Compustat is Standard & Poor's database of company financial information.
At Lakehead, we access this database through the Research Insight platform. Research Insight is available on PCs in the following labs:
LI 1003 (Main floor of the Paterson Library)
ATAC 4019
RB 1030 (FOBA students only - ask Administrative Assistant for key)
** Note: this database is not available online and is not available from off-campus
Compustat includes a database for North America and a database called Global Vantage for the rest of the world. The North American data includes 20 years of financial statement data and closing monthly stock prices for Canadian and U.S. publicly traded companies. The financial information includes quarterly and annual income statements, balance sheets and cash flows. Global Vantage provides similar information for companies from over 80 countries for the last 10 years.
The Research Insight platform is a Windows-based front end to the data and allows you to search, generate reports and create custom variables. It provides screening to let you create a list of companies by defined criteria and pulling up reports covering multiple companies or the same data element for a single company over time. Research Insight also provides a direct link via Excel.
Keywords: balance sheets; business segments; capital expenditures; company screening; financial reports; healthcare facilities; historical financial information; historical financials; income statements; market capitalization; returns; S&P; sales data; stock prices
