- Articles/Online Databases
- Newspaper Articles
- Lakehead University - History of University Buildings and Land
- Lakehead University - History of Indigenous Education
- Thunder Bay Rivers and Man-Made Lakes
- Economic and Social Reports & Local History
- Genealogy
- Statistical Sources
- Natural Resources
- Images
- Cite your Sources
- Agriculture & farming in the Lakehead
Newspaper articles
-
Gateway to Northwestern Ontario History [includes Thunder Bay District News Index] This link opens in a new window
This is a subject index which brings together newspaper and magazine articles on Thunder Bay and northwestern Ontario. This index includes more than 50,000 headlines over the past 16+ years.
-
Canadian Newsstream Collection (formerly Canadian Major Dailies) This link opens in a new window
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Newspapers - summary of library holdings
This finding aid highlights newspaper holdings throughout the library.
-
Newspaper ResourcesThis handout lists local, regional, national, international, and Finnish newspapers held in the Library collection
Regional Newspapers
Want to find local newspapers? The library currently subscribes to: Algoma News (Wawa); Atikokan Progress; Fort Frances Times; Ignace Driftwood; Nipigon/Red Rock Gazette; and Rainy River Record. Other newspapers can be identified by searching with the following subject heading: ONTARIO, NORTHERN - NEWSPAPERS.