Provides a complete, succinct, and practical discussion of how to effectively litigate a civil or criminal matter through the trial process to appeal. With an emphasis on organization, the reader is provided with practical information on the preparation and litigation of a case, from the initial client interview, through the pre-trial process, to preparing and organizing for trial, conduct of the trial itself, and the appeal process.
This title covers civil procedure in Ontario from preliminary considerations to appeals of motions, applications and actions. It provides readers with knowledge of the litigation process in the Superior Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal for Ontario.
This handbook applies recent pronouncements of the courts to the involvement of experts in civil litigation. It presents practical tips and techniques for lawyers with respect to the participation of experts from initial retainer, instruction, and report, to preparing experts to testify, leading experts’ evidence at trial, and cross-examination. In each chapter, the handbook uses court cases as examples of the points under discussion. Readers can see how case analysis applies to the role of experts in these cases.
A concise narrative of the key elements of the resolution of civil disputes in Canada. It covers all aspects of civil procedure and provides a useful pan-Canadian comparison of legislation and court rules from various jurisdictions.
Introduces the practice of advocacy, drawing on a wide range of examples from the United Kingdom and other common law jurisdictions. Through the use of exercises, the reader is encouraged to think about effective advocacy. Detailed materials offer civil and criminal advocacy simulations
This work is one of seven texts in the Essential Legal Skills series, which is designed for undergraduate students on skills programmes and for all students of the Legal Practice Courses and Bar Vocational Course.
A guide to the skills of advocacy for those new to the courtroom. It concentrates on the basics necessary to conduct an effective trial. The book takes you through the trial process step by step. At each stage the author provides helpful tips and practical examples designed to show the principles of good advocacy at work. Geared toward conducting a trial before a judge alone, this book reflects the reality that most new practitioners will commence their courtroom careers in the lower courts.
Organized to reflect the manner in which a civil action unfolds, the book begins by addressing preliminary matters such as the initial client interview and preservation of evidence then moves on to discuss pleadings, motions, discovery, and pre-trial and settlement negotiations. The last portion of the text discusses how to present a case and make submissions.
Holds a wide selection of journals, books, case law and legislation.
*Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
*Scottish Legal History: Featuring Publications of the Stair Society
*Air and Space Law
*John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
*Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASÉ)
This work is licenced under the CanLII user licence which includes the right of the User to make copies of the work for legal research purposes, in the practice of law or in the exercise of their legal rights.