History of Education In Canada

Education-related records include: C.R. Judd Fonds (completely digitized and available online), Col. David Younger Public School Fonds, Denis Landry Fonds (some of it digitized), John H. Gillespie Fonds (all of it digitized and available online), Heit Family Fonds (digitized and online), Kantokoski (Koski), Koivula & Korpela Family Fonds (digitized and online), Memories and Music Fonds (audio records transcribed and digitized, all available online), Karl Niemi Fonds (digitized and online), The Town of Copper Cliff Fonds (digitized and online) and the Town of Sudbury Fonds (digitized and online).

Based in North York, ON. Includes personal papers of teachers and education researchers, York University Faculty of Education, records of Federation of Women Teachers of Ontario, among others.

Based in Toronto, ON. This French-language Catholic school board keeps records from as early as the 1940s.

Based in Napanee, ON. Includes Board of Education and Women's Institute records.

Located in The Blue Mountains, ON. Collections include school records and classroom materials.

Based in St. Thomas, ON. Includes extensive schools records, particularly records of the Thames Valley District School Board, and of Alma College.

Located in Brantford, ON. Friends of the Educational Archives serving Brant, Haldimand and Norfolk counties are dedicated to recognizing, documenting, preserving, sharing and promoting the history of the schools of the Grand Erie District School Board and the Brant, Haldimand, Norfolk Catholic District School Board and its predecessors.

Based in Hamilton, ON. A resource and museum for school memorabilia, artifacts, photographs, documents and other items for Hamilton and Wentworth County schools dating back to the mid 1800s.

Located in Toronto, ON. Records of this long-running independent school are available for research.

Located in Port Hope, ON. Records of this long-running independent school, with yearbooks and many photographs available online.

Locations in Thunder Bay, ON and Orillia, ON. Several collections related to education policy and practice.

Located in Sudbury, ON. Keeps records of Roman Catholic School Board (Sudbury Region), Conseil scolaire de district catholique du Nouvel Ontario, teachers union, individual educators, and more. Many records are in French; some are in English.

In Markham, ON. Includes school items and documents, primarily donated by former students.

Located in Toronto, ON. Includes records of the Board of Jewish Education, individual Jewish day schools, supplementary schools (Synagogue Sunday Schools and part-time studies) as well as records related to advocacy efforts on behalf of the community to remove Christian teachings from the public schools system. Limited material is available online.

Located in Brampton, ON. Holds records of the Peel District School Board, Peel-Dufferin Catholic District School Board, and others.

In Port Hope, ON. Holds records of several local schools.

Based in Toronto, ON. Holds records of the Toronto Normal School, among other collections.

Located in The Pas, Manitoba. Collections include the diaries of Sam Waller 1923-1930 written when he was teacher & lay missionary at St. Thomas Anglican Residential School & the day school at Moose Factory, Ontario

Located in Scarborough, ON. Collections include records from the former Scarborough Board of Education.

Located in Midhurst, ON. Collections include records from the Simcoe County School Board, as well as other school administrative records, and education-related publications.

Located in Stratford, ON. Holds records of the Avon Maitland School Board, and Stratford Normal School for Teacher Training.

Located in Toronto, ON. Collection run by the School Board.

Located in Guelph, ON. Includes records of the Rockwood Academy, Merton Home and School Club, Wellington County Separate School Board, and more.

Located in Ottawa, ON. Includes records of Faculty of Education and others related to teacher training.

Located in Windsor, ON. Includes records of Malden Township Schools, and other Essex County school records.

Located in Aurora, ON. Collection includes school histories, text books, teacher manuals and contracts, school equipment, and more.