Finding Academic Journal Articles
To find articles in Media Studies, you would benefit from searching both the OMNI search system, and a few of our journal article databases.
On our Videos and Tutorials page, both the OMNI overview video, and the How to Find Journal Articles via OMNI video, demonstrate using OMNI for academic journal articles.
On our OMNI Advanced Search page, you could use the "Material Type" filter on the right to ask OMNI to only show you articles (no books or other resources). If you choose either Lakehead Library or Articles and more at the top, OMNI will search for articles that you can access via Lakehead. After your results come up (at the bottom), you can use the "Personalize" button to ask that results from certain subject areas come up to the TOP of your long list of results. For Media Studies, you could broadly choose the Social Sciences, or more specifically choose Journalism and Communications.
You can also choose to search some of our multidisciplinary journal article databases. These are "article" databases that usually allow you to run a more precise search, and get more accurate results, than is possible in OMNI.
For Media Studies, the following databases on the above page would be useful:
- Scholars Portal Journals
- Project Muse
- JSTOR
- ProQuest Search (which will search CBCA mentioned below, along with other Proquest databases)
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs / CBCA (has Canadian content)
- Web of Science
While you will find some overlap when you search different databases (i.e. the same articles appearing in different databases), you will also stumble across articles that ONLY Project Muse, or JSTOR (for example) might have - so it is always worthwhile to check as many databases as possible.
Individual Journals
Some e-journals you may find useful for this course (browsing the table of contents may give you a feel for the types of articles written in this field) :
Asian journal of communication
Canadian journal of communication
Middle East journal of culture and communication