Library Blog

Library and Teaching Commons News | January 2019

Teaching Commons

Amy Farrell-Morneau, the Indigenous Curriculum Specialist until December 31, 2018, has accepted a position at the Faculty of Education, University of Manitoba. We are in the process of recruiting a new Indigenous Curriculum Specialist. For questions regarding Indigenous content please contact Karen Keiller or Rhonda Dubec.

Teaching Circles

The Teaching Commons staff has planned three Teaching Circles before the February break.

A Teaching Circle isn't a workshop. Circles are opportunities for a small group to share ideas, ask questions, offer up suggestions, and just talk about teaching. There is no formal presentation.
We invite all instructors, teaching faculty, and staff (including graduate students) to attend the following sessions:

• The Courage to Teach led by Dr. Kevin Brooks, Experiential Learning Coordinator. Wednesday, January 16, 11:45 am - 12:45 pm in the Teaching Commons (LI 5014)
• Teaching With and Around Technology led by Leslie Malcolm, Coordinator, Learning Technologies and Innovation. Tuesday, January 29, 2:45-3:45 in the Teaching Commons (LI 5014)
• Engaging Students in Course Content led by Dr. Rhonda Dubec, Coordinator of Instructional Development. Thursday, February 14, 8:45-9:45, in the Teaching Commons (LI 5014)

Come enjoy the view from the 5th floor of the library, meet the Teaching Commons staff, and strengthen the teaching community at Lakehead.

Library

Librarians participated in a one-day Information Literacy Institute facilitated by Rhonda Dubec of the Teaching Commons on December 11, 2018.

New welcome signs are now available at the entrance of the Northern Studies Resource Centre. The signs were prepared in consultation with elders and Aboriginal Cultural Support Services.

On December 11, 2018, the Library hosted a Kairos Blanket Exercise facilitated by Jerri-Lynn Orr and Anna Chief. The exercise was attended by Library, Teaching Commons and Office of Human Rights staff.

Library Special Collections

The Library contains a collection known as the University Collection, which details the history of the institution.

The collection contains such resources as university yearbooks, student newspapers, alumni magazines, Senate Minutes, Board of Governor minutes, university statistics, varsity sport programs, academic plans, viewbooks, university & technical institute calendars (1949-2008), Agora newsletter, convocation bulletins, and more.

This research collection has been moved from the 5th floor to the 2nd floor and remains non-circulating.

In addition, the Library has a print collection of Lakehead University Faculty Offprints. These are print copies of published journal articles of LU faculty over the years. It too has been relocated from the 5th floor to the 2nd floor and remains non-circulating.

Also the library routinely collects monographs authored by LU faculty, which acknowledges the scholarly output by faculty at this university. All LU faculty-authored books post 2000 are available in the Teaching Commons on the 5th floor and books pre 2000 are available in the library stacks.

For assistance with these special collections please contact Trudy Russo, Special Collections librarian. Email trusso@lakeheadu.ca or call 343-8728

Makerspace

Makerspace@Paterson online guide is available from the Library website. On the first page of the guide, there is a calendar listing a series of 3D Printing Orientation sessions. Anyone wanting to use the 3D printers must first attend a 3D Printing Orientation. To register, users can select one of the dates below the calendar and they will be taken to a registration form. Everyone must pre-register.

The Orientation sessions also appear in the Library Events Calendar. 

Email makerspace.lib@lakeheadu.ca for information or to book a time to visit. 

Draft Library WebSite

The draft new library website is now available for comments. Please take a look and send any questions/comments to jmutz@lakeheadu.ca. Or if you prefer, you can fill out this google form: https://goo.gl/forms/YNuDIJkJlII1IuMT2

We will be posting a link to the new site on our current homepage in January, asking for user feedback, and also doing some usability testing.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PDTG)

The trial for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ended on November 30, 2018. PDTG is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Please send comments about PDTG to Karen Keiller.

Archives

A small flood caused by failing HVAC coils occurred in the Chancellor Paterson Library on December 11, 2018. Staff from Physical Plant responded quickly and no archival or library material was damaged. This incident does highlight the vulnerability of the Archives, located just below the HVAC system on the roof of the Library.