Liaison Librarian
LI 5014B
Calendar of Workshops
Key Article Databases
-
Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics. Coverage: 1999-
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Collection of resource materials on selected cultures from all major areas of the world.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-
Database Tips
eHRAF Subsistence Types - In the new version of eHRAF World Cultures, you can narrow your search by subsistence type.
What is a subsistence type?
A subsistence type is a way people obtain resources to live. Examples of subsistence types include: foragers, horticulturalists, intensive agriculturalists etc.
Go to eHRAF for a list of Cultures and their subsistence types in eHRAF World Cultures
Citing a document in eHRAF
When citing a document from eHRAF, use the citation style you normally would use (e.g., MLA, AAA style) for the author, title, original publisher and original date of publication and then add the following: As seen in eHRAF World Cultures on [add date of access]. You should also include the URL for the database.
Hint: The publication information can be found at the top of the paragraph result, in the publication information section of the whole document, or in the printed or emailed results.
Other Databases
-
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of the American Anthropological Association. It includes 32 full-text journals
-
ASTIS This link opens in a new window(Arctic Science and Technology Information System) - Recent literature about the north (Yukon and Northwest Territories, the northern parts of the provinces and some material from other circumpolar regions). Coverage: 1974-
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026.
To preview the new interface, click here.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. Includes over 500 open access e-books.