Research Guides: HIST 2110-Modern Europe I, 1789-1914: Journals and Articles

European History Databases

JSTOR
Full-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. Includes over 120 history journals
Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. In addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).

Related Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans)

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026.
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
CAIRN
Access to an index of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. (does not include full-text access)
iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. It is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library.
Project Muse
Access to approx. 400 full-text academic journals in the humanities, fine arts, social sciences, mathematics and medicine.

Other Databases

AtoZ Maps Online

Database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
Eighteenth Century Journals I & II

A portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815 brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.

Project Muse
Can be accessed on mobile devices with a web browser, such as the iPhone, iPad, or Android.

Selected Journals

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)

The Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)

Free Online access to 6 19th Century periodicals and newspapers

Searching for the History of Medicine?

Are you looking for articles on the history of medicine?

How about PubMed?

PubMed. a life sciences database, includes a subset for the History of Medicine.

Try it here!

Can't find the book/article you need in our collection?

Use Omni to place all requests for interlibrary loan materials. Search for your item in Omni (make sure you are signed in to place the request), and click on the "Get it from another library" link.

HIST 2110-Modern Europe I, 1789-1914