The Education Library Book Collection includes over 30,000 items in all aspects of education. This collection is arranged by the Dewey Decimal Classification system. Call numbers for specific items can be found by searching the library's Online Catalogue. It is possible to search for items using subject, title and author information.
Students have access to the Ontario Ministry of Education curriculum documents, both in print (where possible) and online. This includes curriculum guides, resource documents, exemplars and other supplementary resources. When available, links to the online versions are provided through the Library’s Online Catalogue and on the Curriculum Documents page on the Education Library website.
Education students on both campuses have access to a strong journal collection in education and related subjects. In addition to education-related journals, the Library provides access to over 35,000 electronic journals. To find a journal by title search the Online Catalogue or check the Library's E-journals page.
Education related periodical indexes/abstracts are listed on the Education Articles and Databases page. These will assist you in locating periodical articles on your topic. These include: CBCA Education, ERIC and Education Source. These indexes/databases can be searched in the Library and may also be searched from computers off campus through the Library Proxy Service.
The Education Library offers print and online children/young adult collections. In the Education Library there are three collections with juvenile literature (Grades Kindergarten to 12) including Children Picture Books; fiction (young adult/teen) titles and a non-fiction collection. The Non-Fiction Collection includes books on all topics and are arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification. These three collections are intended to provide a selection of titles that can be used with children and young adults and support the various subjects taught in the curriculum. Included are award winning and award nominated picture books; classic and popular titles with books on topics such as Canada; celebrations and holidays; family diversity; multiculturalism; social justice; aboriginal stories; bullying; self-esteem; friendship and character development. Titles within these collections can be located by using the Library Catalogue or the Subject Guides located on the Education Library website. Children’s ebook databases are also available and include BookFlix; TumbleBook Library and TumbleBookCloud. These can also be accessed from off-campus.
This collection consists of textbooks currently approved for use in Ontario classrooms and listed on the Ontario Ministry of Education Trillium List. Also included are some teacher guides and approved student materials. The Education Library’s collection includes textbooks from Kindergarten to Grade 12.
This collection includes teaching materials such as DVDs, kits, games, mathematics and language arts manipulatives, software, posters, puppets, thematic units, reading packs, audio books and models. A strong component of this collection is an extensive and up to date selection of software approved by the Ontario Software Acquisition Program Advisory Committee (OSAPAC) which includes approved software such as: Dragon NaturallySpeaking Professional; Geometer’s Sketchpad; KidPix; MathTrek; and Froguts. The Education Library offers over 1,000 items in this collection.
The Library provides access to specialized education related reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbook and writing style guides. These resources are available in print and online (check each title in the Library's Online catalogue for availability). Several of these references titles are linked on the Education Library website on the Dictionaries & Encyclopedias page.