- Library
- Research Guides
- Geography 2251
- Maps and Cartographic Resources
Geography 2251
Atlas of Canada
The Atlas of Canada is available online.
Library of Congress Map Collection
The Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5.5 million maps, 80,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including over 19,000 cds/dvds. The online map collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form.
British Museum Maps Collection
The British Library has a Georeferencing Project which features over 3,000 more maps from the British Library collections.
CartoMundi
CartoMundi offers about 35 000 references of cartographic documents. They cover 185 countries and are hold in about 20 different map libraries.
The web site offers also more than 2500 digital reproductions. They represent Europe and Mediterranean countries.
History of Cartography
Check out the History of Cartography Project
You can also read the print copy from the Reference Collection on the Main Floor of the Library. (Call Number GA 201 H53 1987)
Print maps
The Library has a very small collection of print maps located in the Northern Studies Resource Centre. Most of these are related to northwestern Ontario.
Most of the University's print maps are located in the Geospatial Data Centre
Historical Atlas of Canada
The Historical Atlas of Canada is available in print in the Library.
It is located on the 2nd Floor of the Library in the Atlases section.
Call Number: G 1116 S1H39 2002
Databases
- AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new windowDatabase of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis database includes online maps and an interactive map
- Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007Includes a tab for maps.
Online Sources for Mapping
- History of Cartography GatewayThe 'Map History' site forms part of the WWW-Virtual Library. It offers a non-commercial mixture of comment and tips and many thousands of links to free sites.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map CollectionThe PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps,
- United Nations Cartographic SectionMore than 100 General Maps are available currently. Maps are in PDF format for best display and print results.
- Ordnance SurveyGreat Britain's national mapping agency
- OpenStreetMapOpenStreetMap is a free map of the world
- Atlas of CanadaHundreds of online maps about Canada's environment, society, economy and history.
- US Geological SurveyThe USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
- centremapslive.comOn-line mapping solutions ($)
- getmappingGlobal and UK aerial photography ($)
- British Geological SurveyBritish Geological Survey (BGS) is the world's oldest national geological survey and the United Kingdom's premier centre for earth science information and expertise.
- Climatic Research Unit - University of East AngliaThe Climatic Research Unit is widely recognised as one of the world's leading institutions concerned with the study of natural and anthropogenic climate change.
- UK Data ArchiveThe UK Data Archive is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom.
- CaswebCasweb provides access to UK census aggregate data
- NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS)The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN). The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes, as well as non-Roman script spellings of many of these names
- National Centers for Environmental InformationThe National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) and its sister data centers merged into the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
- The Atlas of Mutual HeritageA database with information, maps, drawings, prints and paintings of locations related to the Dutch East India Company (Verenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie, VOC) and the West-Indische Compagnie (WIC).