Research Guides: Primary Junior Language Arts/Literacy: Lesson Planning Databases

K-12 Lesson Planning Databases

AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.

Canadian Encyclopedia Online
This freely accessible version contains the complete text of the acclaimed Canadian Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities, feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive timeline of Canadian and world events.

Curriculum Resource Center This link opens in a new window
An electronic library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle, high school, and junior college curriculum.
FNMIEAO (First Nations, Metis & Inuit Education Association of Ontario) This link opens in a new window
The First Nations, Métis & Inuit Education Association of Ontario is a subject association for educators teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit Studies, and Native Languages in Ontario, Canada.

Access to the "Members Only" section of this site is available for all current Lakehead University students, staff and faculty. A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login.
For username and password information send an email to edlib@lakeheadu.ca (Current Faculty of Education students, staff and faculty can also check the "Education Passwords" course site).

Green Teacher Webinar Series
A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login. Please check Education Passwords for more information.
MusicplayOnline
MusicplayOnline is a resource for elementary music teachers which includes new activities, printables and teacher resources. This is a wonderful teaching tool, enhancing and making it easier to model for the students how to label beat/rhythm, how to name solfa notes, and to teach the elements of music. The new online resource includes all the materials in the Musicplay Digital Resources, plus adds thousands of interactive activities. The interactive activities can be used by the teacher with a computer/projector or IWB to teach or model. Students can do the activities on devices using a student login. (no extra charge) The 800+ songs in Musicplay are available in one site. A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login. Please check Education Passwords for more information.

OERB: Ontario Educational Resources Bank
Ontario Ministry of Education database. You may search for resources by grade, subject/course, strand, overall expectations, and/or keywords. Videoclips are included in this database. A unique password (NOT your Lakehead username and password) is required to login. Please check Education Passwords for more information.
Open Culture: The best free cultural & educational media on the web
This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students (kindergarten through high school students) and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing. This newly-released list is a work in progress.

OPHEA (Ontario Physical and Health Education Association) Elementary Curriculum Online Resources This link opens in a new window
These online resources support the implementation of Ontario’s H&PE Curriculum for Grades 1-8. Each university student and employee is required to create a new, free account on the new site in order to access the Ophea Health & Physical Education (H&PE) Curriculum Resources (Elementary/Grades 1-8 and Secondary/Grades 9-12). To create an account, go to www.ophea.net and click on "Login" then Click on “Create Account” and complete the required fields.
OPHEA (Ontario Physical and Health Education Association) Secondary Curriculum Online Resources This link opens in a new window
These online resources support the implementation of Ontario’s H&PE Curriculum for Grades 9-12. Each university student and employee is required to create a new, free account on the new site in order to access the Ophea Health & Physical Education (H&PE) Curriculum Resources (Elementary/Grades 1-8 and Secondary/Grades 9-12). To create an account, go to www.ophea.net and click on "Login" then Click on “Create Account” and complete the required fields.

OPHEA Safety Guidelines
Link directly to the Ontario Physical Education Safety Guidelines. No password required