Environmental Engineering

A comprehensive guide for both fundamentals and real-world applications of environmental engineering Written by noted experts, Handbook of Environmental Engineering offers a comprehensive guide to environmental engineers who desire to contribute to mitigating problems, such as flooding, caused by extreme weather events, protecting populations in coastal areas threatened by rising sea levels, reducing illnesses caused by polluted air, soil, and water from improperly regulated industrial and transportation activities, promoting the safety of the food supply.   Contributors not only cover such timely environmental topics related to soils, water, and air, minimizing pollution created by industrial plants and processes, and managing wastewater, hazardous, solid, and other industrial wastes, but also treat such vital topics as porous pavement design, aerosol measurements, noise pollution control, and industrial waste auditing. This important handbook: Enables environmental engineers to treat problems in systematic ways Discusses climate issues in ways useful for environmental engineers Covers up-to-date measurement techniques important in environmental engineering Reviews current developments in environmental law for environmental engineers Includes information on water quality and wastewater engineering Informs environmental engineers about methods of dealing with industrial and municipal waste, including hazardous waste Designed for use by practitioners, students, and researchers, Handbook of Environmental Engineering contains the most recent information to enable a clear understanding of major environmental issues.

Dictionary of ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE and TECHNOLOGY Dictionary of ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE and TECHNOLOGY FOURTH EDITION This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. The fourth edition represents a major update with 30% new material, additional illustrations and a greatly expanded list of relevant web resources. Reviews of previous editions: This is a veritable Whitakers' Almanac of useful information on all aspects of science and the natural environment, and its author needs little introduction. It is as useful for dipping into -- being crammed with fascinating facts -- as it is for checking definitions. Essential for layman and specialist alike. ...Porteous' book will contribute to better understanding and protection of the world's environment... This dictionary is highly recommended as a valuable reference for both students and professionals working in environmental science and technology. ...a formidable rival of many much more expensive and heavier volumes. Porteous succeeds to precisely describe the chosen terms without compromise to readability. Cross-references nicely bring together additional or related information. The reader is often captured by the well-written text and is kept reading far beyond the sought-after term. Environmental Geology Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology, Fourth Edition will be an indispensable reference for all students and professionals concerned with world's environment.

Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * A pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format

The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.

This initial volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy.