SOCI 3818-Women in the North

International literature in Sociology Index Coverage: 1952- and full text coverage varies.

Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.

Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-

 

Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. Coverage: 1955-

Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:

To preview the new interface, click here.

(Arctic Science and Technology Information System) - Recent literature about the north (Yukon and Northwest Territories, the northern parts of the provinces and some material from other circumpolar regions). Coverage: 1974-

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.

Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026.

To preview the new interface, click here.

Canada Commons, (formerly Canadian Electronic Library) includes e-books and Canadian public policy papers from Government, NGOs, and Think Tanks. Topics inlclude: Indigenous Peoples, climate change, human rights, health, economics etc.

Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles Coverage: 1971 -
Full text content 1985 –

Canadiana Online identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials.

Monographs - spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. With a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of Canada. 

Serials - includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines

Government Publications - includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.

Canadiana Online is projected to digitalize the entire CIHM collection by the end of 2018.

This digital collection of primary documents on the frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia brings together documents from 16 archives around the world.

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. It is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library.