Skip to main content

COVID-19: Updates on Library Services and Operations

Contactless pickup for faculty, graduate and law students 

The library is excited to announce that beginning Thursday July 2, faculty, graduate students and law students will be able to request physical library items for contactless pickup. For more information on requesting materials, please visit our Curbside Pickup and Digitization Page

Phased Reopening of Physical Library Services

The library is currently in the process of developing a plan for the phased reopening of physical library services. We understand the important role that the library plays in supporting teaching, learning and research at Lakehead, and are committed to providing these services in a safe and timely manner. The timeline and availability of these services will be dependent upon ensuring the safety of library staff and users.

Phase 1 of the reopening plan is designed to provide faculty and graduate students with access to the physical collection through digitization and pick-up services. The anticipated start date for these services is early July. Announcements regarding our move to Phase 1 will be shared on this page, as well as through campus communication channels.

The library's electronic collections are still fully accessible remotely. If you are experiencing issues accessing electronic materials, please contact us.

Contact Us

Library staff are working remotely from 8:30am-4:30pm. Monday-Friday. Email is the best way to contact library staff. General library questions can be sent to researchhelp@lakeheadu.ca. For information specific to your department, or to schedule a research consultation, please contact your liaison librarian.

Library Hours

All Lakehead Library locations are closed until further notice.

Electronic Collections

The library has a vast collection of electronic resources †hat are available during the building closure.

Off-campus access

  • When accessing library resources from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Lakehead credentials. To receive this prompt, you must begin your searches on the library website,

Accessing electronic collections

  • Omni: Omni is the library's main academic search tool. Omni searches a variety of journals, databases, and the library's book collection
  • A-Z Database: A list of databases available through the library, which can be sorted alphabetically, by subject, or by format (type) of information.
  • e-Journals: A listing of periodicals available through the library, which can be sorted by subject or searched by title. 
  • Subject Guides: A curated list of resources by subject area.
  • Topic Guides: Guides with information on a variety of subjects, such as citation and guides for searching Open Educational Resources (OER)
  • Streaming Media: Access to a variety of streaming media collections, including recent releases.

Expanded access to e-resources

  • In response to changes in higher education during COVID-19, a number of publishers have increased access to their resources. Check out the library's COVID-19 Library Resource Guide to explore the library's expanded access.

Physical Collections

Returns

The due dates for library materials borrowed from all Lakehead Libraries have been extended until the libraries reopen. 

[Thunder Bay Campus]  Individuals who are remaining in Thunder Bay are encouraged to hold onto their materials until the libraries resume in-person operations. If you are leaving Thunder Bay and need to return your library materials, materials can be returned to the mailroom during operating hours. Current hours of operation for the mailroom are Tuesday - Thursday 10:00am-12:00pm. The mailroom is located in the basement of the Ryan Building (RB 0001). For access to the mailroom, please call 807-343-8586.

[Orillia] Individuals are encouraged to keep their materials until the libraries resume in-person operations. If you need to return your library materials, please deposit in the book drop on the first floor of Simcoe Hall.

Holds

All material currently on hold has been extended for pickup until after the libraries reopen. No new holds are able to be placed on physical items.

Scanning/Digitization

Since library staff are working remotely, we are unable to fulfill digitization requests.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan for physical materials is suspended until further notice. The library will try to fulfill requests for electronic materials, such as articles and book chapters, depending on availability.

Archives and Special Collections

There is no access to the Archives and Special Collections during the building closure. The Archive's digital collection is available online. Questions about the Archive can be directed to the University Archivist, Sara Janes (sjanes1@lakeheadu.ca). 

Course Reserves 

The library will continue to help instructors make their course readings available to students. At this time, the library is unable to process requests for physical reserves, but may be able to upload electronic versions of texts (either through the library's subscriptions or with copyright clearance). More information about course reserves in available here. Requests for course reserves can be submitted through this form.

Faculty Teaching Support 

Liaison librarians are available to assist you with many aspects of your transition to online teaching:

  • Locate online resources for your course readings
  • Provide a virtual library instruction/workshop for your students on searching library databases, Omni or any other course-related topic. 
  • Prepare an online course guide with links to resources related to a specific topic in your course
  • Assist with copyright questions
  • Provide guidance on creating durable links

Contact the liaison librarian for your subject area.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

You can locate open textbooks and materials for your courses by consulting the Lakehead University Library's Faculty Guide to Open Education or the OER by Discipline Guide: McMaster University. Your liaison librarian is also available to assist you with locating other open resources for teaching.

Research Help

The library is still providing research help remotely. Options for obtaining research help include:

 
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2020 10:16 AM