Omni Search
Select General Criminal Law Books
Crime, deviance, and social control in the 21st century : a justice and rights perspective by Crime, Deviance and Social Control in the 21st Century: A Social Justice Perspective seeks to go beyond traditional crime texts and introduce the reader to the study of crime, deviance and social control from a social justice and power interest perspective. It will provide comprehensive coverage of 21st Century issues in the study of deviance and control in a technological society, including current issues that haven't traditionally been given adequate coverage in current texts, such as the criminalization of dissent, the changing nature of what constitutes deviance, internet hate, self-harming, transgender identities, the growing rise of transnational criminal enterprises, internet fraud, current forms of enslavement, and the increased public attention on police practices.- Canadian Criminal Law: A Treatise 7th edition byCall Number: KE 8809 S78 2014Publication Date: 2014
- Criminal Law 7th edition byPublication Date: 2018
- Essentials of Canadian Law : Criminal Procedure 3d edition byPublication Date: 2020
- Sovereignty, restraint, & guidance : Canadian criminal law in the 21st century byPublication Date: 2019
- The Gladue Principles: A Guide to the JurisprudenceDownloadable PDF guide from the Indigenous Law Centre (University of Saskatchewan)
Select Subject-Specific Criminal Law Books
"Crossover" Children in the Youth Justice and Child Protection Systems"Crossover" Children in the Youth Justice and Child Protection Systems explores the outcomes faced by the group of children who experience involvement with both child protection and youth justice systems across several countries, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia.
Prosecuting and Defending Youth Criminal Justice Cases by There are many procedural and ethical considerations that practitioners need to be aware of when working on a criminal case involving youth, especially when the young persons involved are from vulnerable populations that require special care. The second edition of Prosecuting and Defending Youth Criminal Justice Cases provides practical commentary and analysis alongside updated policy, case law, and legislation in order to guide readers through a youth criminal justice case from beginning to end.
Youth Criminal Justice Policy in Canada by In the past ten years, much has changed in terms of youth justice policies in Canada as well as in the way Canadian society has evolved. Canada has a new Act governing youth crime, and there are indications that the Act will be revised again to make it "tougher" on youth in conflict with the law, a development reflecting what many scholars are calling the "punitive turn" in youth justice policies in Canada and elsewhere. At the same time, Canadian child poverty rates (which are strongly correlated with criminality) have remained high, despite a commitment, made by governments in 1989 to eradicate the problem by the year 2000.
A Better Justice? by Women are the fastest growing group of incarcerated people in Canada. A Better Justice? offers a carefully reasoned analysis of alternative, community-based justice programs.
Punishment in Disguise by A look at some current forms of penal governance in Canadian federal women's prisons and a suggestion that the prison system itself, given its primary functions of custody and punishment, is consistent in thwarting attempts at progressive reform.
Defending Battered Women on Trial by In the landmark Lavallee decision of 1990, the SupremeCourt of Canada ruled that evidence of "battered womansyndrome" was admissible in establishing self-defence for womenaccused of killing their abusive partners. This book looks at thetrials of eleven battered women, ten of whom killed their partners, inthe fifteen years since Lavallee.
The Psychology of Female Violence: Crimes Against the Body by Anna Motz is a Consultant Clinical and Forensic Psychologist with the Thames Valley Forensic Mental Health Services. She has extensive clinical experience with women as perpetrators and victims of violence and with the staff teams who work with them. She has written widely on this topic and is the Past President of the International Association for Forensic Psychotherapy.
Global Lockdown by Global Lockdown is the first book to apply a transnational feminist framework to the study of criminalization and imprisonment. The distinguished contributors to this collection offer a variety of perspectives, from former prisoners to advocates to scholars from around the world.
Coming Back to Jail by Published some two decades ago, Elizabeth Comack's Women in Trouble explored the connections between the women's abuse histories and their law violations as well as their experience of imprisonment in an aged facility. What has changed for incarcerated women in those twenty years? Are experiences of abuse continuing to have an impact on the lives of criminalized women? How do women find the experience of imprisonment in a new facility?
Out There/in Here by Moving between the spaces of the outside community and prison--"out there" and "in here"--this study explores the complicated connections between masculinity and violence in the lives of men incarcerated at a provincial prison. The discussion traces the men`s lives and highlights their understanding of their own violence, while looking at the ways in which prison perpetuates the violence inherent in dominant masculinity.
Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice by Transnational crime and justice will characterize the 21st century in same way that traditional street crimes dominated the 20th century. In the Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice, Philip Reichel and Jay Albanese bring together top scholars from around the world to offer perspectives on the laws, crimes, and criminal justice responses to transnational crime.
Research Handbook on Transnational Crime"The increasing prevalence of transnational crime in a mobile and interconnected world presents serious challenges, both in terms of analysing these issues and attempting to tackle and prevent them. This Research Handbook on Transnational Crime is an interdisciplinary, up-to-date guide to this growing field, written by an international cohort of leading scholars and experts.
The Nexus Between Organised Crime and Terrorism by In the post-9/11 era, the nexus between organized crime and terrorism has raised much concern and has been widely discussed in both academic and policy circles, but is still largely misunderstood. This critical book contributes innovatively to the debate by distinguishing three types of nexus--interaction, transformation/imitation and similarities--and identifying the promoting factors of each type.
**For information on International Criminal Law, please see the LibGuide for that topic**
Prosecuting and Defending Drug Cases : a Practitioner's HandbookDrug-related offences are one of the single largest areas of activity within criminal law. Prosecuting and Defending Drug Cases is a practical guide to the different types of drug offences, including possession, trafficking, importing, exporting, and production offences, as well as conspiracy and criminal organization offences in the context of drug distribution offences. These cases are addressed from both a prosecution and defence perspective, and provincial differences in practice or procedure are noted in each chapter.
Wigmore on Alcohol: Courtroom Alcohol Toxicology for the Medicolegal Professional by Wigmore on Alcohol is an indispensable tool for medical and legal practitioners looking for up-to-date scientific evidence related to blood alcohol. The author, James G. Wigmore, is a forensic alcohol toxicologist who has testified in over 600 criminal trials at all levels of court, including the Supreme Court of Canada.
Wigmore on Cannabis by Wigmore on Cannabis is an indispensable and definitive source book for medical and legal practitioners seeking relevant information about cannabis, a drug that has been recently legalized in many jurisdictions.
Building bridges between the community mental health and justice sectors : a work in progress : a supplementary report from the Systems Enhancement Evaluation InitiativePublication Date: 2009Issued as part of the desLibris documents collection.
Law and Mental Health, Second Edition by Favored by instructors and students for its real-world focus and engaging style, this authoritative text on the interface of psychology and law has now been revised and expanded. Each chapter provides an overview of case law on an important topic and explores selected cases in depth. Coverage includes psychological and mental health issues in criminal and civil proceedings; the role of practitioners as expert witnesses and forensic consultants; and legal concerns in general clinical practice.
Therapeutic Justice by This book examines Mental Health Courts (MHC) within a socio-legal framework. Placing these courts within broader trends in criminal justice, especially problem-solving courts, the author draws from two case studies with a mixed-methods design. While court observational and interview data highlight the role of rituals and procedural justice in the practices of the court, quantitative data demonstrates the impact of incentives, mental health treatment compliance and graduating patterns from MHC in altering patterns of criminal recidivism.
Mental Disorder and Criminal Law by Expands traditional inquiry regarding the significance of psychopathology in the criminal process to include blameworthiness for sentencing, criminal competence at various stages in the process, and dangerousness. Pairs legal analysis with empirical research to promote the integration of these two aspects of relevant inquiry addresses a wide range of participants in the legal, clinical, and academic disciplines
