Key Article Databases
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowAccess to over five million summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings in all areas of engineering. Coverage: 1969-
Other Databases
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. Coverage: varies
- ASTM (Compass) StandardsContains full-text active standards.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 127 high impact bioscience journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Coverage: 2000- Includes full text to open access content.
- Chemical Abstracts - Note restricted hours of access This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the world's chemical literature. Restricted hours of access: 8:00 am Sunday to 5:00 am Monday, 5:00 pm to 5:00 am Monday to Friday. 5:00 pm Friday to 6:00 pm Saturday. Coverage: 1907 -
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. Lakehead has access to Collections 1 and 2.
- TRAIL (Technical Report Archive & Image Library)TRAIL identifies, acquires, catalogs, and digitizes technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976.
Chemical Abstracts - off campus
If you use Chemical Abstracts off-campus, you might run into a "this connection is untrusted".
You can bypass this warning by doing the following:
In Chrome:
Click on "Proceed anyway"
In Firefox:
1.Click on "I understand the risks"
2.Click on "Add Exception"
3.Click on "Confirm Security Exception"
In IE:
Click on "Continue to this website (not recommended)"