Research Guides: Business: Find Journal Articles

Key Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Global contains the full text of thousands of business journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals. Coverage: 1923- Selected full-text coverage going back to the 19th century.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
With hundreds of additional full-text titles, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry™ is the perfect companion to the business and management content in ABI/INFORM Global. It's the source professionals rely on for major trade and industry news.

Business Source Elite

A business database providing full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Business
Canadian business periodicals – many full-text Coverage: 1971 –
Full text content 1985 –
Web of Science

Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-

Other Databases

The following are other useful databases for business topics:

Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs - the larger parent database of CBCA: Business mentioned above. CBCA contains all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference).
Canadian Newsstream Collection - This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Conference Board of Canada - e-Data: Economic intelligence on Canada, the Provinces, Metropolitan areas and the United States.
Conference Board of Canada - e-Library: Contains over 5,000 research documents on economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.
JSTOR - Multidisciplinary database which contains over 200 business journals, with additional journals in areas such as Management and Marketing.
Nexis Uni Plus (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) - Along with being a news and legal research database, Nexis Uni has business information on more than 80 million US and international companies, and more than 75 million executives.