burton and Anne Patton capture Batoche’s history and significance with their words, while Sherry Farrell Racette brings the land and Métis culture to life with her vibrant illustrations. Join Nolin one last time as he hears the rollicking rhythm of the “Red River Jig,” learns of tearful memories, and experiences the excitement of jigging at Batoche! Publisher's description

Dancing in My Bones, the sequel to the highly successful book Fiddle Dancer, returns us to the story of a young Métis boy named Nolin as he continues to discover his Métis heritage. Lovingly written by Wilfred Burton and Anne Patton and vividly illustrated by Sherry Farrell Racette, Dancing in My Bones will take you on a journey to discover Moushoom’s first moose hunt, red lipstick kisses, Uncle Bunny’s fiddling, and the return of the “Bannock Jig.” But most importantly, by the end of the story, you might feel like you have dancing in your bones! Publisher's description.

The Ojibwa people strongly believe in the myths and legends that make up their spiritual and cultural life. A significant part of the Ojibwa's spiritual life is the dreamcatcher. Although the exact genesis of this intriguing artifact is unknown, there are many beautiful and lyrical legends that reflect the dreamcatcher's beginnings. The dreamcatcher is a web-like structure built into a circular frame. Beauty is derived in the dreamcatcher through the symmetry of natural accents. The frame is often made from fresh tender wood that is bent to form a hoop or circle into which a web is then woven. The web is often made of deer sinew or colored thread. Often the webs are 'spun' with a hole in the center and decorated with stones or feathers or other natural materials. The Ojibwa believe that the dreamcatcher will serve throughout one's life as an invitation for good dreams to come to rest with the sleeper, as well as the fortification against nightmares and evil spirits. The good dreams flow through the web and into the dreamer, while the bad dreams and evil spirits are caught in the strands of the web and never reach the dreamer. One of the Ojibwa legends about the creation of the dreamcatcher suggests that the dreamcatcher was a gift from a spider to the Ojibwa people, in return for a favor an Ojibwa once did for the spider. This theme, among many others, is carried throughout this gorgeously illustrated book that charts the development of this living legend through the combination of photography and text. The Ojibwa of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River Regions share a related history with many of their sister Algonquin tribes who can be found throughout the United States and Canada. The Ojibwa have introduced the dreamcatcher and its legends to the rest of the world as a living artifact of Native culture. Throughout history, the interaction between Ojibwa and other Native tribes has taught European settlers about the elusive boundary between the spiritual world, that is the world of consciousness and the world of dreams. Featured are more than 30 color photographs of contemporary dreamcatchers created by Native people with informative captions that identify and comment on the different patterns and their significance.

When he is gifted a handmade drum by his mother, Ren learns the teachings of the drum that she also passes down to him. Ren discovers that through this special drum, he is able to connect to his culture and find a confidence in his voice to joyfully share in singing the traditional songs of his Nuu-chah-nulth Nation.

"Out of respect for the elders and Anishinaabe people please understand that this drum is a craft and souvenir. It is in no way intended to replicate or represent the drums used by the Anishinaabe People for spiritual purposes and ceremonies."--Page 10. The Drum Story is a very ancient Anishinaabe Ojibwe story that teaches us to live well and properly with mother earth, and to respect our cherished elders, and each other.--Page 10

The book includes a brief introduction of Falcon Migwans and explains how he was gifted this account. He clearly indicates there are other versions of this origin story and he is only telling this account for the general public. He provides some background about smudging, fasting, and feasting the drum. The 65-page book includes a short introduction about the Ojibwe language, Manitoulin Island, and the national anthem, O Canada, in the Ojibwe language. The important role of women is evident in this origin story about the Anishinaabe drum.--GoodMinds.com.

"The Drum Story, as with all of The IPP and Canoe Kids programs, provides opportunities to enrich teaching and learning through indigenous cultural content – through culture, learning about people, history, diversity and discrimination, equity, respect for the environment, etc. can also take place. The Drum Story Teaching Guide also provides suggestions for critical and creative thinking exercises to reinforce comprehension and suggest ways for students to communicate that understanding (though written descriptions and drawings, as well as class discussions and storytelling, arts and crafts etc." "The Drum Story program can be adapted to suit all classroom and student needs. The following program teaching guide was designed to give teachers flexibility in delivering The Drum Story program – teachers are encouraged to choose how best to run this program reflecting student expectations and abilities, and levels of differentiated instruction. Teachers may choose to use the teaching/learning activities provided or use the activities as a guide in designing comparable teaching/learning tasks."--Page [2]

The Drum Story Teachers Guide provides focus points and areas of clarification. This guide will assist teachers in providing a basic but accurate representation of the culture and a very important story that is particularly relevant today. The activity booklet provides a fun and fast paced teaching opportunity that includes graphics and presentation materials including colouring, mazes, language and cultural methodologies too.---

Text and CD narration in English and Michif-Cree.
Accompanied by a CD in pocket of cover.
"While spending time with his grandfather Nolin discovers his Métis heritage and the importance that Elders have as role models. He conquers a childs apprehension at learning new things and forms a special bond with his grandparents."--Publisher's description.

The traditional story of the Ojibwe story of the life cycle told in English and Ojibwemowin. Our lives are in four stages, or hills, each represented by a season--babies (spring), youth (summer), adulthood (fall) and elders (winter). Each hill has its own challenges, as well responsibilities. To live out all the hills is one of the Creator's greatest gifts"--Provided by publisher.

"Our Anishinaabe Ancestors passed Adizookaanan, our legends, down for thousands of years, filling the long winter nights with our oral histories, philosophies, and ceremonies. Ajijaak is one of our many ancient stories that our Ancestors have gifted us. Teachings of the animals, the stars, the Clan structures, and the four elements are brought to life through Ajijaak."-- Provided by publisher.

Inuit games have been played as long as anyone can remember!Learn all about Inuit games and why they are important for staying healthy and strong for life in the Arctic.

Jenneli is a young girl who feels that she is nothing special until she learns about the Métis Red River Jig from Grandma Lucee. One day Grandma Lucee enters Jenneli into the jigging contest, and Jenneli is both horrified and excited. With Grandma Lucee's love and support, Jenneli places her doubts and fears aside to dance in the contest.

New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith's lyrical text is paired with the warm, evocative watercolors of Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu in this affirming story of a contemporary Native American girl who turns to her family and community. The cone-shaped jingles sewn to Grandma Wolfe's dress sing tink, tink, tink, tink... Jenna loves the tradition of jingle dancing that has been shared over generations in her family and intertribal community. She hopes to dance at the next powwow. But with the day quickly approaching, she has a problem--how will her dress sing if it has no jingles? A terrific read-aloud pick, perfect to share with a family member! In partnership with We Need Diverse Books

"A young Indigenous girl moves to the big city and learns to find connections to her culture and the land wherever she goes, despite encountering bullies and feelings of isolation along the way. When Little Wolf moves to the big city with her mom and sister, she has difficulty adjusting to their new life. She misses living close to nature and seeing animals wherever she goes, and she misses fishing with her grandfather and seeing dolphins leaping beside their boat. Most of all, she misses feeling connected to her culture. At school, Little Wolf has trouble fitting in. Although her class has kids from many different cultures, no one is Heiltsuk, like her. The other kids call her names and make her feel unwelcome. Her only defence is to howl like a wolf so they run away. But this only isolates her further. Gradually, Little Wolf starts to see the beauty in her new surroundings. She discovers that there is wildlife everywhere, even in the big city. An otter swims beside her as she walks on the seawall. A chickadee chirps in a tree in the big park near her house. And her mother helps her stay connected to their culture by signing them up for beading and dance classes. Despite the difficult start, Little Wolf grows up proud of her background and ready to face the future. This inspiring tale, the first in a trilogy, combines traditional and contemporary Indigenous themes and artwork."-- Provided by publisher.

Powwow is a celebration of Indigenous song and dance. Journey through the history of powwow culture in North America, from its origins to the thriving powwow culture of today. As a lifelong competitive powwow dancer, Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane is a guide to the protocols, regalia, songs, dances and even food you can find at powwows from coast to coast, as well as the important role they play in Indigenous culture and reconciliation.

When Siha Tooskin--Paul Wahasaypa--finds himself not feeling at all well he learns that there are answers for him from the healing practices of his own people and from Western medicine. Pay a hospital visit to Paul as he learns more about where "modern medicine" really comes from and how we can all benefit from Indigenous and Western healers as Paul seeks the best medicine for his own wellness. The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

A new baby due any day AND a visit from his grandparents! Siha Tooskin (Paul) takes his expert bike riding to a whole new level to make sure he doesn't miss a thing. At home, Mugoshin (Grandmother) is creating a very special gift to protect the precious little one. Join Paul as he enjoys delicious bannock, imagines the future of a new baby sister, and listens to Mugoshin's teachings about the catcher of dreams. The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

Transportation, housing, agriculture, communications...there are so many modern conveniences. But are they really modern? Where did they really come from? Paul Wahasaypa--Siha Tooskin--will learn about their origins and more on his walk home from school with Ade (his father). There's so much to learn about the earliest forms of technology, travel, medicine, and food from right here on Turtle Island. Come along with Paul and Ade to hear all about the gifts of his people. The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

Paul Wahasaypa--Siha Tooskin--knows that whether we are taking berries or plants from the earth or knowledge from a learned person it is so important to offer a gift back to show honour and appreciation. Join Paul and his teacher Mrs. Baxter to find out what they discover about the protocol of offering the tobacco plant.  The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

Paul Wahasaypa--Siha Tooskin--can find eagle feathers in Ade's truck, on the dream catcher above his bed, on his Uncle Lenard's bustle, and in with the smudge bowls in all of his relatives' homes. Paul already knows that the eagle is important because of the way that his family respects and cares for eagle feathers. Now he's old enough for the teachings of where the feathers come from and why they are so sacred. Walk with Paul and Mitoshin (his grandfather) so you too will understand the teaching of the sacred eagle feather. The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

Where can you find strength when someone disrespects you? And what does having strength really mean? Paul Wahasaypa--Siha Tooskin--has learned from Ena (his mom) and Ade (his dad) to maintain a strong mind, heart, and spirit. Though starting at a new school can be hard, especially when the kids there have never experienced the values and culture of the Nakota people. Join Paul as Mitoshin (his grandfather) helps remind him how strength of character can be found in the strength of his hair. The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

As they await the birth of a new foal, a man teaches his grandchild about the Ojibwe Horses that used to roam the forests of northwestern Ontario. The horses once ran wild and free, but when Grandfather was a boy, they almost disappeared. Now he is the caretaker of his own small herd, keeping the breed alive for future generations and teaching his grandchild about the loving bond between human and animals.

Rooted in Indigenous teachings, this stunning picture book encourages readers of all ages to consider the ways in which they live in connection to the world around them and to think deeply about their behaviors. Addressing environmental issues, animal welfare, self-esteem and self-respect, and the importance of community, the authors deliver a poignant and universal message in an accessible way: Be a good ancestor to the world around you. Thought-provoking stanzas offer a call to action for each one of us to consider how we affect future generations. Every decision we make ripples out, and we can affect the world around us by thinking deeply about those decisions.

A touching and thoughtful gift for the art lovers in your life. BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, KIRKUS, HORN BOOK, QUILL & QUIRE, GLOBE AND MAIL WINNER OF THE TD CANADIAN CHILDREN'S LITERATURE AWARD FINALIST FOR THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S AWARD AN AMERICAN INDIAN YOUTH LITERATURE HONOR TITLE A BOSTON GLOBE--HORN BOOK HONOR BOOK When Katherena and her mother move to a small town, Katherena feels lonely and out of place. But when she meets an elderly woman artist who lives next door, named Agnes--her world starts to change.  Katherena and Agnes share the same passions for arts and crafts, birds, and nature. But as the seasons change, can Katherna navigate the failing health of her new friend?   Award-winning author and artist Julie Flett's textured images of birds, flowers, art, and landscapes bring vibrancy and warmth to this powerful story, which highlights the fulfillment of intergenerational relationships, shared passions, and spending time outdoors with the ones we love. Includes a glossary and pronunciation guide to Cree words that appear in the text.  "Cree-Métis author/illustrator Julie Flett's smooth and lyrical words and gorgeous... images truly capture the warmth and solidarity of the female protagonists in this tender intergenerational friendship story."--The Horn Book   "Cycling from spring to spring, [Julie Flett's] subtle, sensitive story delicately traces filaments of growth and loss through intergenerational friendship, art making, and changing moons and seasons." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A picture book celebrating Indigenous culture and traditions. The Governor General Award--winning team behind When We Were Alone shares a story that honors our connections to our past and our grandfathers and fathers. A boy and Moshom, his grandpa, take a trip together to visit a place of great meaning to Moshom. A trapline is where people hunt and live off the land, and it was where Moshom grew up. As they embark on their northern journey, the child repeatedly asks his grandfather, "Is this your trapline?" Along the way, the boy finds himself imagining what life was like two generations ago -- a life that appears to be both different from and similar to his life now. This is a heartfelt story about memory, imagination and intergenerational connection that perfectly captures the experience of a young child's wonder as he is introduced to places and stories that hold meaning for his family.

In this beautifully illustrated book, a determined young Anishnaabe girl in search of adventure goes on a transformative journey into a forest on her traditional territory. She is joined by a chorus of her ancestors in red dresses, who tell her they remember what it was like to be carefree and wild, too. Soon, though, the girl is challenged by a monster named Hate, who envelops her in a cloud of darkness. She climbs a mountain to evade the monster, and, with the help of her matriarchs and the power of Thunderbird, the monster is held at bay. Together the young girl and her ancestors beat their drums in song and support, giving the girl the confidence she needs to become a changemaker in the future, capable of fending off any monster in her way. Together We Drum, Our Hearts Beat as One is a moving and powerful book about Indigenous resistance and ancestral connection.

Our Aboriginal Elders tell of a time when animals and humans could speak to each other. When humans became too greedy and killed more animals than they needed for food, the Creator changed that relationship to protect the animals. So the Creator made a Spirit Animal to represent each one and granted them gifts they could give to people. Spirit Animals teach, heal and inspire. Turtle carries North America on its back and symbolizes peace and balance. Bear is called "Grandfather" for its strength, leadership, confidence and courage. Coyote gifted us with fire and knowledge of herbs and food. Wolf taught us to hunt and form communities. This book is a guide, and the meanings of the Spirit Animals featured here are only one interpretation. If you see these Spirit Animals or Totems reflected in your own life, you have received their gift.

Readers include: At home and at school.; What do you share?; What does Mother Earth share? We help each other; I do good things. and Long ago and today. Under One Sun invites Kindergarten–Grade 8 students and teachers to connect with Indigenous history, culture and perspectives. The complete classroom set provides blended resources to support a balanced literacy approach that provides rich opportunities for modelled, shared, guided and independent reading and viewing.

Readers include: Living in harmony; Jaycee's journal; Sharing Mother Earth; Why do we use symbols?; Jordan's new teammates and Elders.

Readers include: Time Travelling; Two Views; Understanding Each Other; What is a Treaty; We are all Treaty People; Visitors come to Turtle Island.

Learn about Circle of Life Sets 1–3 and Sets 4–6 levelled books for guided and independent reading. This collection of narrative and nonfiction books offers unique content that engages students, and deepens appreciation and understanding of Indigenous cultures and traditions. Learn more about the sets here https://youtu.be/f06eKdZqV1o?si=tDBRcrHinkEcXb_j Teacher Resources are available for each grade. Faculty of Education students & instructors check the "Education Passwords" site for login details.

Includes 30 updated lesson plans using the medicine wheel as a guide and organized by Ontario Literacy and Basic Skills levels (LBS).

Did you know that the okra plant and the word "okra" were introduced to the Americas from Africa? Or that "squash" was first a word from the language of the Narragansett tribe of New England? According to etymologists--people who study words, languages, and word histories--many languages grow by adopting words from other languages, or loanwords. American English is a giant stew, simmering with loanwords like "okra" and "squash." In her latest book, Linda Boyden shares an alphabet list of indigenous loanwords from North, South, and Central America that have found their way into common usage either nationally or regionally. "N?n?," for example, is the Hawaiian name for a goose native to the islands and the official state bird. From "abalone" to "zopilote," Boyden celebrates the cultural diversity of American English while her brilliantly colored collage illustrations and simple, direct text reveal the flexibility and adaptability of language to young readers.

This kit contains literature selected to illustrate traditional Ojibwe/Anishinaabe life for students in Grades 3 through 6. Multiple copies of some titles are available for group reading. Click on the title for a complete listing of titles included in this kit.

This kit includes literature for students in Grades 6 to 8 on the residential school experience. Multiple copies of some titles are available for group reading. Click on the title for a complete listing of titles included in this kit.

This kit includes literature for students in Grades 8 to 11 on the aboriginal girls and their search for identity. Multiple copies of some titles are available for group reading. Click on the title for a complete listing of titles included in this kit.

The kit includes literature for students in Grades 8 to 11 on aboriginal leaders including fighters. Multiple copies of some titles are available for group reading. Includes DVDs and audio resources. Click on the title for a complete listing of titles included in this kit.

Uses drama to tell seven different stories from Native American traditions.

Seven-year-old Cedar lives in a big city with her mom and travels to the Georgian Bay area of Ontario to stay with her dad's family on the reserve every summer. She receives some very valuable gifts during her summer visits. This charming and descriptive story teaches the core traditional First Nation cultural values in a contemporary setting. It portrays the strong ties that exist within First Nation families and communities. This book has been formatted in a way that encourages parents, extended family members and care-givers to read aloud with young children for the educational and emotional benefits to all involved. When parents embrace their position as their child's most influential role model and understand the value of reading together, the outcomes are positive and measurable.,There are two different reading levels in this book. Ontario LBS Reading Level 5, in smaller-print text, is intended for the adult to read aloud to the child. Larger-print text in the book is intended for the child to read, it is at a Grade 2 or a LBS Level 2. The content targets 7-10 year olds.
Through this unique reading format, the parent will be able to contribute to the growth of their children and have a much-needed opportunity to bond with them through a literacy experience. (Description from Ningwakwe Learning Press website)

Provides students with a better understanding of how Native Americans measured time.

This workbook will give the reader the ability to further their understanding of measurement from a contemporary and an Anishnaabe view. (From Publisher website).

In this module for grade six, formal mathematics are developed through hands-on activities related to building a fish rack for the salmon harvest.

Dr. Lisa Lunney Borden shares her work in supporting mathematics with the Mi’kmaw community in Nova Scotia, where the graduation rate of Indigenous students is higher than that of the general population. Lisa’s work highlights the importance of “Making Meaningful Personal Connections” to mathematics, including understanding Ways of Learning, Values, Language and Culture. Lisa’s practical examples and stories will support all educators to integrate these perspectives into math learning for all students.

"Offers insights form carvers, elders, artists, and voices from the past on the great cedar canoes-from how supernaturals first have the technology to the Haida, to how carvers find a tree that will eventually become an ocean going vessel, to tips about design and steaming, and how the canoe has influenced everything from food gathering and trade to the Haida language."--Page [4] of cover.

"A new book aims to bring island culture to students' math studies. "Tluuwaay "Waadluxan Mathematical Adventures" uses stories and quotes from "Gina 'Waadluxan Tluu: The Everything Canoe" to suggest math problems such as estimating a canoes weight or determining the speed of a current."--Jane Wilson.

This module is designed for students in grades one and two. In a series of problems built around the story of a second-grade girl gathering sea bird eggs in the spring, students learn and apply the mathematical concepts and skills of counting and grouping two-digit numbers, estimating, measuring, sorting and place values. Students play traditional Yup'ik games while simultaneously investigating number patterns, which lead to a strong sense of grouping and place values. Includes one teacher resource, one student reader (Egg Island), one coloring pages master, five posters, and two CD-ROMs.

There is no question that native cultures in the New World exhibit many forms of mathematical development. This Native American mathematics can best be described by considering the nature of the concepts found in a variety of individual New World cultures. Unlike modern mathematics in which numbers and concepts are expressed in a universal mathematical notation, the numbers and concepts found in native cultures occur and are expressed in many distinctive ways. Native American Mathematics, edited by Michael P. Closs, is the first book to focus on mathematical development indigenous to the New World.

Show Me Your Math is a program that invites Aboriginal Students in Atlantic Canada to explore the mathematics that is evident in their own community and cultural practices. Through exploring aspects of counting, measuring, locating, designing, playing, and explaining, students discover that mathematics is all around them and is connected to many of the cultural practices in their own communities. Each year students gather for the annual math fair and celebrate the work they have done.

This document is designed to help teachers of Mathematics 8 and 9 in British Columbia (BC) extend their existing practice to incorporate new approaches that make the BC school system more reflective of the realities of First Peoples in this province and improve overall levels of student success when it comes to meeting provincially prescribed standards for mathematics at these grade levels.

"The Math First Peoples Teacher Resource Guide is designed for teachers of Mathematics in British Columbia . [I]t is grounded in the view that increased student success can be achieved through adjustments in pedagogy and approach that make mathematics feel more inclusive and engaging.

The 2020 revision of this document also supports implementation of the Calls to Action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, specifically the call to “integrate Indigenous knowledge and teaching methods into classrooms” (clause 62) and “build student capacity for intercultural understanding, empathy, and mutual respect” (clause 63). -FNESC website

A significant section of the book is from "What we have learned: principles of truth and reconciliation" (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada).
"The introduction, Chapters 1-5, and Bibliography have been reproduced from reports of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: What We Have Learned: Principles of Truth and Reconciliation (2015) and Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action (2015)."--Title page verso.

This education guide aims to raise awareness of the history of residential schools in Canada and increase understanding of the important role education plays in the reconciliation process. The guide offers classroom activities you can use to explore this difficult topic. The guide offers standalone activities, as well as activities that connect to the Residential Schools Podcast Series and the videos created to accompany this guide.

These learning resources are designed to help Grade Five students attain an understanding of the history of the relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people over Canada’s history. The primary learning resources are published literature, enabling a cross-curricular approach employing both Language Arts and Social Studies learning standards. While the instructional activities are presented in a structured format that is an example of how they may be incorporated, they are intended to be flexible in their use. They allow for the application of both a First Peoples Pedagogy and the BC Social Studies Curriculum.--FNESC website.

These learning resources are designed to help Grade Ten students attain an understanding of the history of the relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aborginal people over Canada’s history. They are for the instruction of youth from all cultural backgrounds, not just Aboriginal students. While the instructional activities are presented in a structured format, they are intended to be flexible in their use. They allow for the application of both a First Peoples Pedagogy and the changing BC Curriculum. The activities are designed to be adaptable and flexible. Teachers can follow the sequence of lessons, they can use particular lessons or sections as stand-alone activities, or they can adapt the activities to meet their own curriculum planning requirements and the learning needs of their students.--FNESC website.

These Indian Residential Schools learning resources are designed to use an inquiry approach to provide students in a number of Grade 11 and 12 courses with an understanding of the history of the relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in Canada. They are intended for use for instruction of students from all cultural backgrounds, not just Aboriginal students. The learning activities are based on the use of primary source materials. They allow for the application of both a First Peoples Pedagogy and the changing BC Curriculum.--FNESC website.

A collection of short works to introduce students to the history of Canadian residential schools and start discussions about the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (Teacher's Guide also available at ED LIB 371.82997071 M93 2016 Teacher's Resource)

An educational and heartfelt retelling of the story of the Mi'kmaq and their traditional lands, Mi'kma'ki, for young readers, focused on the generational traumas of the Indian Residential School System. "The story of the Mi'kmaw people is one that very few truly know, Ladybug. Even fewer understand what happened at the residential schools. It is a hard story to tell, but you must know the truth. Sit and I will tell you the story." When seven-year-old Muinji'j comes home from school one day, her Nana and Papa can tell right away that she's upset. Her teacher has been speaking about the residential schools. Unlike most of her fellow students, Muinji'j has always known about the residential schools. But what she doesn't understand is why the schools existed and why children would have died there. Nana and Papa take Muinji'j aside and tell her the whole story, from the beginning. They help her understand all of the decisions that were made for the Mi'kmaq, not with the Mi'kmaq, and how those decisions hurt her people. They tell her the story of her people before their traditional ways were made illegal, before they were separated and sent to reservations, before their words, their beliefs, and eventually, their children, were taken from them. A poignant, honest, and necessary book featuring brilliant artwork from Mi'kmaw artist Zeta Paul and words inspired by Muinji'j MacEachern's true story, Muinji'j Asks Why will inspire conversation, understanding, and allyship for readers of all ages.

When Phyllis Webstad (nee Jack) turned six, she went to residential school for the first time. On her first day at school, she wore a shiny orange shirt that her granny had bought for her, but when she got to the school, it was taken away from her and never returned. This is the true story of Phyllis and her orange shirt. It is also the story of Orange Shirt Day (an important day of remembrance for Indigenous people and all Canadians).

"When Nellie Winters was 11 years old, she was sent to attend the Nain Boarding School, a residential school 400 kilometres from her home. In this memoir, she recalls life before residential school, her experiences at the school, and what it was like to come home. Accompanied by the author's original illustrations, this moving, often funny memoir sheds light on the experiences of Inuit residential school survivors in Labrador."-- Provided by publisher.

"Discusses the history of residential schools, including why the government established them, how Indigenous children were treated, and the lasting impact on Indigenous cultures and traditions."-- Provided by publisher.

Secret Path is a ten song album by Gord Downie with a graphic novel by illustrator Jeff Lemire that tells the story of Chanie “Charlie” Wenjack, a twelve-year-old boy who died in flight from the Cecilia Jeffrey Indian Residential School fifty years ago.
Chanie, misnamed Charlie by his teachers, was a young boy who died on October 22, 1966, walking the railroad tracks, trying to escape from the Cecilia Jeffrey Indian Residential School to return home. Chanie’s home was 400 miles away. He didn’t know that. He didn’t know where it was, nor how to find it, but, like so many kids—more than anyone will be able to imagine—he tried. Chanie’s story is Canada’s story. We are not the country we thought we were. History will be re-written. We are all accountable. Secret Path acknowledges a dark part of Canada’s history—the long suppressed mistreatment of Indigenous children and families by the residential school system—with the hope of starting our country on a road to reconciliation. Every year as we remember Chanie Wenjack, the hope for Secret Path is that it educates all Canadians young and old on this omitted part of our history, urging our entire nation to play an active role in the preservation of Indigenous lives and culture in Canada -- Publisher's website.

Inspired by Chanie Wenjack and the works of Gord Downie & Jeff Lemire’s Secret Path
album and artwork, respectively, educator Mitch Champagne took the opportunity not only as a fan of Gord’s music, but also as someone who is deeply rooted in social justice and community outreach, to work with his intermediate students in Peterborough to develop art, inspired by Lemire’s work. Simultaneously, Mitch worked with his first-year Teacher Candidates at Trent Univerisity’s School of Education, to develop lesson plans inspired by some of the Secret Path album tracks.The lessons in this document are meant to be a base to further inspire learning, to adapt to your own social justice goals, and to begin or continue a conversation about reconciliation.

Canada's relationship with its Indigenous people has suffered as a result of both the residential school system and the lack of understanding of the historical and current impact of those schools. Healing and repairing that relationship requires education, awareness and increased understanding of the legacy and the impacts still being felt by Survivors and their families. Guided by acclaimed Indigenous author Monique Gray Smith, readers will learn about the lives of Survivors and listen to allies who are putting the findings of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission into action.

The story of the beautiful relationship between a little girl and her grandfather. When she asks her grandfather how to say something in his language - Cree - he admits that his language was stolen from him when he was a boy. The little girl then sets out to help her grandfather find his language again. This sensitive and warmly illustrated picture book explores the intergenerational impact of the residential school system that separated young Indigenous children from their families. The story recognizes the pain of those whose culture and language were taken from them, how that pain is passed down, and how healing can also be shared.

For over a century, generations of Aboriginal children were separated from their parents and raised in overcrowded, underfunded, and often unhealthy residential schools across Canada. They were commonly denied the right to speak their language and told their cultural beliefs were sinful. Some students did not see their parents for years. Others, the victims of scandalously high death rates, never made it back home. Even by the standards of the day, discipline often was excessive. Lack of supervision left students prey to sexual predators. To put it simply the needs of tens of thousands of Aboriginal children were neglected routinely. Far too many children were abused far too often. But this story is about more than neglect and abuse. Those painful stories rightfully have captured national headlines. They are central to the story this book tells. But there is more to tell.

"This resource is an opportunity for [teachers] to get education right - a fair and accurate discussion of our past and present so that our students are given the knowledge they need on their journey of reconciliation."--From the book.

In this book, author Pamela Toulouse provides current information, personal insights, authentic resources, interactive strategies and lesson plans that support Indigenous and non-Indigenous learners in the classroom. This book is for all teachers that are looking for ways to respectfully infuse residential school history, treaty education, Indigenous contributions, First Nation/Metis/Inuit perspectives and sacred circle teachings into their subjects and courses. The author presents a culturally relevant and holistic approach that facilitates relationship building and promotes ways to engage in reconciliation activities.

"We were far away from home, very far away; emotionally, geographically and spiritually.” Seeing a need to portray the unique Inuit experience of residential schools, the Legacy of Hope Foundation developed the "We were so far away…”: The Inuit Experience of Residential Schools exhibition in 2007. Eight Survivors, two from each of the Inuit geographic regions – Nunavik, Nunavut, Nunatsiavut and the Inuvialuit Settlement Region – courageously and generously shared their stories with the LHF in May 2008. The curator, Heather Igloliorte, then developed an exhibition that presents the individual recollections of these Survivors in their own words, illustrated with their personal photographs and objects, and is contextualized by historical images gathered from archives across Canada. In order to be accessible to as many Inuit Survivors and communities as possible "We were so far away…” contains the individual Survivor’s regional Inuit language (Inuktitut syllabics, Inuvialuktun, or Labrador Inuktitut) in addition to English and French. In 2010, exhibition books were produced that contains remarks from the exhibition partners, a history of the Inuit residential school experience, a condensed historical timeline, the complete Survivor interview transcripts (in Inuktitut, English and French), all of the archival images, as well as a map of Northern Canada."--from www.legacyofhope.ca/projects/we-were-so-far-away

Drawing from her experiences as an Indigenous scientist, botanist Robin Wall Kimmerer demonstrated how all living things--from strawberries and witch hazel to water lilies and lichen--provide us with gifts and lessons every day in her best-selling book Braiding Sweetgrass. Adapted for young adults by Monique Gray Smith, this new edition reinforces how wider ecological understanding stems from listening to the earth's oldest teachers: the plants around us. With informative sidebars, reflection questions, and art from illustrator Nicole Neidhardt, Braiding Sweetgrass for Young Adults brings Indigenous wisdom, scientific knowledge, and the lessons of plant life to a new generation.

Scientists and science educators are beginning to recognize the importance and place of traditional Indigenous knowledge in our understanding of the natural world. In Bridging Cultures, Glen Aikenhead and Herman Michell validate the role of traditional knowledge in the school science curriculum. Science teachers and teacher candidates will find it a fascinating and informative book, sure to impact their teaching, regardless of the makeup of their student bodies. And, it should be considered an essential tool for teachers of Indigenous students whose identities and worldviews have rarely been recognized in our school systems, particularly in the science classroom.--Publisher's description.

"The story of Claire and her Grandfather is designed to enhance young people's awareness of some of the many contributions and inventions by Aboriginal people. The story is meant to be a versatile teaching tool for children ages 7-12, although older students might enjoy the story and its images. Teachers of children in the target age group can use the story to initiate a broader examination of the many historical and contemporary contributions of First Nations and Inuit to Canada and the world."--publisher website description

Also available is "The First Nations series for young readers teachers resource : grades 4-10" at ED LIB 971.00497 N47 2011.
This comprehensive teacher's guide is designed to accompany The First Nations Series for Young Readers. This resource has been developed around the First Nations/Native American holistic concept of community and how teachers can use these ideas to help support differentiated instruction. Just as the series tells the stories of First Nations activists who have taken action on issues that are important to them, the guide is designed to encourage students to use their critical thinking and literacy skills to do the same. This guide can easily be integrated into everyday junior level classroom programming for language skills, arts, social studies, and character education. It is also appropriate for adaptation in intermediate and senior level classrooms. The material can be applied to other books and texts that address local, national, or global social justice issues.

For as long as anyone can remember, Mohawk parents have taught their children to start each day by giving thanks to Mother Earth. Also known as the Thanksgiving Address, this good morning message is based on the belief that the natural world is a precious and rare gift. The whole universe - from the highest stars to the tiniest blade of grass - is addressed as one great family.
Now readers of all ages can share in this tribute to the environment, adapted especially for children by Chief Jake Swamp, whose efforts to share this vision of thanksgiving take him all over the world. Chief Swamp's inspirational message, along with Erwin Printup, Jr.'s unforgettable landscapes, make Giving Thanks a timeless celebration of the spirit of nature."--pub. desc.

For thousands of years, Native medicine was the only medicine on the North American continent. It is America's original holistic medicine, a powerful means of healing the body, balancing the emotions, and renewing the spirit. Medicine men and women prescribe prayers, dances, songs, herbal mixtures, counseling, and many other remedies that help not only the individual but the family and the community as well. The goal of healing is both wellness and wisdom.

Today's Arctic communities have all the comforts of modern living. Yet the Inuit survived in this harsh landscape for hundreds of years with nothing but the land and their own ingenuity. Join authors Alootook Ipellie and David MacDonald as they explore the amazing innovations of traditional Inuit and how their ideas continue to echo around the world. Some inventions are still familiar to us: the one-person watercraft known as a kayak still retains its Inuit name. Other innovations have been replaced by modern technology: slitted snow goggles protected Inuit eyes long before sunglasses arrived on the scene. Andother ideas were surprisingly inspired: using human-shaped stone stacks (Inunnguat) to trick and trap caribou. Many more Inuit innovations are explored here, including: * Dog sleds * Shelter * Clothing * Kids' stuff * Food preservation * Medicine. In all, more than 40 Inuit items and ideas are showcased through dramatic photos and captivating language. From how these objects were made, to their impact on contemporary culture, The Inuit Thought of It is a remarkable catalogue of Inuit invention.

"Tess has visited her grandmother many times without really being aware of the garden. But today they step outside the door and Tess learns that all of nature can be a garden. And if you take care of the plants that are growing, if you learn about them -- understanding when they flower, when they give fruit, and when to leave them alone -- you will always find something to nourish you. This gentle story demonstrates the First Nations' tradition of taking care of Mother Earth."--pub. desc.

Everyone knows that moccasins, canoes and toboggans were invented by the Aboriginal people of North America, but did you know that they also developed their own sign language, syringe needles and a secret ingredient in soda pop? Depending on where they lived, Aboriginal communities relied on their ingenuity to harness the resources available to them. Some groups, such as the Iroquois, were particularly skilled at growing and harvesting food. From them, we get corn and wild rice, as well as maple syrup. Other groups, including the Sioux and Comanche of the plains, were exceptional hunters. Camouflage, fish hooks, and decoys were all developed to make the task of catching animals easier. And even games--lacrosse, hockey and volleyball--have Native American roots. Other clever inventions and innovations include the following: * Sunscreen * Surgical blades * Diapers * Asphalt * Megaphones * Hair conditioner With descriptive photos and information-packed text, this book explores eight different categories in which the creativity of First Nations peoples from across the continent led to remarkable inventions and innovations, many of which are still in use today.

The second edition of Natural Curiosity supports a stronger basic awareness of Indigenous perspectives and their importance to environmental education. The driving motivation for a second edition was the burning need, in the wake of strong and unequivocal recommendations by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, to situate Indigenous perspectives into the heart of Canadian educational settings and curricula, most notably in connection with environmental issThe second edition of Natural Curiosity supports a stronger basic awareness of Indigenous perspectives and their importance to environmental education. The driving motivation for a second edition was the burning need, in the wake of strong and unequivocal recommendations by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, to situate Indigenous perspectives into the heart of Canadian educational settings and curricula, most notably in connection with environmental issues. The Indigenous lens in this edition represents a cross-cultural encounter supporting what can become an ongoing dialogue and evolution of practice in environmental inquiry. Some important questions are raised that challenge us to think in very different ways about things as fundamental as the meaning of knowledge.

A constellation guidebook focusing on Ojibwe Star Knowledge. Greek constellations and astronomical objects of interest are included along with the Ojibwe constellations organized by the four seasons and north circumpolar stars. Written by four native authors: Annette Lee, William Wilson, Jeff Tibbetts, Carl Gawboy. Accompanies the "Ojibwe Giizhig Anung Masinaaigan" - Ojibwe Sky Star Map created by Annette Lee, William Wilson, and Carl Gawboy.

Variant Title: Shki mawtch taw-win en-mook- Path to New Beginnings. Includes: Giving Thanks, The Three Sisters, Corn is a Gift, Symmetry and Patterns of Corn, Corn Wreaths, Necklaces and Stories, Holistic Wellness and Our Own Fall Fair.

For countless generations, Native American storytellers have watched the night sky and told tales of the stars and the constellations. The stars themselves tell many tales--of children who have danced away from home, of six brothers who rescue a maiden from the fearful Rolling Skull, of the great wounded sky bear, whose blood turns the autumn leaves red, and many more.

This kit is made up of resources developed by Toronto Zoo's Turtle Island Conservation. Includes an audio component in Mohawk.

This kit is made up of resources developed by Toronto Zoo's Turtle Island Conservation. Includes an audio component in Ojibway.

"This is the story of a determined Ojibwe Grandmother (Nokomis) Josephine Mandamin and her great love for Nibi (Water). Nokomis walks to raise awareness of our need to protect Nibi for future generations, and for all life on the planet. She, along with other women, men, and youth, have walked around all of the Great Lakes from the four salt waters - or oceans - all the way to Lake Superior. The water walks are full of challenges, and by her example Josephine inspires and challenges us all to take up our responsibility to protect our water and our planet for all generations. Her story is a wonderful way to talk with children about the efforts that the Ojibwe and many other Indigenous peoples give to the protection of water - the giver of life."--Provided by publisher.

This guide focuses on the knowledge of the Anishinaabe and Haudenosaunee nations as the shared caretakers of the Great Lakes area. Two kits accompany this guide, both available in the Education Library: Turtle island conservation (Ojibway) and Turtle island conservation (Mohawk), listed below. More information available at https://www.torontozoo.com/tz/tic

"The first series of comic strips are based upon The Seven Grandfathers Teachings (wisdom from the Anishinabek Community) ..." -- from the website, Based on the character education Grandfather Mnaadendmowin - Respect. Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws is set in 18th century colonized North America. We follow the story of two mischievous Ojibwa brothers as they play pranks and have amazing adventures using a traditional Ojibwa medicine that transforms them into animals for a short time. Graphic Novel suitable for grades 4 to 6 . This series is highly recommended for its engaging humour told in graphic novel format from an authentic Anishinaabe voice.from back cover.

Written by Arlene Nolan Barry, a student in the Garden River First Nations, Native Community Worker Program, Sault College, 2001. This collection, "Teachings I Received" is a collection of the Cultural/Traditional Teachings received while in the program.

Rabbit and Bear Paws Sacred Seven is a picture book series based on the characters, 12-year-old Rabbit, 10-year-old Bear Paws, and 11-year-old Strawberry, developed by Chad Solomon in his The Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws graphic novel series (see below). This set contains seven stand alone titles each one based on one of the Seven Grandfather Teachings: Courage, Honesty, Humility, Love, Respect, Truth, and Wisdom. Each of the books features a respected animal or creature such as Buffalo (Bishikee, Respect), Mouse Waawaabigoonoojii, Humility), Eagle (Migizi, Love), Big Foot (Kitchi-Sabe, Honesty), Turtle (Mizheekay, Truth), Beaver (Ahmik, Wisdom), and Bear (Mukwa, Courage). Suitable for Primary to Grade 4.

From Ningwakwe Learning Press. Teacher's Guide is available at ED LIB J FIC DIM Teacher's Guide.

"In this wonderful new program hosted by Curve Lake First Nations entertainer Missy Knott, students learn of the history of The Seven Sacred Teachings and meet Coast Tsminshian First Nations Elder and Educator, Shannon Thunderbird who delightfully shares and explains each teaching. With her flair for storytelling, Shannon describes the virtues of being a good person, taking care of one another and taking care of the Earth. An invaluable lesson for all." --Container

Includes 8 picture charts each depicting a grandfather teaching in colour ; 31 x 46 cm. ; in bag (39 x 48 cm.)

The Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe—love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honesty, and truth—are revealed in seven stories for children. Set in urban landscapes, Indigenous children tell familiar stories about home, school, and community. (From Website) Includes: The First Day: A Story of Courage; What is Truth, Betsy? A story of Truth; Singing Sisters: A Story of Humility; Misaabe's Stories: A Story of Honesty; Kode's Quest(ion): A Story of Respect; The Just Right Gift: A Story of Love; Amik Loves School: A Story of Wisdom.

48 colour illustrated cards. "Enjoy colorful, unique Native illustrations on every card. This exciting, fast-paced game is designed to improve concentration, visual memory and identification skills".

This richly illustrated book by Métis writer David Bouchard and Métis illustrator Kristy Cameron weaves together Woodland-style paintings with a rhythmic poem about the spiritual lessons that we can learn from the Sun and the Seven Sacred Teachings.

"All Creation Represented: A Child's Guide To The Medicine Wheel is an authentic perspective on traditional First Nations' teachings designed to introduce young learners to how they can know and understand the world around them. The Anishinaabe/Ojibwa Nation has a teaching that the Medicine Wheel is the circle of life. All of creation is represented on the Wheel, which is a distinct way of knowing about nature and science, people and interpersonal experience, culture and education, families and communities, and justice and healthy relationships. The Medicine Wheel teaches that all things move in a circular direction towards unity, and that equality, respect, healing, and the spirit of oneness is represented in these various aspects of life."-- Provided by publisher.

Following a young boy who is listening to the stories of his mooshum (grandfather), Medicine Wheel: Stories of a Hoop Dancerencourages children to connect with the symbol and understand inclusion of all cultures by learning along with this young boy and his friends, who come from across the world to hear the story. Accompanied by vibrant illustrations, Medicine Wheel: Stories of a Hoop Dancerengages children and allows them to start relating to the world in new and exciting ways.

"The resource and activity book is compiled of numerous teachings, activities and blackline masters geared toward helping young people understand and interpret the meaning of the medicine wheel.--Page [4] of cover. Aspects of the medicine wheel poster set: There are many different aspects of the medicine wheel, and this poster set shows that there is more to the medicine wheel than just the four colors.--Native Reflections.

Many Indigenous cultures on Turtle Island recognize the Medicine Wheel as a sacred symbol. The Medicine Wheel has four equal areas; black, white, red and yellow. These areas represent the four directions, four seasons, four elements, four stages of life and four sacred plants. The Medicine Wheel represents unity and balance between all things, including living a healthy life mentally, spiritually, emotionally, and physically. By understanding the teachings of the Medicine Wheel we can gain a deeper understanding of our holistic health. Through a careful selection of teachings, followed by interactive activities, the Medicine Wheel Workbook: Finding Your Healthy Balance will encourage children to live well and find their healthy balance. This workbook can be used as a teacher resource in your classroom or by parents teaching their children at home. Lessons and activities may be photocopied to use within your classroom or home.

Includes links to both the student and teacher manuals.

This document will assist teachers to address issues of equity and social justice in their classroom as well as assist their students in developing awareness and understanding of First Nation, Métis and Inuit issues. Thematic units include the Lands and People, Treaties, the Environment and Residential Schools--Publisher.

"The purpose of this guide is to provide support for teachers as they incorporate the teaching of Native Studies into their classroom programs. This is primarily a guide to assist mainstream educators."--Introduction.

Provides key cultural and language details and traditional stories to explain the worldview and seasonal cycle of life for Ojibwe people.

Teacher's guide is available at ED LIB j 970.004973 C25 1997 Teacher's Guide.

Click on title to access a linked lesson plan for this title.

Traditionally, Inuit played games in order to be physically and mentally prepared for freezing weather, strenuous hunts, and other grueling conditions that made survival difficult. In this book, Arctic Winter Games champion Johnny Issaluk explains the basics of agility, strength, and endurance games, from the one foot high kick to the head pull and the airplane. Through straightforward descriptions and vibrant photographs, this resource brings to life this vital aspect of Inuit knowledge and culture.

The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, in partnership with Canada's national Indigenous organizations, has created a groundbreaking four-volume atlas that shares the experiences, perspectives, and histories of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. It's an ambitious and unprecedented project inspired by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action. Exploring themes of language, demographics, economy, environment and culture, with in-depth coverage of treaties and residential schools, these are stories of Canada's Indigenous Peoples, told in detailed maps and rich narratives. This extraordinary project offers Canada a step on the path toward understanding. The volumes contain more than 48 pages of reference maps, content from more than 50 Indigenous writers; hundreds of historical and contemporary photographs and a glossary of Indigenous terms, timelines, map of Indigenous languages, and frequently asked questions. All packaged together in a beautifully designed protective slipcase.

"A curriculum and resource document for the Ontario curriculum, grades 1-8: health and physical education, 1998" --Cover, English. "Traditional games and activities of the Northern Ojibway and Cree" --Cover, English.

Listening to Mother Earth and Father Sky assists in understanding your relationship with the Natural World. All of Earth’s creatures share the same Mother and Father. They help shape us, feed into our values, give us identity and provide for us. Mother Earth and Father Sky are always available to remind us about our relationship. Your increased awareness and appreciation for our environment will lead you to make changes. This book acknowledges and respects the various teachings from the unique Inuit, First Nation and Métis groups found all across Canada. (Description from Ningwakwe Learning Press website)

Complete guide to making Omushkego Cree style snowshoes

This program provides an introduction to various winter activities as explained by elders and local experts to a group of school children. John Paul Spence describes plants, trees, and their uses by Aboriginal people and animals. Oliver Small shows how to set an ice fishing net. George Jolly explains how to set a beaver trap. Carmen Tozer describes the workings of a dog team and sled. John Paul Spence provides a brief description of life in the past and closes the program by making and playing with a snow snake.

A unit celebrating the cultural uniqueness and resourcefulness of Inuit both past and present.

A collection of seven stories about First Nations culture and spiritual practices. Matthew loves to play games with his friends and share his toys with them. But most of all he loves to share the special treasures that remind him of his First Nations culture. Perhaps his favourite treasure is the medicine pouch that his grandfather made especially for him. This is where he keeps many of his other treasurers, including the sacred herbs his mother gave him. Matthew uses the herbs to remind him to be grateful for everything that nature gives us. Another special gift is the eagle feather from his father. Matthew knows that the eagle is a symbol of the spiritual strength of his culture. But there is one other gift that has a special place in Matthew's heart. It is the dream catcher that Matthew gave to his friend Dustin to help him not have bad dreams. The Sharing Circle is a collection of seven stories about First Nations culture and spiritual practices: The Eagle Feather, The Dream Catcher, The Sacred Herbs, The Talking Circle, The Medicine Wheel, The Drum, and The Medicine Pouch. Researched and written by Mi'kmaw children's author Theresa Meuse-Dallien, and beautifully illustrated by Mi'kmaw illustrator Arthur Stevens, this book will engage and inform children of all ages. Book jacket.--BOOK JACKET.

"Traditional toys, such as the roarer, rabbit’s foot, tabahon, pea-shooter and some string games are discussed and demonstrated in this program. The hosts show and tell the viewing audience what materials are needed and how to make these toys. Play activities with these toys are accompanied by teachings on safety and respect. This program is recommended for Junior level students and older"--cover.

Step-by-step directions, supply lists and detailed photos walk the reader through the making of bannock or scone and corn soup.

This resource guide [kit] aims to assist educators on their journey to share information about the Treaty relationship with their students in grades 9 to 12. This resource aims to include resources in supporting discussions about the Nation to Nation relationship.
Connects to the Ontario curriculum in many subject areas. The guide also refers to links and online lesson plans that involve various videos produced by the Union of Ontario Indians, Ojibwe Cultural Foundation and Kenjgewin Teg Educational Institute.--Union of Ontario Indians description.

Also available at http://www.anishinabek.ca/education-resources/

A kit for teachers looking to infuse content concerning treaty agreements into their classroom lessons.
"We are all...Treaty People book explains the history of the Anishinaabeg, or Anishinabek nations. The nations of Ojibwa, Chippewa, Odawa, Mississauga, Potawatomi, Algonquin, and Delaware peoples are described. This book gives the history of the culture, values, co-existence, Seven Years War, treaties, Oka, and present day events. First Nations, Inuit and Metis content and perspectivies. This resource supports the "Teaching of Treaties in the classroom"

"Describes the three distinct communities of Indigenous Peoples living in Canada, their historical forms of governance, the purpose of the Indian Act passed by the federal government in 1876, and the organizations formed to represent and protect the rights of Indigenous Peoples."-- Provided by publisher.

This education guide aims to raise awareness of the history of residential schools in Canada and increase understanding of the important role education plays in the reconciliation process. The guide offers classroom activities you can use to explore this difficult topic. The guide offers standalone activities, as well as activities that connect to the Residential Schools Podcast Series and the videos created to accompany this guide.

Former Halifax Poet Laureate and second-generation residential school survivor Rebecca Thomas writes honestly and powerfully in this companion piece to Rita Joe's I Lost My Talk. Includes vibrant illustrations from Mi'kmaw artist Pauline Young. A response to Rita Joe's iconic poem I Lost My Talk, and published simultaneously with the new children's book edition illustrated by Pauline Young, comes a companion picture book by award--winning spoken--word artist and Mi'kmaw activist Rebecca Thomas. A second--generation residential school survivor, Thomas writes this response poem openly and honestly, reflecting on the process of working through the destructive effects of colonialism. From sewing regalia to dancing at powwow to learning traditional language, I'm Finding My Talk is about rediscovering her community, and finding culture. Features stunning, vibrant illustrations by Mi'kmaw artist Pauline Young.

These learning resources are designed to help Grade Five students attain an understanding of the history of the relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people over Canada’s history. The primary learning resources are published literature, enabling a cross-curricular approach employing both Language Arts and Social Studies learning standards. While the instructional activities are presented in a structured format that is an example of how they may be incorporated, they are intended to be flexible in their use. They allow for the application of both a First Peoples Pedagogy and the BC Social Studies Curriculum.--FNESC website.

These learning resources are designed to help Grade Ten students attain an understanding of the history of the relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aborginal people over Canada’s history. They are for the instruction of youth from all cultural backgrounds, not just Aboriginal students. While the instructional activities are presented in a structured format, they are intended to be flexible in their use. They allow for the application of both a First Peoples Pedagogy and the changing BC Curriculum. The activities are designed to be adaptable and flexible. Teachers can follow the sequence of lessons, they can use particular lessons or sections as stand-alone activities, or they can adapt the activities to meet their own curriculum planning requirements and the learning needs of their students.--FNESC website.

These Indian Residential Schools learning resources are designed to use an inquiry approach to provide students in a number of Grade 11 and 12 courses with an understanding of the history of the relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in Canada. They are intended for use for instruction of students from all cultural backgrounds, not just Aboriginal students. The learning activities are based on the use of primary source materials. They allow for the application of both a First Peoples Pedagogy and the changing BC Curriculum.--FNESC website.

A collection of short works to introduce students to the history of Canadian residential schools and start discussions about the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (Teacher's Guide also available at ED LIB 371.82997071 M93 2016 Teacher's Resource)

The tiny but mighty Mousewoman is a legendary figure in the oral and visual practices of Northwest Coast Indigenous cultures. She is both grandmother and oracle, able to travel in and out of the spirit world. Mousewoman sits on young people's shoulders in crucial times, whispering advice and knowledge. She protects and guides young people by helping them avoid or escape bad situations, and is never afraid to stand up to bigger beings. This book brings to life the timeless lessons of Mousewoman -- lessons that embody the principles outlined in the UN Declaration on the Rights of the Child and the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. A first of its kind, this book empowers children to become proudly aware of their rights.

Secret Path is a ten song album by Gord Downie with a graphic novel by illustrator Jeff Lemire that tells the story of Chanie “Charlie” Wenjack, a twelve-year-old boy who died in flight from the Cecilia Jeffrey Indian Residential School fifty years ago.
Chanie, misnamed Charlie by his teachers, was a young boy who died on October 22, 1966, walking the railroad tracks, trying to escape from the Cecilia Jeffrey Indian Residential School to return home. Chanie’s home was 400 miles away. He didn’t know that. He didn’t know where it was, nor how to find it, but, like so many kids—more than anyone will be able to imagine—he tried. Chanie’s story is Canada’s story. We are not the country we thought we were. History will be re-written. We are all accountable. Secret Path acknowledges a dark part of Canada’s history—the long suppressed mistreatment of Indigenous children and families by the residential school system—with the hope of starting our country on a road to reconciliation. Every year as we remember Chanie Wenjack, the hope for Secret Path is that it educates all Canadians young and old on this omitted part of our history, urging our entire nation to play an active role in the preservation of Indigenous lives and culture in Canada -- Publisher's website.

Inspired by Chanie Wenjack and the works of Gord Downie & Jeff Lemire’s Secret Path
album and artwork, respectively, educator Mitch Champagne took the opportunity not only as a fan of Gord’s music, but also as someone who is deeply rooted in social justice and community outreach, to work with his intermediate students in Peterborough to develop art, inspired by Lemire’s work. Simultaneously, Mitch worked with his first-year Teacher Candidates at Trent Univerisity’s School of Education, to develop lesson plans inspired by some of the Secret Path album tracks.The lessons in this document are meant to be a base to further inspire learning, to adapt to your own social justice goals, and to begin or continue a conversation about reconciliation.

Canada's relationship with its Indigenous people has suffered as a result of both the residential school system and the lack of understanding of the historical and current impact of those schools. Healing and repairing that relationship requires education, awareness and increased understanding of the legacy and the impacts still being felt by Survivors and their families. Guided by acclaimed Indigenous author Monique Gray Smith, readers will learn about the lives of Survivors and listen to allies who are putting the findings of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission into action.

"This resource is an opportunity for [teachers] to get education right - a fair and accurate discussion of our past and present so that our students are given the knowledge they need on their journey of reconciliation."--From the book.

In this book, author Pamela Toulouse provides current information, personal insights, authentic resources, interactive strategies and lesson plans that support Indigenous and non-Indigenous learners in the classroom. This book is for all teachers that are looking for ways to respectfully infuse residential school history, treaty education, Indigenous contributions, First Nation/Metis/Inuit perspectives and sacred circle teachings into their subjects and courses. The author presents a culturally relevant and holistic approach that facilitates relationship building and promotes ways to engage in reconciliation activities.

For more than 150 years, thousands of Indigenous children were taken from their families and sent to residential schools across Canada. Artist Carey Newman created the Witness Blanket to make sure that history is never forgotten. The Blanket is a living work of art--a collection of hundreds of objects from those schools. It includes everything from photos, bricks, hockey skates, graduation certificates, dolls and piano keys to braids of hair. Behind every piece is a story. And behind every story is a residential school Survivor, including Carey's father. This book is a collection of truths about what happened at those schools, but it's also a beacon of hope and a step on the journey toward reconciliation.

This beautiful and colourful book offers teachings about the Animals of the Salish Sea.

[print 1] Storm Pattern Rug / Mary Taylor
[print 2] Melodies of Nature / David Johns
[print 3] Prehistoric flower or Sunburst earrings / Anonymous
[print 4] Sunbear pendant / Jesse Lee Monongye
[print 5] Female Owl / Innukjuakjuk Pudlat
[print 6] Sun Owl and Foliage / Kenojuak (Ashevak)
[print 7] Shaman's Sucking tube / Anonymous
[print 8] Beautiful Woman / Jessie Oonark
[print 9] Penobscot Birchbark box / anonymous
[print 10] Heritage No. 5 / Phillip Young
[print 11] Sacred Buffalo Worshippers / Norval Morrisseau
[print 12] The Landrights / Norval Morrisseau
[print 13] Sioux Pipe bowl with human head / Anonymous
[print 14] The Pain of the Indian / Sarain Stump
[print 15] Pawnee Roach spreader / Anonymous
[print 16] In the Gargen II / Joane Cardinal-Schubert
[print 17] Wolf Adze / Anonymous
[print 18] Wolf Mask / Art Thomson
[print 19] Tlingit Appliqued tunic (double-headed raven) / Anonymous
[print 20] Tlingit Blanket / Dempsey and Linda Bob

[print 1]. Hopi Dance Wand / Anonymous
[print 2]. Recurrence of the spiritual elements / Helen Hardin
[print 3]. Layered nights / Conrad House
[print 4]. Bowl / Anonymous
[print 5]. Eskimo mask / Anonymous
[print 6]. Loon mask / Edward Kiokan
[print 7]. Cluster of faces / Anonymous
[print 8]. Respecting the circle / Manasie Akpaliapik
[print 9]. Ojibway drum / Anonymous
[print 10]. Rebirth 1976 / Jackson Beardy
[print 11]. Odawa bag with three headed bird / Anonymous
[print 12]. The Indian in transition / Daphne Odjig
[print 13]. Cheyenne buffalo robe / Anonymous
[print 14]. Prairie fire / Blackbear Bosin
[print 15]. Arapaho buffalo skull / Anonymous
[print 16]. As snow before the summer sun / Edward Poitras
[print 17]. Tsimshian chest / Anonymous
[print 18]. The fisherman / Ray Henry Vickers
[print 19]. Haida argillite panel pipe / Anonymous
[print 20]. Haida gold box / Bill Reid.

This comprehensive teacher's guide, a companion to a student workbook and 20 laminated art reproductions, is part of an instructional resource designed to assist teachers in incorporating Native American studies into the elementary art program and general curriculum. It highlights visual art which is actively being innovated by aboriginal artists throughout North America and focuses on ways important cultural beliefs and values are being renewed through visual expression. These draw on a comparative picture method to show relationships between tradition and innovation by featuring both a traditional and an innovative artist, and encouraging examination of the similarities and differences in those cultures and artworks.

This student workbook, a companion to a comprehensive teacher's guide and 20 laminated art reproductions, is part of an instructional resource designed to assist teachers in incorporating Native American studies into the elementary art program and general curriculum. It highlights visual art which is actively being innovated by aboriginal artists throughout North America and focuses on ways important cultural beliefs and values are being renewed through visual expression. These draw on a comparative picture method to show relationships between tradition and innovation by featuring both a traditional and an innovative artist, and encouraging examination of the similarities and differences in those cultures and artworks.

"First Nations, Métis and Inuit beadwork are beautiful art forms that are unique to North America. The patterns and techniques created and passed down through generations of our grandmothers are still being used today. Beadwork is not simple decoration of material goods. It is an expression of identity. It is an art form that connects us to the skills, the sacrifices and the creativity of our ancestors. Beadwork carries images that are ancient and reflect spiritual beliefs. And even more than that, beadwork is a healing art. Beadwork explores: the history of beads and the use of beads today ; the cultural and spiritual significance of beadwork ; show materials and various techniques used in beadwork regional styles in Canada ; diagrams and step-by-step instructions for different techniques."--pub. website

Bold, inventive and highly graphic, the indigenous art of the Northwest Coast is distinguished by its sophistication and complexity. It is also composed of basically simple elements, which, guided by a rich mythology, create images of striking power. This indispensable and beautifully illustrated book is the first to introduce everyone, from the casual observer to the serious collector of Northwest Coast prints, to the forms, cultural background and structures of this highly imaginative art. The elements of style are introduced; the myths and legends which shape the motifs are interpreted; the stylistic differences between the major cultural groupings are defined and illustrated. Raven, Thunderbird, Killer Whale, Bear: all the traditional forms are here, deftly analyzed by a professional writer and artist who has a deep understanding of this powerful culture.

maskisina: A Guide to Northern-Style Métis Moccasins is a follow-up to the highly successful wapikwaniy: A Beginner’s Guide to Metis Floral Beadwork. Much likewapikwaniy, maskisina guides readers, step-by-step, on how to create their very own moccasins. It contains detailed photographs along with each step and also includes a DVD tutorial. It also includes a historic overview of moccasins by Sherry Farrell Racette. Patterns for cutting the correct sizes for the soles and vamps are included in the book.

Complete guide to making Omushkego Cree style snowshoes

A modern story of traditional Indigenous knowledge that follows a young boy and his Auntie as they gather and braid sweetgrass, one of the four sacred medicines. It's early July, and for Matthew and his Auntie that means one thing: time to go sweetgrass picking. This year, Matthew's younger cousin Warren is coming along, and it will be his first time visiting the shoreline where the sweetgrass grows. With Auntie's traditional Mi'kmaw knowledge and Matthew's gentle guidance, Warren learns about the many uses for sweetgrass--as traditional medicine, a sacred offering, a smudging ingredient--and the importance of not picking more than he needs. Once the trio is back at Auntie's house, she shows the boys how to clean and braid the grass. From the duo behind the bestsellers The Gathering and The Sharing Circle, this heartfelt story about the gifts we receive from Mother Earth and how to gather them respectfully offers thoughtful insight into a treasured Mi'kmaw tradition. Sweetgrass grows in wet meadows, low prairies, and the edges of sloughs and marshes . It grows from Labrador to Alaska, south to New Jersey, Indiana, Iowa, New Mexico, and Arizona. Widely used by North American indigenous peoples from many different Nations, it is also considered one of the "four sacred medicines" by many Plains Indians.

Wâpikwaniy: A Beginner?s Guide to Métis Floral Beadwork is a step-by-step guide book and DVD video which provides information and instruction on Métis floral beadwork. The guide is intended for beginning beaders and includes an historical overview by Sherry Farrell Racette, followed by instructions on basic beading, supply lists and options, techniques and hints, and examples of traditional and contemporary beadwork. Patterns are included in the book.

Drawing from her experiences as an Indigenous scientist, botanist Robin Wall Kimmerer demonstrated how all living things--from strawberries and witch hazel to water lilies and lichen--provide us with gifts and lessons every day in her best-selling book Braiding Sweetgrass. Adapted for young adults by Monique Gray Smith, this new edition reinforces how wider ecological understanding stems from listening to the earth's oldest teachers: the plants around us. With informative sidebars, reflection questions, and art from illustrator Nicole Neidhardt, Braiding Sweetgrass for Young Adults brings Indigenous wisdom, scientific knowledge, and the lessons of plant life to a new generation.

Pete Enzoe is Chipewyan Dene from Lutsel K'e, Northwest Territories, on the East Arm of Great Slave Lake. He is a hunter, fisher, and trapper. He sees his role in life as protector of the caribou and spends much of his time reading" the land as he travels his peoples' traditional areas. Pete also helps scientists to monitor the herd's health and migration. In The Caribou Feed Our Soul, the sixth book in The Land is Our Storybook series, Pete takes readers on a respectful caribou harvest. Along the way, he shares creation stories about how his people are descendants of the caribou. He also describes the spiritual areas his community is trying to protect, including Thaidene Nene, which means "land of our ancestors." Pete's stories help the reader to understand the rich history of the Chipewyan Dene and their relationship with the caribou today.

"Coyote’s Guide lifts the lid off the mind of the mentor to reveal what happens behind-the-scenes, and offers dozens of activities, stories, songs, and games, so mentors, educators and parents can lead in ways that fit their ecosystems, their clients, and their specific goals. Coyote’s Guide sets fresh standards for environmental literacy that engages body, mind, and spirit."--pub. desc.

Also available is "The First Nations series for young readers teachers resource : grades 4-10" at ED LIB 971.00497 N47 2011.
This comprehensive teacher's guide is designed to accompany The First Nations Series for Young Readers. This resource has been developed around the First Nations/Native American holistic concept of community and how teachers can use these ideas to help support differentiated instruction. Just as the series tells the stories of First Nations activists who have taken action on issues that are important to them, the guide is designed to encourage students to use their critical thinking and literacy skills to do the same. This guide can easily be integrated into everyday junior level classroom programming for language skills, arts, social studies, and character education. It is also appropriate for adaptation in intermediate and senior level classrooms. The material can be applied to other books and texts that address local, national, or global social justice issues.

"This collection takes an intersectional approach to Indigenous land-based or place-based education with the aim of helping learners explore traditional ecological philosophies, knowledges, and practices in Canada and around the globe. Based on Indigenous conceptions of place, territory and home, the chapters include contributions by noted and upcoming Indigenous and ally-partnered scholars who have access to elders and deep cultural and linguistic knowledges of Indigenous nations. This text generates a global intersection of Indigenous pedagogy associated with the traditional ecological knowledges of Indigenous peoples centered in Indigenous languages, sciences, mathematics, arts, health and governance, and land relations."-- Provided by publisher.

Readers will learn about the relationships between people and the gardens of Earth, seed preservation, Native diets and meals, natural pest control, and the importance of the Circle of Life.

The second edition of Natural Curiosity supports a stronger basic awareness of Indigenous perspectives and their importance to environmental education. The driving motivation for a second edition was the burning need, in the wake of strong and unequivocal recommendations by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, to situate Indigenous perspectives into the heart of Canadian educational settings and curricula, most notably in connection with environmental issThe second edition of Natural Curiosity supports a stronger basic awareness of Indigenous perspectives and their importance to environmental education. The driving motivation for a second edition was the burning need, in the wake of strong and unequivocal recommendations by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, to situate Indigenous perspectives into the heart of Canadian educational settings and curricula, most notably in connection with environmental issues. The Indigenous lens in this edition represents a cross-cultural encounter supporting what can become an ongoing dialogue and evolution of practice in environmental inquiry. Some important questions are raised that challenge us to think in very different ways about things as fundamental as the meaning of knowledge.

A picture book celebrating Indigenous culture and traditions. The Governor General Award--winning team behind When We Were Alone shares a story that honors our connections to our past and our grandfathers and fathers. A boy and Moshom, his grandpa, take a trip together to visit a place of great meaning to Moshom. A trapline is where people hunt and live off the land, and it was where Moshom grew up. As they embark on their northern journey, the child repeatedly asks his grandfather, "Is this your trapline?" Along the way, the boy finds himself imagining what life was like two generations ago -- a life that appears to be both different from and similar to his life now. This is a heartfelt story about memory, imagination and intergenerational connection that perfectly captures the experience of a young child's wonder as he is introduced to places and stories that hold meaning for his family.

A picture book celebrating Indigenous culture and traditions. The Governor General Award--winning team behind When We Were Alone shares a story that honors our connections to our past and our grandfathers and fathers. A boy and Moshom, his grandpa, take a trip together to visit a place of great meaning to Moshom. A trapline is where people hunt and live off the land, and it was where Moshom grew up. As they embark on their northern journey, the child repeatedly asks his grandfather, "Is this your trapline?" Along the way, the boy finds himself imagining what life was like two generations ago -- a life that appears to be both different from and similar to his life now. This is a heartfelt story about memory, imagination and intergenerational connection that perfectly captures the experience of a young child's wonder as he is introduced to places and stories that hold meaning for his family.

From healing to astronomy to our connection to the natural world, the lessons from Indigenous knowledge inform our learning and practices today. How do knowledge systems get passed down over generations? Through the knowledge inherited from their Elders and ancestors, Indigenous Peoples throughout North America have observed, practiced, experimented, and interacted with plants, animals, the sky, and the waters over millennia. Knowledge keepers have shared their wisdom with younger people through oral history, stories, ceremonies, and records that took many forms. In Sky Wolf's Call, award-winning author team of Eldon Yellowhorn and Kathy Lowinger reveal how Indigenous knowledge comes from centuries of practices, experiences, and ideas gathered by people who have a long history with the natural world. Indigenous knowledge is explored through the use of fire and water, the acquisition of food, the study of astronomy, and healing practices. *A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

"Indigenous peoples have played an influential role in Canadian history and continue to do so today. From the past and into the future, Stewardship reveals the role of Indigenous peoples in taking care of the land and using it responsibly."-- Provided by publisher.

This kit is made up of resources developed by Toronto Zoo's Turtle Island Conservation. Includes an audio component in Mohawk.

This kit is made up of resources developed by Toronto Zoo's Turtle Island Conservation. Includes an audio component in Ojibway.

This guide focuses on the knowledge of the Anishinaabe and Haudenosaunee nations as the shared caretakers of the Great Lakes area. Two kits accompany this guide, both available in the Education Library: Turtle island conservation (Ojibway) and Turtle island conservation (Mohawk), listed below. More information available at https://www.torontozoo.com/tz/tic