Primary Junior Language Arts/Literacy

A to Zoo can be used to obtain information about children’s picture books in two ways: to learn the titles, authors, and illustrators of books on a particular subject, such as “dragons” or “weddings”; or to ascertain the subject (or subjects) when only the title, author and title, or illustrator and title are known.

From 49thShelf.com, an organization dedicated to promoting Canadian books, 49thKids includes a database of Canadian children's books searchable by genre, age range, grade level, or theme. Themed book lists recommends great books for different kinds of readers. A monthly series called Notes from a Children’s Librarian, pinpoints perfect selections for Canadian school curricula or themes. Also includes teacher resources and reading guides.

Reading is one of the most important skills a child can learn. It allows them to develop their imagination and empowers them with knowledge that will enrich their lives. A love of reading is one of the finest gifts parents, caregivers and educators can give their children. The recipe for creating a life-long reader is wonderfully simple.

Created by educators, Cube For Teachers is a free solution for all educators everywhere that fosters straight-forward access to open educational resources, increasing efficiency and collaboration.

The Deakin Review of Children’s Literature is an electronic quarterly review of contemporary English-language materials of interest to children and young adults. Of particular use to librarians, parents, teachers and anyone working with young people, we also publish news and opinions relevant to children’s literacy.

The Diverse BookFinder is a comprehensive collection of children’s and young adult books featuring Black and Indigenous Peoples and People of Color (BIPOC). We’ve cataloged and analyzed picture books fitting this criteria since 2002 and have added early readers, chapter books, middle grade, and young adult novels published since 2022.

First Nation Communities READ (FNCR) is the Ontario First Nation Public Library Community’s contribution to the reading movement. Launched in 2003 by the First Nations Public Library Community in Ontario with support from the Ontario Library Service, it promotes a community-based approach to reading. FNCR celebrates the very best of Indigenous literature across Turtle Island. The program encourages family literacy, intergenerational storytelling as well as intergenerational knowledge transmission. FNCR also helps to increase awareness of the importance of First Nation, Metis and Inuit writing, illustration and publishing.

The Forest of Reading® is Canada’s largest recreational reading program! This initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers ten reading programs to encourage a love of reading in people of all ages.

IBBY Canada is pleased to present the 2025 edition of From Sea to Sea to Sea: Celebrating Indigenous Picture Books. 25 of the best Indigenous picture books published in Canada between 2022–2024 were selected for this collection. Care was taken to ensure that the collection reflects the diversity of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit voices from sea to sea to sea, and that the titles are available and in print for anyone who wishes to access them.

IBBY Canada is a volunteer organization promoting quality French, English and Indigenous Canadian children's literature nationally and internationally. This project was initiated in 2016 in response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action and in keeping with IBBY Canada’s mission to support the right of every child to become a reader through access to high-quality books. All children should be able to walk into a library, classroom, or bookstore and see themselves and their lives reflected. Unfortunately, that is still not the case for many Indigenous children and youth across Canada. We hope that From Sea to Sea to Sea will promote the reading and sharing of books by Indigenous authors among Indigenous and non-Indigenous children and youth, their families, librarians, educators, and community members.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Search the Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons for carefully selected, free, lesson plans that you can be modified to align with the Ontario curriculum.

ONlit is a comprehensive hub for empowering educators to provide evidence-base systematic and explicit instruction aligned with the new Ontario Language and Français Curricula.

This site contains a curated collection of resources selected by Ontario educators for Ontario educators. This site includes difficult to find Ontario Ministry of Education professional development resources. All of the documents are shared with permission.

Provides access to lessons, interactives, calendar activities, and professional development.

A database of social justice and diverse themed books for educators newly released by the Canadian Children's Book Centre.

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s Emmy® Award-winning children’s literacy program, Storyline Online®, streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations. Readers include Connie Britton, Terry Crews, Viola Davis, Rosario Dawson, Jennifer Garner, John Lithgow, Chris Pine, Meryl Streep, Oprah Winfrey and dozens more.

Games, activities, and resources aligned with the Ontario curriculum.