Classroom Teaching Topics

Lesson planning and preparation is one of the most important aspects of teaching. It is also one of the hardest aspects to learn. Student teachers, for example, often find it difficult to gauge how to pitch or pace a lesson. This book provides solutions. It not only provides easily understood practical ideas but also sets them in a coherent overall framework based on the ideas that planning and preparation are part of a total cyclical process involving pedagogy, curriculum, learning and assessment. Planning and preparation are personal matters related to an individual teacher but this does not mean that teachers cannot learn from each other or that thinking about planning and preparation is arbitrary. Coverage includes often neglected areas such as the affective curriculum, language across the curriculum, and homework.

Learning with technology doesn’t happen because a specific tool “revolutionizes” education. It happens when proven teaching strategies intersect with technology tools, and yet it’s not uncommon for teachers to use a tool because it’s “fun” or because the developer promises it will help students learn. Learning First, Technology Second offers teachers the professional learning they need to move from arbitrary uses of technology in their classrooms to thoughtful ways of adding value to student learning. This book includes: An introduction to the Triple E Framework that helps teachers engage students in time-on-task learning, enhance learning experiences beyond traditional means and extend learning opportunities to bridge classroom learning with students’ everyday lives. Effective strategies for using technology to create authentic learning experiences for their students. Case studies to guide appropriate tech integration. A lesson planning template to show teachers how to effectively frame technology choices and apply them in instruction.

Guide to teaching and creating lesson plans Covers four types of instructional design Useful for teachers with all levels of experience  Have you ever wondered how to maximize your lesson plans? Do you want to get the most out of every minute that you teach? Powerful Lesson Planning: Every Teacher's Guide to Effective Instruction will help you accomplish those goals. This book includes summaries of basic instructional design, integrated instructional design, differentiated instructional design, and problem-based learning instructional design. It shares different teaching strategies and is especially helpful for beginner teachers.  This guide emphasizes the decisions that teachers make as they plan lessons and classes. It includes descriptive information, tools, and several examples to help every teacher make their lesson plans well.

The easy-to-follow guide leads you through the steps for developing lesson plans that link instruction with student learning. This step-by-step guide exposes seven diverse types of links from pre-planning through summative assessment. They are: Reflections on how-to develop, change, or improve your practice Pre-planning links that connect prior student achievement, standards, and objectives Lesson plan links that connect three types of assessments and learning activities Grade book links that connect assessment and activities to objectives and standards Professional learning extensions that expand your professional knowledge An On-Going support plan that provides a “Plan B” option A self-assessment that links instruction with student outcomes

Effective Strategies for Teaching in K-8 Classrooms is a core textbook for general methods courses preparing teachers for Key Stages 1-4. Organized around a comprehensive model of teaching that includes foundations, planning, implementation, and evaluation components, the strategies addressed in this volume are common to instruction in Key Stage 1-4 classrooms. Taken together, the strategies are an essential repertoire for all primary and secondary school teachers.